We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYO entertainment and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor to your Saves list
De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Keramat, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kuala Selangor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“BYO entertainment and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Room is reasonably clean, with functioning equipments. Single bed is really narrow. They provide single-use shampoo and hand soap. No bath gel.

Buffet serve largely spicy Malay food. Coffee tastes like tea! Breakfast highlight: Beerenberg jam with toast. Lunch comes with Malay desserts, salad and my favourite: prawn crackers.

Its branded as a Muslim hotel so put on "decent" swim wear - forget about bikinis. The pool looks like fun for kids. However in the rainy season, the whole compound gets flooded. So bring your slippers and umbrellas.

I jogged to Melawati Hills from the hotel which is about 1.5km away. It has a lighthouse and a museum on top. I later learned that you can pay RM3 to take a train ride from the hotel to Melawai Hills and another place of interest. However, it only departures ONCE daily on weekends and public holidays.

Since we had meetings throughout our stay, and had dinner outside, the stay is acceptable. Conference room was fine except their strict policy to serve 1 bottle of water per day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We found the Dara Suite chalet very clean and reasonably well-appointed, though a very cosy size which some may consider too small. The front desk staff were very friendly, but I think they could have volunteered information about the fireflies boat ride when enquiries are made, like offering the map without being asked, time to be at jetty etc. We had an issue with the shower hose, which was resolved, but we did have to ask a couple times - it wasn't that they were unwilling to resolve it but I think the communication between shifts and follow-up with maintenance needs improving. But the area is quiet, there are monkeys in the trees and we spotted a brahminy kite flying low, russet feathers gleaming, and an ashy tailor bird in the shrubs, if you like that sort of thing.

They sell tickets to the Kampung Kuantan fireflies boat ride so you can buy them ahead to avoid any queue at the jetty ticket counter, though if there are no other guests going you need to buy the whole boat (4 seats, 10 ringgit each), which we did. You might want to do this anyway, to enhance the boat ride experience if you're going as a couple. They also offer transport to go to the jetty if you want it. It's also near the mangrove forest reserve ("Taman Alam"), where you can go for a nature walk and look for mangrove birds, water birds, and other mangrove creatures like the landwalking, tree-climbing mudskipper fish and brightly coloured fiddler crabs.

The restaurant at the hotel was pretty empty when we were there. The wait staff we found to be rather indifferent. The food is probably better in town anyway, which is not far. But it would be a good place for meals if you're looking for western fare that isn't fast food, though. You just have to make the effort to to locate the waiter, perhaps get the front desk to help (it's just next to the restaurant) but once you manage to order it's ok.

I think if you think about it as a hotel you might feel disappointed. But if you think about it as a homestay, or a village B&B style, then it is ok.

Room Tip: We took the Dara Suite chalet. The price difference with a normal junior suite chalet may not be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Booked in for 2 nights via the only way, the hotel's agent (journey malaysia). Arrived to find hotel a few kms out of town and the pool closed for renovation. The pool was the ony reason we chose this hotel, as we were three families travelling with children. We had confirmed with the agent that the hotel had a pool before we booked but were not told it was closed for 6 months. We accepted this as bad luck but advised we would only stay 1 night instead of 2 due to the pool being closed. At $AUD 80 per night per family we wanted our money back for the cancelled night. Nobody else appeared to be staying in the hotel. We spent 3 hours of negotiating to get our money back for the second night - the first 2 and half hours very politely and nicely (my brother speaks fluent Malaysian and is a very peaceful person). This wasn't working, although in typical Asian way we were not told yes or no, just given no answer in the hope we would go away. Finally, we resorted to verbal aggression and literally dragged the manager out of his office where he was hiding behind the corner the whole time to address the issue. We were then promptly given our money back. Apparently it is new management. Very poor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Selangor hotels

Kuantan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We booked this hotel by using the internet, it was advertised as a 3*+ hotel with quite a few amenities. When we arrived the swimming was closed for renovation and the hotel was holding a wedding party so we were unable to have dinner in the restaurant.

Our room was a wooden cabin which needed complete renovation. The furniture and fittings were very basic and the bedlinen was stained.

The following morning we were unable to eat breakfast which was inedible and cold.

We would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Our family booked this hotel because it has a swimming pool compared to the other hotels in kuala selangor. Hotel is located near the town and within few minutes of the tourist areas. Rooms are newly refurbished and clean. Hot water in the toilet as well as air conditioning in the room. The rooms are in chalets surrounding a nice garden/field where you can have picnics or just sitting on the bench and watch the monkeys climbing up and down the trees. Overall, the hotel has a nice cozy feeling and would not hesitate to stay there again for our next trip to Kuala Selangor for the fireflies.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Returning from 6 weeks in Europe we had 2 full days (1 night) stop over in Malaysia and didn't want to go all the way into KL for the night but just stay close to the airport. We arranged our booking over the phone at the airport after checking around on the internet. We were extremely disappointed when we arrive at th De Palma it was so rundown and neglected I would not reccommend to anybody, nothing like the internet photo's. After seeing our room we immediately went back to reception got our money back and move on with life

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We traveled to Kuala Selangor during a trip round Malaysia so that we could see the fireflies and also to go to nearby Taman Alam (both of which are well worth a visit). There's very little accommodation in this area and De Palma Inn seemed like a good option. We only had one night there, but suspect we were the only people staying - the place was pretty dead. On arrival we were shown to our chalet, which was fine, if a little cramped. We spent very little time in our room, and just returned there to sleep. Unfortunately this wasn't very easy due to a very loud air-conditioning unit, and not the most comfortable bed/pillow.
Breakfast in the morning was unusual - we didn't get any choice and it wasn't great - very odd frankfurters and scrambled egg with pretty monosyllabic service.
The hotel however redeemed itself when we went to leave and realised that our hire car had a puncture. The receptionist was then very helpful in contacting the car hire company for us, and then while she was doing that 2 of the waiters and a delivery man came and changed the tyre (we hadn't been able to do this due to the bolts being too tight). We left feeling very grateful for the help we'd been given, despite the night's stay not being the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor

Address: Jalan Tanjung Keramat, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Selangor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kuala Selangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor Hotel Selangor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.