We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of a bad bunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Save
You added Gardena Hotel to your Saves list
Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best of a bad bunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spacious hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are basic and 'breakfast' is awful. The dining are is also dark and drab.
good location and they will sort transport. We paid rs 150,000 per night for a fan room by the noisy reception, which was a lot for the standard of room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank violentcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very basic acomodation, backpacker style bungaloos, no luxuries at all, enough for one or two nights.
Highly incompetent staff, cannot even book nothing ahead, they live day by day! I had booked in advanced, when i got there..... I had nothing, maneged to get a room after some "negotiation" €€€

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Service..... Didn't exist. No one had a clue really. Rooms first: cleanish, basic and cheap. Great.

Try to organise anything with them however was a waste of time. Stayed there 2 nights. Went to an island for 2 nights on a trip through them, so booked for us arriving back.

Arrived back at 9.30am to blank looks until we pointed at our names on a piece of paper. assured of a room we left our bags in their care at the counter. Came back at 3.30pm to more blank looks, lots of whispering, then told that they had given all the free rooms away. Left to our own devices to find alternative accomodation in busy Labuan bajo, mid afternoon, not very pleased. Precisely what we had intended avoiding by booking ahead. (twice)

We are budget travellers and always find the accomodation reflects the price however, this is my first very negative review based on the lack of care and general indifference shown by the managing staff regarding their customers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Labuan Bajo hotels

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have stayed here a few times, mainly to visit Rinca and the dragons. The chalet rooms can be chilly at night but the views over the harbour and the sunsets are what it's all about. Reached by steep steps ( the hotel and restaurant are built on a hill side) it's worth the struggle, particularly if you have big and heavy baggage. The restaurant serves an excellent menu at very good prices, enormous servings and is well frequented by locals and tourists. The occasional vendor attempting to sell their wares will pop up over the restaurant walls or way lay you on the pathways but they are always good humored and not offended if you wave them away. Walk to the harbour in 10 minutes or less and do you own boat hiring rather than through an agent. Is cheaper and more fun.

Room Tip: The further up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

It always astounds me when people give a terrible review to cheap hotels. For me it pretty straight forward if you pay $10 per night for accommodation...I want the room to be clean and airy, the bed to be moderately comfortable, a fan is good, mosquito net yes, bathroom should be clean but tiles are ok, cold water is fine and staff who are friendly and willing to help. Well Gardenia Hotel checks on all these. It is set in a location really close to the port, on a hill over looking the harbour with great views, has a reasonably priced and good food and garden is average but nice. I recommend room 17 for fab view and recommend those who don't want a basic place to stay elsewhere. Stop giving bad reviews for cheap places and start paying more!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

10 years ago, when this place wasn't so tired, and standards were lower, this place would have been okay, but now it's in need of a complete internal makeover. It's beyond shabby chic, it's just shabby. Fortunately I only stayed one night and I was drunk. The bathrooms are probably clean but appear quite manky, and the mattresses are foam. The restaurant is ok and the bungalows cute from the outside but there are better places in town for the same price, the Komodo Indah and Hotel Surya being two, they're just not slap bang in the centre of town like this place is. Although they are closer to the town beach and cash machine!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Simonocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

after join sailing trip from lombok to labuan bajo, i stayed in gardenia hotel.
The place very close from the labuan bajo harbour. Just go outside from the harbour area you will find the hotel just across the harbour area.

I take double room at the top. The room is very tidy and clean. No water heater.
The room furnished with queen size cozy bed. Cupboard to place your belonging and cloth. simple working tabe made from bamboo, Ensuite bathroom with shower.
And it is including breakfast too. Not too fancy food but enough to starting your day in labuan bajo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arryohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
5.3 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#5 of 14 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#8 of 14 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 33 in Flores
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sylvia Waicicu Beach Resort
Sylvia Waicicu Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
8.6 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing