We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview Gardens
Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great view and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed two times in one week in Bayview Gardens in the same room. The view is great overlooking the bay. Make sure to be up in the room during sunset to take great photos. Our room was on top of the hill thus it was an exercise to get up the stairs. The room it self was ok as well as the bath room. They served breakfast in the room, with a good choice of selection. We took the bemo to get down to town for dinner and in back after dark we took motorbikes. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
108
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bayview Gardens for 1 night on Jan 4, 2013 and paid ~$45USD/night inclusive (cash only). I reserved a double room with breakfast via email with the owner Adrian (Ad). Ad was extremely generous with sharing information about the hotel, local airlines, and Flores and other islands. He assisted us to book a 2 day/1 night Rinca/Komodo trip with a local boat and crew for the night prior to our hotel stay for a price reasonable compared to what tour agencies were charging (see my review under Komodo National Park). We also pre-booked dinner in the hotel’s restaurant for the evening of our stay. We were given room 7 which had a lovely view of the harbour. If you are walking impaired note that the hotel paths are very steep so a lower room may be better. We were nicely greeted and escorted to our room with luggage help. The room was really 2 rooms – one indoor and one out. The private external outer room had a bench, table, side sitting area with cushions, garden area, clothes rack, tea kettle, coffee & tea, water dispenser and a wall mounted oscillating fan. It’s such a great place to sit and enjoy the view of the harbour and the sea. The inside room was of moderate size and had a table, bench – in front of large picture window - large double bed as well as a single bed off in an alcove area. It had good lighting, great air-con and 2 fans. The bathroom was a good size with shower, toilet, sink and fan (no a/c) with good quality towels. As it was ‘open’ there were a few geckos and bugs but was fine. Other than some soap scum in the bathroom it was pretty clean. At around 5pm the staff brought us a free snack – fresh made banana chips – apparently the snack changes all the time. Breakfast is included and you write the time you want breakfast and what you want (English or Fried Rice) on the lobby white board – and they will deliver to your room. We could get a weak wifi signal in our room, better in the outer room and best in the restaurant area. The in-room information book is very interesting to read – about Ad’s life and the pro’s and con’s of running a hotel on Flores – almost everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask! From the hotel (actually anywhere in Flores!) you will hear the Call to Prayers several times a day from the two local mosques; I think it adds to the ambiance of the place, and they didn’t wake us when sleeping. We ate dinner at the hotel’s restaurant at 7:30 – must book ahead and limited choice. The choice was chicken or fish; we had chicken which came with tofu stir fry, vegetables, rice, a coleslaw type salad and a large bottle water – very tasty and good value for ~$12USD total. The only odd thing we found was when we went to bed – the double bed was made up with a single sheet laid on sideways so it was not long enough to cover us – we were short sheeted! I decided to take the sheet off the single bed and use it as well, but found there was NO sheet at all on the single bed. We ended up sleeping in our sweat pants so that the blanket didn’t come into contact with our bare skin. We could have gone down to reception and asked for a double sheet but it was a long, steep way down in the dark and rain and there are no phones in the rooms. Breakfast was delivered promptly at 8am as requested and was very good - eggs with toast, butter, jam, peanut butter, pancake, fruit and fruit smoothies. It was lovely to enjoy this in our private courtyard area with beautiful view. Dishes were picked up an hour later. I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend Bay View Gardens (except if you’re walking impaired) to anyone. Ad was such a great help via email with reliably planning the airport transportation, Rinca/Komodo local boat trip and a wonderful dinner and hotel stay, and was always so patient with my questions and forthcoming with information.

Room Tip: Room 7, close to restaurant, had weak but usable wifi signal inside room and good wifi signal on bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a great set of bungalows perched on the cliffside. The staff was very attentive and the food was great. Its an easy walk down a hidden path to the main part of town. Overall a great place to stay while in Labuanbajo. The rooms are very nice, with A/C and plenty of room. We spent tons of time hanging out on the balcony. There's wireless in the common areas. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in this place in mid september 2012, and overall we're happy with the room and service. It's not like a 4 stars hotel, but you get a spacious room with amazing view and of course a sitting area with view to the port, it's a perfect spot to enjoy the red sky of Bajo during sunset.

On our first day, we stayed in a room with separate bathroom, but the next day we get the en-suite bathroom and our friend also stay in the same area, which makes our space sort of like a private area. So basically, two rooms are located on the same area- and sharing the same verandah and dining area-. Towel is provided, but no toiletries except toilet paper. Each room comes with A/C + Fan, and electric mosquito repellent spray. They clean the room everyday, and you can also do laundry here. We did our laundry while we're on our liveaboard trip to Komodo, you could also leave your bags to them if you're out for liveaboard trip.

If you'd like to eat out, just use a bemo and pay 2000 rupiah, and to go back just use motorbike taxi which costs around 5000 rupiah. We did try to walk though, but it's quite a walk under the heat, so we'd prefer to just use the bemo.

On our last day, we had a nice dinner at the hotel consists of soup, chicken herb and some other dishes. Everything costs 150,000 rupiah for 3 persons, it's actually the same price as you go to non-local restaurants.

Room Tip: This room may not suitable for elder, as there are so many steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We (3 people) stayed in this structure for 3 days in August 2012. It's located in a perfect position to get a stunning view over the bay of Labuan Bajo, over the sea and Rinca and Komodo Islands. It's so far from the centre of the town and there is a lot of transportation available. The friendly dutch owner, Adrian, is a knowledgeable person and will give you the best infos and contacts to organize your time in Flores. Breakfast and even a little snack in the afternoon are served directly on the terrace of your room. The rooms are spacious and very clean. For persons with walking problems reaching the rooms could be a little bit difficult for the steep paths leading to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed over NY @ Bayview. The name is just perfect for this property. Got very spacious rooms to accommodate our family of 4. The friendly owner Ad, promptly confirmed by e-mail room and airport pick up. All worked out as planed, actually we never intended to stay one extra night but Merpati canceled return flight to Denpasar and "Ad" was once more ready to assist us arranging transfers and confirming next day flight. In other words : a tranquil place to relax even under torrential rain !

Room Tip: Perhaps room next to the restaurant gets better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Bayview Gardens has probably the best view of any hotel in Indonesia. If you catch a decent sunset, you will be stunned by the harbor, Flores Bay and the Komodo Sea peppered with islands stretching into infinity. This makes it just worthwhile trying to figure out the quirks and expectations of this little hostelry that can't decide if it wants to be a hotel, a hostel or a homestay. Labuan Bajo is a fun frontier town that picks up the energy of the divers and other adventurous types passing through. The Bayview Garden has gone the opposite direction, however, emphasizing solitude bordering on loneliness, even though it is only 100 meters, as the crow flies, straight up the hill from main street. Transportation is the main problem. there are no taxis in LBJ, so you take a long walk around the hill to get into town, or flag down a motorbike and hope someone stops. Staffing is another issue, The front gate/lobby is usually deserted. You can ring a bell at the gate and a 10-year-old girl with limited English will appear and try to figure out what you want. The dining room has no dining, no food, no kitchen, nobody. On the plus side, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the wifi works, breakfast (the only time you will see a staff member) is good, and you can email the offsite owner, Adrian, who will make things happen in a disembodied kind of way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Gardens

Address: Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bayview Gardens Hotel Labuan Bajo
Bayview Gardens Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bayview Gardens to your Saves list