We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lounge Restaurant

The Lounge Restaurant
Jalan Soekarno Hatta, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
+62 385 41962
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Labuan Bajo
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Indonesian, Pizza, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: The Lounge is situated on the main street of Labuan Bajo. It offers great views over the harbour stretching to many Islands, a sunset favourite! It's a great meeting place with very friendly staff and a great atmosphere! We offer a range of cuisine and drinks. Free Wifi, shisha pipes and relaxing sofa cushions makes the lounge a great place to hangout we also have Live entertainment including traditonal Manggarai dance & Local acoustic bands.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food here was excellent. I only downgraded to a 'very good' because of the cocktails. Specifically the arak cocktails... they were pretty bad. We had the pizza and it was really good. It even had real pepperoni. The lounge seats were great and I really liked the lighting, it created a lot of atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    58
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to chill in Labuan Bajo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

When coming to Labuan Bajo we asked the taxi driver to take us to a place with wi-fi and he drove us to The Lounge. We simply loved it - a wonderful relaxing atmosphere and a stunning view over the ocean. After coming back from our liveaboard trip around Komodo we stayed another few days in Labuan Bajo, and kept going the Lounge for lunch, dinner and drinks at night - until it almost got embarrassing ;)
The staff and the owners were incredibly nice and food was great. I loved their thin, tasty pizzas and my boyfriend has seriously even been thinking about sending me back there for cooking lessons, to learn how to make their banana leaf baked fish - I think he had it almost every day!
Hope to see you soon again!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, lovely people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stumbled upon The Lounge by luck. Was recommended Mediterraneo Restaurant across the street but it looked a bit too formal for my mood that night. Heard some nice music from the slope and was looking up to see what place it was when the owner's brother greeted me with a very friendly "come on up and chill!". Turned out, the place was exactly what I needed, laid-back, friendly with good food and company. Went back again for lunch on my last day at Labuan Bajo after 3 days live-aboard, was waiting for my flight out at 4.30pm. They have good wifi, didn't mind me lounging around while charging my laptop for 3 hours. Had their Ikan Bakar Flores which was good (but the best is still at the little stalls next to the market by the fishermen habour). Would definitely be a place to stop by if ever in town. Oh, and I forgot to mention, the view of the habour and islands beyond is not bad too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The hip, happening eatery in Labuan Bajo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Lounge is such a nice place to flop after a day of being beaten up by the sun, the waves and the heat one finds in Indonesian diving. The beer is cold, the wifi works, and they just don't care how ragged you look. And did I mention, the food is very good? An eclectic menu, generous portions, and better pizza than any I had on Bali.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Atmosphere ok, food so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great place to lounge for a few hours, sip some fresh juice ad check your e-mails via the wifi. Their food is not all that great. Stick to burgers and stuff. Their Indonesian food is not up to standard, and you can get so much better at the little warungs on the waterside.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Labuan Bajo, Flores
Labuan Bajo, Flores
 

Been to The Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lounge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.