We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of a bad bunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Save
You added Gardena Hotel to your Saves list
Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best of a bad bunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spacious hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are basic and 'breakfast' is awful. The dining are is also dark and drab.
good location and they will sort transport. We paid rs 150,000 per night for a fan room by the noisy reception, which was a lot for the standard of room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    59
    22
    15
See reviews for
6
48
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very basic acomodation, backpacker style bungaloos, no luxuries at all, enough for one or two nights.
Highly incompetent staff, cannot even book nothing ahead, they live day by day! I had booked in advanced, when i got there..... I had nothing, maneged to get a room after some "negotiation" €€€

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Service..... Didn't exist. No one had a clue really. Rooms first: cleanish, basic and cheap. Great.

Try to organise anything with them however was a waste of time. Stayed there 2 nights. Went to an island for 2 nights on a trip through them, so booked for us arriving back.

Arrived back at 9.30am to blank looks until we pointed at our names on a piece of paper. assured of a room we left our bags in their care at the counter. Came back at 3.30pm to more blank looks, lots of whispering, then told that they had given all the free rooms away. Left to our own devices to find alternative accomodation in busy Labuan bajo, mid afternoon, not very pleased. Precisely what we had intended avoiding by booking ahead. (twice)

We are budget travellers and always find the accomodation reflects the price however, this is my first very negative review based on the lack of care and general indifference shown by the managing staff regarding their customers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have stayed here a few times, mainly to visit Rinca and the dragons. The chalet rooms can be chilly at night but the views over the harbour and the sunsets are what it's all about. Reached by steep steps ( the hotel and restaurant are built on a hill side) it's worth the struggle, particularly if you have big and heavy baggage. The restaurant serves an excellent menu at very good prices, enormous servings and is well frequented by locals and tourists. The occasional vendor attempting to sell their wares will pop up over the restaurant walls or way lay you on the pathways but they are always good humored and not offended if you wave them away. Walk to the harbour in 10 minutes or less and do you own boat hiring rather than through an agent. Is cheaper and more fun.

Room Tip: The further up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

It always astounds me when people give a terrible review to cheap hotels. For me it pretty straight forward if you pay $10 per night for accommodation...I want the room to be clean and airy, the bed to be moderately comfortable, a fan is good, mosquito net yes, bathroom should be clean but tiles are ok, cold water is fine and staff who are friendly and willing to help. Well Gardenia Hotel checks on all these. It is set in a location really close to the port, on a hill over looking the harbour with great views, has a reasonably priced and good food and garden is average but nice. I recommend room 17 for fab view and recommend those who don't want a basic place to stay elsewhere. Stop giving bad reviews for cheap places and start paying more!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

10 years ago, when this place wasn't so tired, and standards were lower, this place would have been okay, but now it's in need of a complete internal makeover. It's beyond shabby chic, it's just shabby. Fortunately I only stayed one night and I was drunk. The bathrooms are probably clean but appear quite manky, and the mattresses are foam. The restaurant is ok and the bungalows cute from the outside but there are better places in town for the same price, the Komodo Indah and Hotel Surya being two, they're just not slap bang in the centre of town like this place is. Although they are closer to the town beach and cash machine!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

after join sailing trip from lombok to labuan bajo, i stayed in gardenia hotel.
The place very close from the labuan bajo harbour. Just go outside from the harbour area you will find the hotel just across the harbour area.

I take double room at the top. The room is very tidy and clean. No water heater.
The room furnished with queen size cozy bed. Cupboard to place your belonging and cloth. simple working tabe made from bamboo, Ensuite bathroom with shower.
And it is including breakfast too. Not too fancy food but enough to starting your day in labuan bajo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.