We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview Gardens
Save
You added Bayview Gardens to your Saves list
Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
dongen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“we loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We loved our stay. The view form the room/veranda over the bay is fenomenal! The staffl very, very friendly and helpfull. If you don't feel like going to the village for dinner. No problem. They serve you an exellent menu on your room. Delicious breakfast, cold water and an nice afternoon snack. We can truly recommend this nice place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    100
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
122
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Adrian the owner, at the pathway leading up to the hotel. He made sure we were not left waiting and personally gave us an orientation. On my way up to my room, I noticed a well organised and tailored breakfast schedule which immediately signalled to me that guest's activity schedules would be respected and accommodated.

The room (we stayed in #4) looked even better with my own eyes upon arrival than in the website photo. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the bathroom, and the terrace seating area overseeing the fantastic view of the gorgeous Labuanbajo bay and pier.

Meals were delicious and of great quality and were delivered cheerily by the helpful staff to our room at the top of the hillside hotel (Be sure to order dinner early, the food is made with great care and may take a little longer than McD's, *smile). The free breakfast was generous and yummy and delivered at the time of our choosing.

On my final day, after checking out and flying out of Flores Island, destined for Bali, I realised that I had left a sacred keepsake behind (a sweater gifted to me). Once having landed in Bali, I hadn't spent two minutes explaining my error on the phone to the owner Adrian, before he interrupted to reassure me "don't worry about it, we're GOING to get your sweater back to you". This willingness to please, high regard for customer satisfaction and general thoughtfulness are things that I’ve not come across at other hotels before.

Proving his sincere concern for my unfortunate mishap, Adrian proceeded to carefully package my sweater and drive it over to the airport where he sent it to me via one of the local airline's parcel services. I was overjoyed when I received it at the Bali airport.

Beyond our wonderful stay at Bayview Gardens, I can truly say that the staff and owner go the extra mile to ensure that guests leave with nothing but happy memories, a full tummy, and the desire to go back again soon. (Don’t be put off if the hotel website loads slowly - this hotel is not to be missed!)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at Bayview Gardens in September for only one night. We flew into Labuan Bajo in the morning and took a boat to Rinca Island to see the Komodo Dragons. We arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon, very hot and dusty. The airconditioning was very welcome (and the best we had on Flores) and the bathroom excellent. But what we loved most was the terrace. About as large as the bedroom it is open towards the bay, with a table and chairs. The view is of the harbour, dotted with islands, and the sunset was nothing short of stunning. A lot of the boats are lit at night so even after dark we didn't want to go to bed and leave the view. As the restaurant wasn't finished we ordered dinner from a local restaurant . This was delivered and served to us on our terrace, along with a steady supply of cold Bintangs.

Definitely the best accommodation on Flores and we would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed here with our son and family for 4 nights. 4 adults and two grandkids. Both our units were very clean and comfortable. The staff was great. We arrive late afternoon and did not want to fine a restaurant. (Byaview's reaurant is not open yet). We asked the staff what they could do for us and they rounded up a nice private dinner for us dilever and served to us at the hotel. It was great. We took day trips to Kamodo island and fishing. Found several good small local restauants. Remember Flores Island is a remote local island... not a Bali type area, but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We had some problems finding a place to sleep in labuanbajo, because of the high season). But the moment I send Adriaan an email all our problems were gone. We didn't sleep in the bayview gardens hotel,but in the house next door because again of the high season this was all full. This was certainly not a problem at all, the house was very big with AC and in the morning there was a really nice breakfast. Laundry service was avaliable.

We really loved this place, with all the animals (puppy;s kittens , chickens and even a monkey). Adriaan is the kind of host who you can ask a thousands questions and he knows the answer. He knows the city and the people who live in it. We even find ourselfs getting a little bit lazy :)!

The price was a little bit above our budget but we do think it's worth it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Breathtaking view over Labuanbajo bay with all the islands, islets and ships is definitely what makes Bayview Gardens so attractive. We had a new room (no. 5) located a further up hill in vicinity of the hotel restaurant, which is just being built. That was the only negative impression from the hotel as the construction goes on every day until 5 PM but as soon as it gets ready, this will be one of the top experiences in accommodaton in Indonesia. Clean, with separate bathroom, room and terrace, friendly staff and welcoming owner, and a good breakfast. Not fully suitable for disbaled travellers, as it's located on a steep hill overlooking the port but otherwise excellent, with huge geckos adding flavours of tropical night. And we were first Czecho-Moldovan couple to stay there...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel stood out as by far the best accommodation we stayed in on Flores.

Rooms at the Bayview all seem to consist of a bedroom, private balcony and separate private bathroom. Clean, comfortable with amazing views over the bay and on to the small islands to Rinca.

The place has no restaurant (yet) but offers to collect evening meals from a local restaurant. As useful as this service is, I wouldn't recommend it as the food isn't very good. Far better food can be had by wandering down into the town (about a fifteen minute walk) and checking out some of the newer places, e.g. the Corner.

On the whole, we found the staff very helpful and friendly but didn't like the atmosphere when visiting reception during the evening; friends of the staff or owners seemed to be lounging around all over the place and, to be honest, were rude, quite arrogant and off putting. We weren't too impressed by their attempts to get the hotel monkey drunk on arak.

This really doesn't take too much away from this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Gardens

Address: Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bayview Gardens Hotel Labuan Bajo
Bayview Gardens Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.