We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxford Court” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Oxford Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oxford Court Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   73 Oxford Street, Richmond 7020, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Motel Prices!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Oxford Court”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We found the Motel excellent. A bit tired as far as décor goes but that did not bother us. The location fantastic, walk to Richmond shops ,
handy to everything, The hosts really accommodating and made us welcome. Will certainly stay there next time. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: We had the King Studio room which would book again.It was the closest to the road but the traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
8
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's an older place but clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This is not a fancy place but it doesn't try to be. No blankets on beds.....kinda weird. But we were comfortable and felt content. We would stay here again. Gotta warm your beds during winter months with electric mattress pads.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely hosts, delicious muffins on arrival, it was a unusual check out time of 9am but we didn't check out at 9 and nobody made a fuss, nice comfortable units very clean, great location to nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Check out is 9 am which is usual
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordCourtMotel, Manager at Oxford Court Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review, our checkout time is actually 10am but you may of had an old book in your room showing 9am :) So thats why no one bothered you when you didnt leave at 9 :) Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura - North Canterbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Oxford Court several weeks ago and found it to be very affordable & friendly. Nice muffins delivered to your door each day. Close to main highway but did not find it noisy. Lovely comfortable bed also. We would stay again next we are in Nelson.
Thank you Louis, Frank & Team.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom Unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff at this motel were WONDERFUL! They assisted me with every detail and became an extended family. They also thankfully welcomed my doggie and were extremely helpful and knowledgeable on all things NELSON. The room was tidy and the spa bath...LOVELY! I would highly recommend this motel to travelers. The hospitality and courtesy they extended was top-notch. Thank you Louis & Frank!!!

Room Tip: Loved the homemade daily muffins!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spotlessly clean and very comfortable with welcoming homemade muffins awaiting you when you arrive. A great wee 'home away from home' when visiting Nelson. Very handy to Richmond shopping facilities and the 'motorway' into and out of Nelson.

A bit a tight squeeze for four adults but fine for a family with two small children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the corner away from the main road and Oxford Stas these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Value for money hotel close to all amenities. Little dated but very affordable. Breakfast included in our deal but failed to deliver on second morning. Muffins provided daily was a nice touch! Close to main road but didn't bother us overnight. Very small toilet with awkwardly placed shelving made standing in the toilet to use it impossible- had to turn 90 degrees and stand in the bathroom. Apart from this it was perfect for our needs for the weekend and provided a very affordable place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Court Motel

Address: 73 Oxford Street, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford Court Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Oxford Court Motel we have everything you need to make your stay with us a pleasant and relaxing one. With Two Compact Studio Units, Two Larger Studios, Two Queen Two Room units, One King Unit with full disabled access, And Five King Two room units we cater for just yourself passing through or a family getaway right up to your sports team. All our units are fully self-catered so no need to spend up big on restaurants and takeaway. Just pop down to the local supermarket and cook up a feed the way you like it and if it's breakfast your after we offer continental breakfast delivered to your room eaither the night before or in the morning to get you going for the day. Our guest laundry is open 24rs in the middle of the complex so no matter what time you can get your washing caught up. During the summer feel free to take a dip in the pool or relax around enjoying the sun. Cook up a feed on the BBQ to end a long day.. It's all there for you while your with us. With Sky Guest Select in each room you have the freedom to choose what you watch while your in and Wireless Internet access is available through all area's of the motel through Zenbu you won't miss out on any of the comforts from home. Just a walk away from the Richmond mall, shopping is a breeze, and a quick five minute drive north and your in Nelson city makes the Oxford Court Motel your best destination to access the Tasman region. So look no further and book today for your Nelson Tasman Getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Oxford Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Court Motel Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.