We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but cheap and centrally located.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Save
You added Gardena Hotel to your Saves list
Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Bilbao, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Basic hotel but cheap and centrally located.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ok, this is not a 4 stars Hotel: Basic bungalows, not hot water, not aircon, you need to ask the staff whenever you want to have your room cleaned. The staff is pretty laid back, slow and not very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go in Labuanbajo.
But you have to bear in mind that this is Labuanbajo, a remote area of Indonesia where, until recently, there were not alternatives to Gardena.
The bungalows have mosquito nets, which is essential in this part of Indonesia. And above all, they are conveniently located, just opposite to the dive centers and five minutes walking from the pier. This is very important for divers as the rest of the hotels are farther away and you have to walk long distances (or renting a motorbike) to get to the pier every morning for diving.
It is one of the cheapest places in Labuanbajo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    60
    22
    15
See reviews for
7
48
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

There's only one type of room. No air cond in all rooms they have. But it's worth to pay $15/night, attach bathroom. And we got free banana pancake for breakfast.
There are so many trees and flowers in front of the resort. Looks green and nice.
Overall is so-so, buuuuuut the food and service in the restaurant are not really good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights before/after a diving safari, in one of the cheap bungalows. The bathroom was very basic but acceptable. No mosquito issues. The fan worked. Breakfast was below average but not horrible. The most annoying thing was the hassle in front of the restaurant area with men trying to sell the usual things every single time you walked in/out.. Oh well, there are worse things.
All in all a decent stay if you're not picky and want to save money.

BTW, I never tried dinner there as I found the local food carts that set up in the evening down by the harbor. Yumm!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived in Labuan-Bajo after a 2 day boat trip from Flores. We’d been recommended the Gardena Hotel by a couple of travellers going in the opposite direction to us. They said they stayed in a bungalow on the top of the hill and enjoyed superb views across the harbour. We asked for a similar room but we were told at first that there were no rooms. Then, as we walked away the female staff member called us back and said there was a room but it was at the top. This was fine we thought. Well, it really is a long way up to the top, especially when carrying our large backpacks but it was definitely worth the walk. The room itself was lovely and the view was amazing, especially the next night when we sat out and watched the sun going down over the ocean.
During our 2 night stay we found the staff members to be hit and miss to deal with. Some were friendly, whilst others were surly, whilst others just didn’t seem to want to be there. The free breakfast was good and the meals in the restaurant were recently priced and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Good view of the harbour and sun set from our room. It was up lots of steps so tired me out to get to the top. The room was extremely hot and had to shower in my night clothes to stay cool. The fan didn't really work. And like most cheap places the shower was crap and it was a toilet without a flush. We paid 175,000 and on the 2nd night downgraded to 130,000 as there was no difference between rooms. The staff are quite slow with orders. I remember I ordered breakfast to have finished it before my drink actually came. If you asked for towels/ loo roll, info on tours they seemed to look at you with blank faces haha.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a seriously long journey we came to Gardenia because of the Lonely Planet which said it was a good place to stay. Well its not - its bloody awful. It may have been good 5 years ago but now it is tired and run down. The wood in the huts is crumbeling away. The bathroom is awful, no seat on the loo, the shower just drips, the ceiling is full of mould - i could go on and on. Its one bit sweat box - the fan is useless - not a ceiling fan but one on the table which doesnt even move.
The food - is ok.

Off now to find somewhere else to stay. We are charged 150,000 for a double room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The cheapest in town but far from the cleanest. Our room didn't even have a toilet set. The noise from the street was very loud with cars and trucks. Mouldy, damp rooms with very little class, hard mattress and no sheets. Bathroom did smell, breakfast was one stale bread roll and then I was pointed to a plastic tub stuffed with sweating scrambled eggs that looked like spew. It's not somewhere where u want to hang out. And not to forget the 200 or so steps to get to your room as they are steep! Staff were fairly helpful and the potion sizes from the restaurant were massive but the food is not really that good. Plenty of places to eat on the street that are much better. Only stay 1-2 nights but they should really upgrade the rooms with the price they charge for them.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is either number 25-27 which is closer to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.