We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burton Agnes Hall

Burton Agnes Hall
Burton Agnes, Burton Agnes, Driffield YO25 4NB, England
01262 490324
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks
Attraction details
ayrshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tranquil and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited Burton Agnes Hall on a July Saturday morning and early afternoon having arrived in the area hours before we were due access to our holiday accommodation.
For such a fabulously warm and sunny day we were surprised at how quiet this wonderful stately home and it's beautiful gardens were. But that was to our advantage as we enjoyed a pleasant, tranquil visit!
We decided not to tour the house (I regret that now) but wandered the gardens and explored the woodland walk ( cool and shady). The walled garden was a delight - a kaleidoscope of colour and fantastic scents. We found a seat in shade to sit and enjoy.
There is a courtyard cafe, gift shops and a farm/garden shop. Plus delicious ice cream from an old-fashioned ice-cream van.
Would visit again and next time have a nosy around inside!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“lovely gardens, great at easter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

the easter egg hunt is lovely for young children. There is a good farmshop and the cafe is pleasant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic House plus cafe nice gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Really interesting house, paintings and modern art in long gallery,, pretty gardens, and pleasant courtyard cafe for snacks at lunch etc

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is very special & you're very likely to bump into some of the family who own & live in this lovely Elizabethan Ho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This isn't a huge building but it has many interesting rooms & quirky corridors so you need a good few hours to look round. The owners & children live there so it has a nice lived in feeling. At Christmas the decorations are really worth seeing. Look out for music & art events, the setup in the grounds is excellent, not huge and over the top, just right for a good music venue.
We took our dog on a great woodland walk which has unusual carvings of woodland animals hidden here and there plus some haunting wind chimes

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Three for the price of one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great favourite of mine.
You can read all the brochure stuff yourself, however, I can add that the carvings in the hall are superb and the art exhibition on the top floor is also worth a visit.
Don't miss the manor house, ignore the brick exterior and admire the Norman interior, also the garens are well worth a looksee.
Do look out for the special events, jazz festivals etc, great venue.
Kids will love the the giant snakes and ladders in the garden.
Much else, go see...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton Agnes Hall also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Sproatley, Kingston-upon-Hull
Castle Howard, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Burton Agnes Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burton Agnes Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.