We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poetic sunset views of Labuan Bajo bay and harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview Gardens
Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Poetic sunset views of Labuan Bajo bay and harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As pointed out by many reviewers, the views are definitely this hotel's biggest asset. Travelling as a family of 5, we had two adjoining rooms at the top of the hill, with a private balcony. The views of Labuan Bajo harbour and port are beautiful. Add to that a sunset over the sea and the call to prayers floating up the hill from the mosque in the seaside town down below, and you have evenings of sheer poetic beauty. Sitting on that balcony with the noises and views of the town below was definitely the highlight of our stay in Labuan Bajo. The main upside of this hotel also comes with a downside; most bars and restaurants are in the town centre and you will have to make a steep 10 minute climb up the hill in the dark to get back to the hotel. Nothing daunting though and as Indonesia is a safe place, we didn't mind the climb to burn some after-dinner calories to be honest. Other pluses of this hotel are Adriaan the friendly owner, the beautiful hillside gardens in which the rooms are located, and breakfast which is brought to your room at the time of your choosing. Some of the other reviewers are probably right when they say that it's a bit expensive for the rooms that you get but hey, what do you travel for; unforgettable hotel rooms or unforgettable views? The view is worth the extra euros/dollars if you ask me. While preparing for our trip in Komodo National Park and Flores, Adriaan was extremely helpful sorting out our boat trip and overland trip with driver/guide. He sees this as a service and doesn't charge you extra for it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a good view of the harbour. We stayed in the two rooms at the top of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
108
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VITORIA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I would suggest to avoid this hotel. You can find at labuanbajo better hotels much cheaper. It is located on the top of the hill at Labuanbajo three minutes by taxi or moto from the city center. The views are really good from the hotel but it is the only good thing it offers. As it is on a mountain it is really unconfortable to carry the luggage to the room as there are many steps. The room are very basic and old for this price. You can find much better at Labuanbajo. The bathroom is old and dirty. There are many mosquitos and rooms dont have mosquito net. You have hot water and air conditioning. The breakfast is very poor. So I recommend you clearly to look for other options

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice, before and after diving trips. First time, great 4 person room with awesome view (room 8, but no wifi), when we returned we we put in a small triple for the same price - cheeky as we had booked for 4 people. Breakfast is awful so didn't try other meals. Owner was very helpful in booking a snorkeling trip. If you have time to enjoy the views, probably worth it (but not all rooms have the views or wifi), but if arriving and leaving early for diving trips, think lack of decent
food makes it a little frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Incredible value, given this isn't a five star property. The view is fantastic, one of the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen. Breakfast included in the morning was delicious and delivered to your balcony. Wifi works quite well in some of the rooms.

Very friendly staff and owner who recommended great places for dinner (surprisingly some of the best pizza I've ever had, unexpected from a small town in Indonesia)!

Overall, memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The view is definitely amazing and the garden is full of fantatic flowers. However, it could do with a bit of a revamp. The room was big and the adjoining balcony (where you got your breakfast - but not at the requested time!) overlooked the bay. The safe didn't work, one of the fans broke and they messed up my laundry request, but these things happen. I arrived just after a rain shower and the steep path up to the rooms was treacherous. I had a chat to Adrian, the friendly owner, whilst I was there and he was telling me of his future plans for updating the rooms and building a pool, so I'm sure things will better in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room was big, the view was perfect - we had a family room at the top. But price is not matching, you can get better value for your money in Labuan Bajo. If you have problems with stairs then you should find another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Bayview is located up on the cliff overlooking Lubuan Bajo port and boasts stunning views from the balconies. The layout of the hotel and the designs of the terraces in certain rooms are incredible but unfortunately it lacks that little bit of care and attention. When we stayed unfortunately there were more broken things in our bathroom then working. The sink leaked, the shower flooded, the toilet button was missing....etc. If the hotel sorts out these small problems and regularly checks rooms I would definitely recommend it as a very nice place to stay.

A nice touch is the hotel organizes for breakfast to be served in rooms at your desired time in the morning.

Tip - the hotel is a little out the way so unless you are happy to pay for a cheap motorbike or taxi down into town for dinner etc bring a torch to navigate the darkness on your walks!

Room Tip: Room number. 1 has a big terrace and nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Gardens

Address: Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bayview Gardens Hotel Labuan Bajo
Bayview Gardens Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bayview Gardens to your Saves list