We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

The George Hotel
Station Road, Cullingworth, Bradford, England
+44 1535 275566
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A lovely old characterful village pub set in the heart of Cullingworths conservation area. Surrounded by fields and moorland. Two wood burning stoves, 7 real ales brewed two mins away by the owner. A large selection of lagers and other beers both draught and bottled. A fully comprehensive wine menu. Fantastic home cooked food created by our team of chefs with locally sourced fresh ingredients and to top it off good old fashioned polite service with a welcoming smile. Now with a newly completed extension used as a dinning room, a brand new kitchen as well all sympathetically built in keeping with the local conservation area.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Splendid spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely lunch, great food served here!
Very reasonable prices, and the beer - all their own micro brewery - is superb.
My husband always has the Steak sandwich, it's a 6oz rib eye for £5.95. I vary my selection, but we always share the chips - so good!
Staff are young and very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely local pub with fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I visited the George on a Friday evening with friends & didn't regret it. The pub was packed, but meals were taken in a quieter separate room. The food was delicious, freshly prepared & the menu definitely favoured fish. 3 mains, 3 desserts, a bottle of wine & 2 diet cokes for the driver for £55. Marvellous. Service is slow but we'd been warned so didn't mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went for a meal with friends on a sunny Friday night the food was delicious, well prepared and presented. With the meal we had a bottle of Pinot Grigio and the bill came to less than £60 for the three of us. There was a lovely atmosphere in the pub, full of local residents which is always a good sign. Overall this was a very good evening and we will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brother's Birthday Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We decided on The George because it's a bit more pricey and generally has excellent food - perfect for the occasion of a 17 year-old's Birthday! We booked a table of 6 in a 6pm. When we arrived, the table was ready and we were immediately served drinks (great selection of local Old Spot beers). It was very busy for a Sunday, and we had to wait about 40 minutes for our food, it was definitely worth the wait! Monkfish special was delicious, rib-eye steaks were juicy and tender (if a little overdone), the fish and chips were huge (!) and The George burger definitely didn't disappoint. We had to wait for quite a while for plates to be cleared, and to get a dessert menu - by the time we were given it, we didn't want a dessert. Total bill came to just over £90. A lot for a meal for 6, especially when we only had 6 mains, 4 pints (beer) and 5 pints (squash, water, coke). Would recommend, but would expect better service if I went again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Steak night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just had the steak night meal .excellent.... the service was especially good the young man behind the bar deserves a mention he was very good .also the little waitress (megan)
Best of all the food best I have had for a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Hotel also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.