We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for functions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor to your Saves list
De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Keramat, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kuala Selangor
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good for functions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel twice on official functions. The facilities are suitable for organisers to hold group meetings and social functions of moderate sizes. Its location outside the town renders it less strategic to most travellers besides little activities available within the surrounding area. The main attractions nearby are the Bukit Malawati, the Altingburg Lighthouse and the Kampung Kuantan Fireflies. For those who expect luxuries, they will be disappointed as the facilities are not of high standard. They are pretty basic although the rates are not cheap. It is only about 70 km away from Kuala Lumpur by road. For those who prefer isolated and quite environment, this hotel is an ideal one. Meals are basically Malaysian. Room services are not up to expectation. However, counter and restaurant staffs are friendly. Ample parking spaces are available for vehicles. Not a very suitable place for family holidays though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

De Palma has overpriced rooms and it's a bit way out of town! Not satisfy with the toilets. Nice place to be stay is you are there to chill or nothing to do. However, the facilities is too old and the old version of tv is not even functioning. We stayed here as somewhere not too far from KL on our first night. For those who like a bit of night life, this is not the place to be, but for a child friendly, pleasant environment it was great. The local area was pleasant, and I suspect there was more to see than we had time for. I would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

De Palma is a tired looking resort that has overpriced (published rates) rooms/chalets and it's a bit way out of town.

This would have been a good place to stay in its heyday but now it just looks rundown. We paid 200RM per night and we thought it was a high for a sleepy little town such as KS. We were in town to see the world famous Kampung Kuantan Fireflies so decided to book here for our night's stay. You get to have breakfast with the room but there's not much in it as well. It's a buffet with two western options, chips and sausage, 4 malay dishes, toast and tea, coffee and juice.

The room has that musty old smell but with functional amenities. Although to be fair, we love how soft their bed is. The walls are so thin that you can hear clearly what the other guests are doing in the other room. There's a small pool good enough for children.

They do have a nice and friendly staff, to add one more good point for them. You can book a cab through the front desk and book the Firefly trip through them as well.

If they can lower their prices to RM100/chalet i think it would be best otherwise people won't go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Selangor hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice view, very clean hotel. I'm Loving it
Love the food, very tasty.
Provide convenient surau with full time imam.
Friendly staff and very helpful..

TQ, De Palma Hotel for giving us a good experience.

Room Tip: You can play with monkey without paying it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went to Kuala Selangor on 11th March 2013 with my wife, with plan to visit the world famous Kampung Kuantan Fireflies. We never book any room for this visit, and just simply walk in. The hotel was located in the middle of small village and are quite far way from the town. The reason we chose the hotel was because we were looking for comfortable place to stay the night, and it was a choice between this hotel or a cheap shop lot hotels in middle of the town. All room was vacant because it was off peak season. We only planned to stay for 1 night, and was suggested for a deluxe room. After the check in procedure was done, we were given the key of the room. To my surprise, the "room" was not even a hotel room. It was a cabin. The inside was dirty, the air was stuffy and the air conditioning could not keep the cabin cool. We called the receptionist to complained about the air conditioning, they later sent their maintenance guy to fill up the gas in the A/C. And nothing worked, it is still hot and stuffy. We tried to check out and want a return of our money but was denied. The maintenance guy felt sorry for us and tried to upgrade us to a better room. And we were upgraded to some sort of villa, far lot comfortable then the cabin room but still nowhere near a standard hotel room. I was prepared to pay for the room, but the maintenance guy assure me that he has taken care of that. We thanked the maintenance guy for saving us from the horrible room. The next morning, after our not so horrible sleep, we went for breakfast. And there was no breakfast buffet. We were given 3 type of menu to choose from, fried mee, fried rice and western breakfast. We opted for the western breakfast. Come the western breakfast, which actually, 2 overcooked sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. The milk was hot, and from the taste of it, it was not even fresh milk. I don't even wanna know how they made the milk. We quickly finish our breakfast and check out from the hotel at 7.30 am. I have never in my whole life, check out from the hotel that early. But I just could not stand another second in the hotel. We left and vow never to come again.

Room Tip: Don't..just runaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is located roughly 3km from the town of Kuala Selangor. Not a good place to stay because the price is not reasonable. There's more budget hotel right in the middle of the town. I will recomend that instead of Palma.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was here for a camp. And this would be my best campsite I've ever experienced however, as for considering a Hotel, it's pretty bad. The place also has complete facility if your doing a Company Training or Camp as there are functions hall, swimming pool, BBQ area, sports for Volleyball and you may use the field for games. etc.

For couples who are opting for greens and wanted a quite place to chill out or enjoy honeymoon this may be your option but not for myself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor

Address: Jalan Tanjung Keramat, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Selangor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kuala Selangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor Hotel Selangor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.