We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longest wiat ever for a coffee!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Door Restaurant & Cafe

The Cellar Door Restaurant & Cafe
59 Appleby Highway | Nelson, Richmond 7011, New Zealand
03 544 4963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Tapas, Pacific Rim, Café, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our aim is to keep our food as fresh as possible, changing with the seasons and showcasing local flavours. We support local growers and producers, our region has some of the best seafood, vegetables, cheese makers and olive oils in the country. Our menus cater to everybody with gluten free, dairy free, vegan & healthy options available. All of our menus are expertly matched with Waimea Estates fantastic, award winning wine range for the ultimate taste sensations!
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Longest wiat ever for a coffee!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

An appealing location and venue, this is a location I have driven past numerous times. On a sunny Sunday afternoon my wife and I decided to drop in. We ordered coffee and took a look over the restaurant menu. We only planned on getting a coffee, no meals or snacks. We waited 20 minutes to receive our coffee's, why?

This is a lovely setting, idea for a work function, wedding etc, but not as a cafe. This is what they advertise themselves as on the huge sign at the gate and on a van sign-written and parked across the road.

Please set your self up as a restaurant or cafe, not both!!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coffee stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Living in Richmond (five minutes away from restaurant), I had wanted to go in for a meal for some time. Stopped in after a day at the beach, to suss out the menu and have a coffee. 2 or 3 other tables in, with another coming after us. The latter table had their alcohol served almost immediately. We waited over 20 minutes (after ordering) to get two coffees. Got to say lovely place, ambient and peaceful. One opportunity to win new customers. 20 minutes for a coffee says, "unimportant people". Hey, if you have friends and not in a hurry, then this is the place to go. Lots of spare time to talk maybe. Any response to win us back Cellar Door?

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited recently on a wine tasting morning for my birthday and while we did not eat here we found the wine tasting to be excellent. The staff were all very helpful, in particular one younger man who spent a lot of time with us explaining the wine and letting us try more than what was originally offered. He was extremely knowledgeable and made the experience very memorable for us, I was even given a small birthday present on leaving which was unexpected and a lovely touch. We Bought plenty of excellent wine and left feeling like they had really gone above and beyond for us. Will definitely be back to try the food soon (and get more wine!)

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch with the folks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We last came 7 years ago, and had been told the management had changed recently. The lunch menu was exactly that, slightly lighter meals with a twist. Dont expect a roast dinner. You can add a small bowl of (very nice) fries with
most for $3. The venison burger was lovely, kids portions were good. Remember to look at the cake cabinet as well as the desert menu. The outside/conservatory is now a proper building with glass windows rather than the lean to with roll down plastic sheeting that used to be there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but very cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have visited before so booked in advance...not that busy but it was a very cold winter's day. The heating was totally inadequate...the open fire had very little effect unfortunately and most people were eating with their coats on. The staff did acknowledge this and apologised but we only stayed for one course which took over an hour and a quarter...service was slow but the wine and food was great. Last time we visited in the summer and it was fabulous.....just need to sort out the heating!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCellarD00r, Owner at The Cellar Door Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Dafyddhd
Thanks for your feedback we appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your experience.
Yes it was a very cold winters day!
We were trying our best to keep the cafe warm but unfortunately one of our main heaters had problems and we were struggling to keep the heat from the open fire in.
You will be pleased to know that we have purchased new heating to make the place cosy & have put a plan on action to further improve our environment so everyone feels comfortable.
We are please to hear that you enjoyed our food & wine and it's great to know that you are a repeat customer.
You can be sure it will be warmer for you next time you are in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Door Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Cellar Door Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Door Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.