We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good if you expect basics to be OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Jl. Bidadari, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86754 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Rheden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“very good if you expect basics to be OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Very good hotel. If you do not expect the world. good view, relaxed, cheap, WIFI, scooters for rent, nice people and 5 min walk for the mainstreet. rooms are not the best, but beds are ok and shower and toilets work and are rather clean. It all could need some maintenance.
breakfast is either toast or pancakes like everywhere.

Room Tip: call, as they are booked in high season and booking.com is not always updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The good things are the view and the wifi when you are in the restaurant..
But they don't have a computer and work only with text message confirmations! So our first night we've been in overbooking as they declared had never received our booking while we had it printed! They sent us with no excuses to the Surya Hotel, 50m away - which is ok based on Labuan Bajo standards.. The second night we finally got our room at Chez Felix and slept bad due to a cockerel screaming non stop!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The terrase has good views of the harbour.The room is very poor and the toilet is not very clean and old. To reach the hotel from the downtown it is necessary to walk for a while. The Wifi is not working in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights and felt immediately at home. Basic but clean fan-cooled rooms, friendly, laid-back owners, quiet enough and 10 minutes' walk from Labuan Bajo town centre. There is a mosque not far away so you will hear the call to prayer at about 5am. This didn't bother me but if you're a light sleeper maybe bring earplugs. The roosters seem to wait until morning to start crowing, which was a relief. Restaurant is a great spot to sit morning or evening to enjoy the views of the harbour. Labuan Bajo is more expensive than other places in Indonesia so don't expect super cheap prices.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem similar and don't vary much, all face the lovely tropical garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Basic accomodation at a fair price - but as always it is the people that matter more. The owner, Hieronymous, and his family are lovely, trustworthy, helpfull and caring. I only locked the room here because I couldn't account for other travellers - I always left the key with Hieronymous. We were here for about 10 days while diving the area. We hired a bike from here too. All prices are good and there is no need to haggle. There is a great under cover eating area overlooking the sea and islands of Labun Bajo. Labuan Bajo is noisy and dirty - Chez Felix is just far enough out to be quiet and clean and still just a short walk into town.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed similar. I would take any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ended up staying 10 nights here. Lovely helpful family run this place. Basic but clean fan cooled rooms with lovely garden outlook. The view from the restaurant is great - a great place to have a beer while watching the light change on the harbour and knowing you're away from the dust and noise of the main drag. We had good meals at the restaurant too. We ate down in the town too at street stalls and the night market - the 10 minute waddle up the hill helped settle the food :) Motorbikes for hire here too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We spend one week of march at Chez Felix and enjoyed it!

Just to give a comment on all previous negatives notes - Yes, Chez Felix is not a luxus hotel, but what do you expect for the price of 150.000 IDR per night (a room without AC)? It is one of the cheapest stays in Labuan Bajo, so...

Location: great! the hotel is located a bit above the city, so it is not so noisy and muggy as at the main street and from the resaturant there is a beautifull view on the sea.

Rooms: very simple rooms - double bad, single bad, ventilator, bathroom with cold water. Not very well maintained, but clean! You can sit on the terrace outside - each room has a table and two chairs. There is also a nice garden!

Finally, some words about the owner: a really nice and frinedly man! He speaks very good english and we had a lot of interesting conversations. The most important: he helped us a lot as we found out at the airport that our flight back to Bali was cancelled (stay away from Sky Aviation!) He was driving us from the airport to the travel agencies in the city and back, talking in our name to many people, trying to find a solution to our problem. Many thanks for that!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Bidadari, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86754 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.