We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at this high-class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores to your Saves list
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Pede Km 5, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Orebro, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stay at this high-class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed there during my visit to Flores and Komodo islands, and i was not dissapointed. This was during low season so they got me one of their suites, big spacey room and a woderful big bed (Zzz), large balcony with amazing seaview. The staff was very friendly (thanks Felix! and that nice pretty girl at the reception)and helpful, and lot of lovely smiles from all those pretty waitresses. Breakfast was great with lot of choices, even for a picky swedish guy:-), The food/drinks was overall very good here during my stay (little bit pricey). Nice looking pool...that was great to pop in after some tours around the islands. Hotel was very well-managed and clean. When you get out of hotel area there is a lot of garbage everywhere, nobody seems not to care about it, thats a pity...If they wanna compete with Bali they have to start cleaning up Labuan Bajo. But this hotel was great and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
39
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Your perception of this resort will depend on your expectations. If you are a diver or trekker looking for a clean, modern place to stay between adventures, you will find that it meets your needs nicely. On the other hand, if you are a couple or family looking for a full-featured beach destination, you may be disappointed. You will see four- and even five-star ratings for this hotel on some of the travel websites, but in our experience, these ratings are not justified. Here are the pluses and minuses we observed:
+ The hotel is clean and modern, perhaps two years old. The room was comfortable, especially the bed. The air conditioner worked well.
+ Service was gracious and efficient, especially in the restaurant.
+ There is a dive shop accessible through the hotel lobby. It’s probably more expensive than many of the dive shops in town, but provided excellent service. We had five memorable dives with our guide, Johanes, whom we would recommend strongly. He also arranged a tour to Pulau Rinca, where we saw several komodo dragons and a water buffalo.
+ The restaurant was good, particularly the buffet breakfast.
+ The pool is clean and pretty. It’s just large enough (roughly 20 meters) to swim laps if you want.
+ The hotel provides free airport pickup and dropoff and will run you into town for Rp50,000 roundtrip.
- The rooms are plain, and some features disappointing. For example, the bathroom has no door – only a curtain. This was particularly bothersome in the small deluxe room we initially checked into, which also lacked a balcony. The upstairs hallways are stark, like a college dormitory. We asked for an upgrade and moved to a suite at a very reasonable price.
- If you like the occasional glass of wine or spirits, you would do well to bring your own, or go to the several decent restaurants in town (we liked the Mediterraneo and also the Lounge). Wine was grossly overpriced, Rp1,300,000 and up for very ordinary Australian whites and reds. Drinks at the bar were likewise way too expensive. Prices at local restaurants were reasonable, so the high prices at the hotel are not a consequence of the remoteness of the island.
- The wi-fi was weak and slow. We could get adequate reception only within a few meters of the business center, and then not sufficient to use Skype for a phone call.
- The beach is not suitable for swimming or wading. Perhaps due to a river that empties into the sea nearby, the water is shallow for at least 100 meters from shore, exposing vegetation and soil at low tide. The beach is barricaded with mounds of driftwood beyond the hotel property line, so you can forget about a romantic stroll too.
- The fitness center is a small, locked room in the basement. The staff opened the room and turned on the ventilation when we wanted to use it, but the room was hot and musty. There was no TV. The equipment was adequate for the two of us, but even four people would have had an awkward time sharing it.
- We didn’t see the monkeys chained in trees mentioned in other reviews, so hopefully the management has thought better of this. But we did see a deer on the neighboring lot tied to a stake, which seemed strange and pointless.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view - the surrounding hillsides are not particularly scenic. And we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel was clean. No beach. It located far from the Labuan Bajo village. We paid 70 US $ per night with the breakfast included. Near by the entrance, five baby monkeys were chained to the branches of a tree. They never have had water. They were left to themselves without food despite the searing heat.These monkeys live in very bad conditions. The hotel told us that they do not plan to build a cage.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Overall service was very good, hotel grounds and views are beautiful, however the 7-8 starving and thirsty monkeys chained to the trees ruined my stay. A small infant was clearly malnourished and depressed and refused to eat the food that all other monkeys snatched up ravenously. As reported by other guests they seemed to have no water or food, we gave them some fruit but the charity of the occasional guest is not a solution..

When complaining at the desk, the staff told us they had received many complaints already but reading previous reviews I am guessing they have done absolutely nothing to change the situation. I can confirm that no cage has been built. The staff told us the owner has many other hotels so he is hardly ever there and is anyway officially based in Jakarta.

If anyone finds out the name/email address of the owner please post it on here, so at least we can write to this person

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

it was awesome stay that i had in Jayakarta Suites. The people are very friendly, they organize everything for me include the boat rental which is using the Jayakarta speed boat and in no time i get to Komodo island is really a gateway to Komodo island. When i was there i see a package that include flight ticket that really hard to get especially to labuan bajo. it really have been a great memories for me and my fiance for it Thanks Jayakarta.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Labuan Bajo is an interesting place to visit. Definitely off of the beaten path. The Jayakarta is the nicest hotel in Labuan Bajo and is basically isolated, though a few other hotels nearby are walkable.......but you are basically captive and need the hotel staff to take you any where you need to go...like ATM macine.

The staff was awesome and help us set up a great excursion to see the Komodo dragons on Komodo and Rinca islands. The food was excellent. The room was incredible, but it turns out we got free upgrade to suite because my wife's sister works for a powerful banker in Jakarta and made sure we were take care of. (If you are not aware....Indonesia suffers from severe corruption.....a bribe goes a long ways.....unfortunately.) The pool was great and my daughter and I played chess with the half life-sized pieces.

Jayakarta sits right on the beach. The ocean does not look inviting to swim in....but the pool is great and there are free cabanas to protect you from the intense sun if you are a Bule like me.

BVD

Room Tip: Nice rooms, clean, but expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Definitely unique hotel and we love their staff. The pool are nice, the sunset so beautiful.
So kindness and always offering us what we need with the best price. We stayed 10 days and they always provide us what we need and yes for sure, we'll back!

Room Tip: The room is very tidy and great! They had a unique furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores

Address: Jl. Pantai Pede Km 5, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Labuan Bajo Beach, The Jayakarta Suites Komodo Flores offers luxurious accommodation surrounded by tropical greenery. It features a dive club offering programs for divers of all levels. The Jayakarta Suites Komodo Flores is a 15-minute drive from Komodo Airport, which is an hour's flight from Ngurah Rai International Airport. A boat cruise to Komodo Island takes 1 hour and 30 minutes. Free airport pick-up service is offered. Guests at Jayakarta Suites Flores can take a dip in the outdoor pool, or visit the spa for a relaxing aromatherapy massage. The hotel also has a concierge desk and a jogging track. Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Rooms come with a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar, and tea/coffee making facilities. Private bathrooms have separate bathtub and shower facilities. Some rooms feature beautiful views of the ocean. Buffet breakfast is served at Jayakarta Suites Komodo Flores. Meals can be enjoyed at Nat's Coffee Shop, while cocktails are available at Nick's Bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores Hotel Labuan Bajo
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores Labuan Bajo, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.