We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money well spent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Griffin Inn to your Saves list
The Griffin Inn
Fletching, Fletching TN22 3SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fletching B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Money well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A pub we have visited for years for the occasional meal out never lets us down, on this occasion we decided to stay overnight. Food was exceptional as all ways, the service and atmosphere was warm, the room was lovely and comfortable and we are planning out next stay already. thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    55
    19
    16
    20
See reviews for
28
97
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely rooms in either of the two houses, some unusual features and superior toiletries. Old world charm and a cosy bar. Food consistently good, if a bit pricey. Lovely location - go and visit the church down the road after breakfast.

Room Tip: If you're over six feet tall - mind your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Small Country Inn in the Sussex Countryside.. welcoming ambience, real log fires and the great smell of woodsmoke. Good food served in both the restaurant and the bar....especially great desserts! Comfy and quiet rooms with good facilities. A great place to stay for exploring the Sussex Countryside...close to Wakehurst Place and Nymans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Chose the Griffin as recommended by a friend for my birthday sunday lunch with my family. We decided to book and chose the £30pp sunday lunch menu. The starter wasn't fantastic, however the members of my party said their prawns were superb. I took the roast beef for main, and no lie, was cooked to utter perfection, good amount of trimmings, and I'm a big eater. Wine list is immense, I would coin myself as somewhat of a wine admirer, we shared several bottles starting from £30 per bottle to £45, and all I would highly recommend. We were the last people left in the restaurant, and at no point were we made to feel like the staff wanted to usher us out, having worked in restaurants and pubs for many years, I know what it's like at 4pm on a Sunday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I unable to recommend this pub to anyone who has a problem with gluten. I am a coeliac and despite asking which meals were gluten free I was served a very delicious , expensive soup which was obviously contaminated and ended up quite ill for a few days following. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Chose this place for lunch based on Trip Advisor. The food was different from your normal pub grub certainly, I had venison on nut crumble with green beans - and that was tasty. Other than that - pricey and slow service. But enjoyable food

Room Tip: Just used restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Live in Brighton and often make a trip here for some great food. You can dine in the pub, restaurant or in good summer weather enjoy the amazing views over the Downs ( although the BBQ is a bit pricey and not the best value).
All in all a really great pub all local pubs should take some tips from!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Address: Fletching, Fletching TN22 3SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Fletching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fletching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Griffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel Fletching
The Griffin Inn Fletching, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.