We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good collection of euphorbias and view is good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant
Jl. Bidadari, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86754 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Labuan Bajo
western australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good collection of euphorbias and view is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Rooms are big and bare, there is an airconditioner on the wall that will cost more. Bathroon basic, with cold water and not unclean but not clean, basic indo grime. Mozzies yes. But the view from restaurant is good, the beer cold and in LBJ you can certainly do worse. 10 minute walk to main street down the hill, an ethnographic wonderland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here for longer than we anticipated and we enjoyed the location. Staff are obviously in training from the owners of the business, so like other comments posted - you may need to ask for things more than once and to more than one person but this was not an issue for us.
The first evening we arrived I was dumbstruck by the sunset view...a highlight of Lubuan Bajo and a reason to go round the head for a full on sunset at Paradise Bar.
The rooms are pretty basic as what you expect in this part of SE Asia and the usual issue with bugs and no mossie nets but the rooms were pretty clean so had no complaints.
Would stay there again if we were lucky enough to return....

Room Tip: Choose one with a good Gecko
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay of 3 nights at 'Chez Felix' very much.
It is run by a very friendly local Indonesian family.
Our room offered basic confort (fan, western toilet, cold water shower) and was clean.
The sunset from the terrace is just beautiful.
Breakfast is simple, but if you combine it with a Sirsa juice they make from the tree in the garden it is just delicious

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed there for one night because we couldn't find a better place for reasonable price in Labuanbajo. The room didn't smell very good and look only OKish...there was no mosqito net and no running water during the night. We didn't get towels and were only given toilet paper when we asked for it twice.
The staff (family) are nice enough. But the breakfast was only a greasy plain pancake.
It is about 20 min walk downhill to the center (shops, restaurants etc.). There is nothing to see in Labuanbajo and the town is dusty and dirty, main road was just being repaired when were there. It only sevrves as a gateway to the nearby island which are worth visiting but I would recommend spending as little time here as possible.
Altogether, Chez Felix is poor value for money. You can get miles better places to stay for half the price on other island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Chez Felix before moving down the road to a cheaper and actually better place.

Overall we had a great time and enjoyed our stay but it is expensive for what you get.

The pro's:
* Perfect location up the hill with incredible views of the harbour and bay
* Run by the lovely Maria and her friendly family - great service, good conversation
* Rooms are large and ensuite - A/C available for extra
* Breakfast included though very basic and often only the pancake is available
* Laundry service available and quite reasonable
* Really quiet and peaceful with nice gardens

The con's:
* Basic double room costs 250,000Rp but you can bargain down off-peak
* No mosquito nets but the critters are a real nuisance
* Bathroom is not the most beautiful

We would recommend this place because of the service and friendly welcome. It's also in a great location and the views are wonderful. However, we can't help feeling that the room are over-priced - the basic fan double should be no more than 200,000Rp even at peak. Bargain well and you could get them down to that level.

thanks
james

Room Tip: Rooms 08-10 are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Chez Felix is a decent place to stay. There are fan and aircon rooms. The fan rooms are 200’000 and the aircon are 350’000. There is no big difference between the rooms, just the fan or the aircon and the rooms are a little bit bigger. There is a western toilet and a cold water shower. The rooms are clean and there is decent furniture. The staff is really friendly and they all speak really good English. With the above mentioned price is the breakfast included. You either can get toast, coffee or tea or banana pancake, coffee or tea. Chez Felix is not on the main street it’s up a hill and it’s really quite. Even if it’s more expensive than the average Hotel in Labuan Bajo it’s really worth to go to Chez Felix. The view from the restaurant is just amazing and the food is good and cheap

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed here for 2 or 3 nights at the end of March and thought it was a decently priced option for the area. The rooms were spacious, clean and had a decent fan.

The owners were friendly and helpful and the food looked good (we didn't eat there but friends did).

I've only rated it 3/5 for location as it was hit and miss. The guesthouse is at the top of the hill so has great views and is out of the dust and dirt of Labuan Bajo but is a 15 minute walk from the town centre where the majority of the restaurants/bars are.

The town itself isn't anything special, it's a small port, dirty, dusty and has a fair few rats, but it's a good gateway to explore Flores and the surrounding islands. The towns and villages on Flores were amazing, we loved Kelimutu (Moni), Ruteng and Bajawa. we quite liked Ende too in a dirty, gritty way!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Bidadari, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86754 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Felix Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.