We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Rooms

Three Rooms
294 Queen Street, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
(03) 544 0610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

What lovely food! This restaurant creates an intimate feel by having small individual rooms.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A wonderfully relaxed evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

At the recommendation of our B&B (Kershaw House) we dined here on our final night of a three week drive around NZ – we wanted something within walking distance. This was early December and, as another reviewer has remarked, the service was slow – not helped by the start of the Christmas party season. However, we were in no rush so it made for a wonderfully relaxed evening after weeks of dashing everywhere. Good value for money. Tania, the owner, was extremely apologetic about the delays and, like so many places in NZ made us very welcome – probably helped by her reminiscences of her time in the UK!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant for those special times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Wonderful place to go for a special night out. Lovely food, atmosphere, and service. Very nice place to go.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

nice food staff totally under trained knew nothing about the menu, think the chef could of done with some help too, we ordered gravadlax and got plain raw salmon! yes a bit disappointed. food a bit more like good pub food now than restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, good food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We went with a work group just before Christmas. An old house converted to a restaurant - it has atmosphere and is classy. The food is very reasonably priced and you get plenty of it - good variety too. The Shrimp cocktail is a favourite {heaps of shrimps}. Even though it was very busy, we didn't have to wait long for the food to arrive at our table. The staff were very attentive and nothing was a bother for them. Definitely my favourite restaurant in the Nelson area. If you can't get a park, there is plenty behind the restaurant in the public car park.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Rooms also viewed

Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Three Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.