We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True New Zealand hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Wensley Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“True New Zealand hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had read the reviews and we were looking forward to our stay here. We were not disappointed. Jill and Peter were wonderful hosts and made us truly welcome. The fruit cake in our room was just wanted we needed after our long drive, and was delicious. The bedroom was very luxurious with an extremely comfortable bed and had everything we could want.Fresh milk for morning tea in the room and water in the fridge was a nice touch. The breakfast was delicious especially the homemade marmalade and muesli. Pete was very helpful with suggestions of where we should visit and giving us directions on how to get there. He even booked restaurants for us where he had recommended we should eat. We only stayed two nights, we wished we could of stayed longer.
Thank you Jill and Peter for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its lovely to know our property and your stay with us met your expectations. Many Thanks Pete & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice accomodation , excellent hosts , very knowledgable about the area things to do and see.
The extra special personal touches like the fresh home made cake or cookies in room each night to enjoy with cup of tea or fresh coffee.
The home cooked meals all excellent.
Would recommend to anyone .

Room Tip: The Kaiteriteri room had great early morning sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we agree the Kaiteriteri room is lovely with its early morning sun. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind Regards Pete & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed two weeks ago with Pete and Jill for one night. From the UK, and travelling for a month around Australia and NZ - Kershaw was a most lovely place to stay. Probably the most comfortable bed and luxurious room in NZ!??
Pete and Jill were great hosts and even though pouring with rain ( great for farmers) I felt comfortable. And then given Pete's amazing award winning DVD about NZ, very kind.
After I left, visited the WOW museum. - a must.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Kershaw House, we are so pleased you enjoyed visiting WOW - it is certainly worth the time to go there. We hope you enjoy and share the DVD with family and friends. Kind Regards Jill & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We would like to thank Jill and Peter for making our stay at Nelson so so good. A little late in reviewing, we were in Kershaw in January of 2012, just after Nelson had been hit by flashfloods. Jill eased our fears whenevr we called by saying that things were on the mend and we would have atleast a few days of sunshine when we arrived. And right she was - our trip to the Tasman National Park was handled beautifully, and the weather was perfect.

Peter and Jill's restaurant recommendations were really good too. Loved the little treats we found in our room in the afternoons and the breakfasts were delish!

Thanks again for making our stay memorable. And many congratulations on the wedding!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for thinking to review us a now..... yes the floods last year certainly challenged the region we are very happy that everything dried out and our region was operational very quickly. Kind Regards Jill & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We are a family from the UK who recently stayed for two nights at Kershaw House in December 2012 on our trip to New Zealand, from which we have just returned, and we loved it! Beautiful house, lovely spacious rooms, furnished and equipped to an extremely high standard and large comfortable beds. The food was delicious, little baked cakes and cookies in our room each day, a fruit bowl and drinks to help ourselves from, and very welcoming, friendly hosts. It is true - the breakfasts are amazing - definitely the piece de resistance! This is B and B accommodation at its finest. A 'home from home' is how our two teenagers put it, and in fact they didn't want to leave, but we had an itinerary to adhere to. This is where we will stay when we return to Nelson. Many thanks Jill and Pete for such an excellent stay and wonderful cooking!

Room Tip: We stayed in three of the rooms and they were all of an extremely high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we do try to create a home away from home that also has a few special touches, we hope the remainder of your NZ holiday was wonderful. Warm Wishes Pete and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My sister & I stayed 3x nights recently and were very impressed with our stay at Kershaw House. From the initial welcome through to our departure, Jill & Pete shared warmth and hospitality with a sense of humour:) The rooms & facilities are in keeping with their charming ara and maintained to the highest standard. The breakfasts, different each day, were delicious. They gave us great ideas and recommendations on activities and restaurants around the area and their attention to details about the home was exceptional (eg fresh cookies, daily weather reports !) Suffice to say we had a wonderful time and will most definitely stay again -Thanks Jill & Pete

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Cathy - it was lovely having you and your sister stay with us - we really enjoyed the chats each morning and would welcome you back in the future. Have a great year. Pete & Jill :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Kershaw House is a great spot if you are going to be in the Nelson, Abel Tasman area for a couple of days. We stayed in the Abel Tasman room and it was very spacious and comfortable. The hosts, Jill and Pete are delightful. Jill is warm, gracious and a great cook. Pete is a truly fun loving guy and I only wish we could have split a few beers! Their dinner recommendations (Jellyfish and Three Rooms) were excellent with Three Rooms being an outstanding value and just minutes away. There is a great deal of history to the house but the bathrooms etc have all been updated. As you depart Pete, a video photographer, gives you a copy of his NZ travel video plus asks you to put a pin on a world map to identify your home city. Nice touch!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we love sharing our home and its history with our guests. We really appreciate you reviewing the restaurants in our area also, it helps us feel confident in our recommendations. Safe and happy travels. Warm wishes Jill & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation

Address: 10 Wensley Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.