We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of three weeks Indonesia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angel Island Resort
Save
You added Angel Island Resort to your Saves list
Pulau Bidadari, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The highlight of three weeks Indonesia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything is as good or better than the website - particularly the food. As this small resort is the only facility on the island, all food is included and for every meal there's a full a la carte menu with a large variety of food. It's all cooked fresh and to order - a lovely surprise.

The huts are spectacular - huge! And all the staff are friendly and efficient. The best thing was that they really seemed to care and really wanted to do a good job. The two owners were away during our three day stay and the staff continued with their wonderful, thoughtful service.

The private beach is beautiful and swimming and snorkelling straight out from the beach over good coral is so unusual. And we enjoyed kayaking round the island too. The diving centre is well run - our two boys enjoyed two really spectacular diving at the Komodo/Rinca National Park where the coral and fish were as good or better than back home in Aus on the Barrier Reef.

Another trip to do from here is to see the Komodo dragons. It is offered at both Rinca Island and Komodo Island - these islands are close together and both at least 90 mins in a small boat from Angel Is. I recommend doing the long walk on both islands (has to be guided) and I reckon it's not necessary to do both - they're very similar. The Rinca experience is more natural and a much nicer walk if you think of doing just one of the islands.

It's not cheap but remember that all food and soft drinks are included and this place is really luxurious. You will not be disappointed. Transfers to/from the airport at Labuan Bajo are straightforward. Go!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days as part of our honeymoon and wernt disappointed
Ernest and his staff couldnt do enough for us.
We planned to do 3 days diveing with the islands dive centre Reefseekers who were also excellent Anika & her Husband looked after us and the diving in Komodo is some of the best diving ive ever encountered
Right back to the island the rooms are great big & airy and the beds are comfortable nice outside bathrooms as well
The Food is good with a wide choice considering you are on a private island
The beach is outstanding we went snorkling when we arrived and saw reef sharks , moray eels , Bat fish all around the reef closest to the rocks
Overall we loved our stay & hopefully Ernest we ill be back one day
One tip is bring a torch as its kinda dark on the walk back from the restaurant at night

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday!! We stayed here 9 nights and it was am amazing experience. All the staff are so friendly, helpful, kind, speak great English and looked after us extremely well. Ernest (one of the owners, unfortunately we didn't meet Kath) is a great guy, very friendly, chatty, was always checking we were ok, made sure we needed nothing. The island is beautiful, lovely beaches most of the time we had the beach to ourselves, there are 3 lovely beaches. We are not divers but love snorkelling and have experienced some of the best snorkelling in all of our travels. Simply walk off from the beach, go left, right or straight ahead and you will see so much, great coral, plenty of fish, sharks, turtles, stingrays and have never seen so many bat fish! We snorkelled whole way round the island over our stay, there is much to see and the water is very clear. There are some nice walks around the island, climb the small hills and see fantastic views, well worth it! Our villa was amazing, 5 star quality, such a high standard, very, very comfortable, very well cleaned every day, plenty of good quality towels, very comfortable bed with good quality linen, plenty of wardrobe and storage space, good aircon, spacious bathroom with good facilities, rain shower and outdoor shower, lovely toiletries, tea/coffee/water/fridge etc. TV (films only)/music, inside the villa is very spacious, light and airy and nice oustide space with lounges and insect coils both in bathroom and outside space lit every evening. All villas are very private, not over looked by your neighbours, only a few steps from te beach, the gardens and paths are very well kept, all looking very natural. The food is excellant, a very good choice, good portions, the chef is a lovely guy, I don't know how he manages when everything has to be brought onto the island. We felt so relaxed and was sad to leave but hope to be able to return some day soon. A big thank you to Ernest and his team, they run the island so well and looked after you so well especially 2 guys (I'm sorry I can't remember their names) who brought us our drinks and snacks on the beach everyday, what more could you ask for!!!

Room Tip: Every room is good, all have a good position, all private from your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a find. Owned and run by an English couple we were attended to by the friendly staff even on the beach. We wanted to treat ourselves during our Bali trip and were not disappointed. Four days and nights of heaven. We are not divers and although catered for we were not pushed into trying. For us the snorkelling just off the beach was excellent. Food and accommodation was first class. Would love to visit again another year.

Room Tip: All rooms equally as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay a lot!The resort is a beautiful and peaceful place with an astonishing house reef!! Snorkelling is excellent! Bungalows are high class! Diving is great! Staff is freindly and helpful! Nothing to complain!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On our indonesia vacation, we stayed three nights on Bidadari island/ Angel Island Resort. This place was the absolute highlight of our trip. The staff is very friendly, the food was excellent and the villas were so beautiful. We really enjoyed doing nothing but snorkeling, relaxing and eating, and we would have loved to stay a couple of days longer. If anybody plans to visit Labuan Bajo and the Komodos, we definitely recommend to stay on Bidadari Island/ Angel Island resort. It is not cheap but it is worth every cent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It has been well over a month since we spent 5 blissful days on this island and we are about to book another stay, can't wait to return ! We arrived at the very beginning of their season and although they had barely opened their doors everything was seamless. The hosts are delightful , passionate and knowledgeable . Their joint commitment to the natural environment and love of all things aquatic has resulted in the preservation of this extraordinary place ; an absolute treasure in the South China Sea .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Island Resort

Address: Pulau Bidadari, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Angel Island Hotel Labuan Bajo
Angel Island Resort Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.