We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't leave anything outside.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windang Beach Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windang Beach Tourist Park
Save
You added Windang Beach Tourist Park to your Saves list
Fern Street, Windang, New South Wales 2528, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Spearwood, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't leave anything outside.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Fishing rod and esky stolen front front verandah at night. When I reported it to front office they said another person had also had one stolen the same night. Apparently it happens quite a bit. No mention of theft risk on check in.
Great close access to beach but Security locks the gates at 6pm, which we were not informed of at check in and had to walk the perimeter of the park to get back in from fishing at the beach. Sheets very stained, didn't notice until next morning :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review Deb. Sorry to hear that your personal property was stolen during your stay; however, we do recommend that guests secure any valuables as they would at their own homes.Theft does not happen 'quite a bit', but unfortunately it does happen. Management will be erecting signs within the Park, reminding guests to secure their personal property. The perimeter fence and gates are for our guests' safety, these are locked by the security guard, who commences at 7:30pm, after dark - now approximately 8pm. 'Stained sheets' are not acceptable, this will be reiterated to staff and measures will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Haven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Windang Tourist Park and yet again we were extremely happy. Staff were very helpful and rooms were clean and comfortable.
The only things I was disappointed with was there was no shade sail over the kids play area which made it very hot during the day as it is in full sun. Additionally, the lights in the BBQ area did not work dispite the fact it was mentioned to reception on the first night, they still were not working the next night.
However, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you Vanessa for your review. Your comment regarding 'shade sail' is being seriously considered by Management, particularly as there are plans to reposition the playground. We are sorry about the delay in repairing the BBQ area light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I love this place. It's a perfect spot and has heaps of close facilities; plus Windang is quiet and chilled.

The downside is definitely the average standard of housekeeping in the cabins. Each time I have stayed, I have found my accommodation grubby and in need of some serious TLC. For me, immaculate house-keeping can be the deciding factor in choosing accommodation - regardless of the star-rating or price.

Sure, the cabins are tidy and have nicely presented towels and soaps, plus comfy beds, but it's the little things that make a place spotless, rather than just barely clean.

I'd like to see the same standard of cleaning in the cabins as they have in the amenities block (closest to the office). You cold eat of those sinks! Apparently they are two different contractors, and you can clearly tell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review Kelly. Whilst Management has looked into your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the cabin retrospectively, this matter could have be mitigated if it was raised with reception at the time. There are a number of 2 bedroom family 5 berth cabins that are approximately 15 years old, and given your reference to 'rating' and 'price' we assume you stayed in one of these cabins, and we advise that these cabins are scheduled for removal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice location as between lake and ocean, so safe for kids and great for people who love fishing.
Common areas are fine and pretty tidy despite very basics as no facilities for washing your dishes -- you have to use the water provided around your site, which is not ideal and results in food left on the grass, and sites are not the most tidy either (cigarettes butts, bottle caps...)
People are friendly and it is a very kids friendly location with not much noise at night and most people are awake pretty early in the morning.
BBQ facilities but no other kitchen facilities such as fridges, toaster...quite basic provided that you might have your own equipment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do not have a camp kitchen on-site, only BBQ facilities; however, according to the Park's Strategic Plan, a camp kitchen is scheduled for installation in 2015. Once this is complete, we will advertise this facility across all mediums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canowindra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We just returned from camping for 2 weeks at the park, and it was absolutely lovely! This is the second time we have camped at the park, and they have now combined two camp sites into one which was a nice surprise! We camped with another family, so we had plenty of space for a shaded area as well as a kitchen. It is such a great spot with a short walk to the beach and lake. The amenities were kept very clean, with 3 scheduled cleaning times per day! The staff were lovely and very helpful, and we would not hesitate in referring this park or staying there again! Thanks very much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Dannielle for such a glowing review and rating. We are very happy to hear of your positive experience, and the little changes you have observed between stays that have increased your level of comfort. We look forward to your family's return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Cabins with ensuites are fantastic so comfortable and homey. Exc facilities. More children's facilities other than the park area would have been good but we WERE close to the lake etc. a days bad weather didn't help either otherwise I would stay again most definitely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your positive review, and with respect to children facilities, I advise that a jumping pillow and wet play area is scheduled for installation within the Park's Strategic Plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

e have just spent 5 nights and days at Windang Caravan Park on Lake Illawara. What a beautiful spot and our site was excellent. The amenities were very clean with lots of hot water. The office staff were charming and very helpful.
Unfortunately we experienced the worst ant infestation whilst there.
We also noted that a shower head was missing for the entire time in the ladies section.
They have cemented up the running water into the urinals in th men's section - not very hygienic.
No toilet brushes to clean the toilet bowls anywhere - not very hygienic.
I would have no hesitation i recommending this park for a wonderful holiday!
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, Employee at Windang Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review and rating.
Your 'ant experience' is unfortunte, but they can be found almost everywhere and are particularly attracted to still water and sweet foods. Ants do surface from the sand during wet weather and are especially hard to extricate from sandy environments. Soapy water (tsp liquid dish soap in a spray bottle with water) is a cheap and easy method to eliminate the ants sprayed and it will destroy their trail. Adding citrus peels adds to the potency of the spray.
The Management at the Park, couldn't find the missing shower head described, but do encourage reporting anything like this to the office during your stay. They also advise that the urinal is automatic and sensors now prompt flushing; furthermore, in peak times the amenities are cleaned 3 times per day, so items like toilet brushes are removed to prevent misuse or theft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windang Beach Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windang Beach Tourist Park

Address: Fern Street, Windang, New South Wales 2528, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Windang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Windang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the picturesque Lake Illawarra and the sparkling blue waters of Windang Beach, Windang Beach Tourist Park is superbly located to offer water enthusiasts access to the very best in fishing, prawning, boating, sailing, windsurfing and surfing, or simply soak in the golden sunrises or moonlight caressed waters. Approximately 90 minutes drive south of Sydney airport and only a short drive from both the Wollongong and Shellharbour CBDs, guests can enjoy the shopping facilities and dining experiences of both cities, as well as many of NSW's leading attractions such as, Jamberoo Action Park, Illawarra Fly Treetop Walk and the Nan Tien Temple. This Park offers comfortable and affordable accommodation options including, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cabins, many equipped with washing machine and dryer, air conditioning, spa, private BBQ and undercover verandas with lake views. For those choosing to bring their own caravan or tent, many caravan and camping sites are also ideally situated with lake views. Furthermore, the Park provides modern amenities, laundry facilities, children's playground, sheltered barbeque areas and a boat ramp. Accessible on-site accommodation and amenities are available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windang Beach Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.