We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“David”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The red level is a must for a great relaxing week the other part of the hotel was not so good and many people there were complaining

Major disappointment was the standards of the restaurants apart from the French one in the red level side considering the prices they charged it was very poor luckily we booked bed and breakfast so started to eat out in the village where there was some lovely small places to eat. Steer clear of the Japanese tapernaki food very poor and covered in a shower of salt a complete rip off

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr. David W,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this review of Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor, as well as for choosing us for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

Thank you very much for your criticism and constructive comments. All your comments have been reported to each area supervisor and they will be taken into account in the future to better ourselves. We will continue working to improve our services, as our top priority is to provide the best experience to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,071
    848
    403
    150
    101
See reviews for
1,186
1,810
23
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The management on the front desk was disgusting... I'd checked out after paying my £8,000.00 bill. Only to have my flight canceled at the airport. I then returned to the resort with my two children, partner and nanny. I was then charged full rates only to have the suite from 12.30am until 10am ( hotel was half empty) This is not the way to do business and as such I will never return to this hotel. We where treated very badly at this resort, I can't say I'd ever recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Mr. James_156428337,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share with us your impressions regarding your recent stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

After checking our reception reports to analyze your case, we would like to remind you that as our reception staff informed you during your check in on June 2nd at 23:35, all the rates at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora are charged by night. Therefore, the full rate of the Mastersuite you chose was charged, as you decided to spend the night with us.

We hope that you had a pleasant flight back home and we remain at your complete disposal for any further information regarding our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the recent half term and were extremely impressed. The rooms are huge and although we hadn't requested a sea view we had a wonderful outlook onto the mountains, sea and a banana plantation from our 4th floor balcony (4025) The only down side to the room was the poor quality of the sofa bed which our 11 year old grandson slept on so the hotel really do need to address this as I have read other reviews that mention this issue.

The food was all very good, we ate at all the restaurants included in the sensatori package including the sought after Italian on 2 occasions. We did have to make some effort get up early to book this but managed even in a busy week so we really can't understand al the moans from other reviewers regarding the booking system. We also didn't have any problems getting our drinks topped up at meal times.

The hotel grounds and seating areas are stunning with its out of this world infinity pool. Again although it was a busy week we had no problems getting sunbeds. The promenade area in front of the hotel is also very pleasant for a stroll.

For us the entertainment could probably be improved on and there was little to do for young teens but apart from that this is a wonderful hotel and would definitely recommend it to couples and families for a relaxing week in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 4025 has great views of the sea and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. julia15w,

We would like to begin by thanking you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday and for the time you have spent in sharing your comments with us.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and that our facilities and rooms were of your liking, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding our sofa-beds. We are glad to know that you liked the food served in our restaurants as well, as we create our gastronomic offer for our guests to enjoy the best dishes in unique environments.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I visited here with my adult son in February, and after reading some more recent reviews, I'm pleased we did not visit in 'peak season'. The main restaurant was only just coping with service at half capacity, and the system for pre booking, (or trying to book) at the most popular restaurant was ridiculous! My son managed only once at 6.30 am to reserve a table!
We booked last minute on a full board basis, house wine/ beer was included with lunch & dinner.
On arrival you soon realised that there is most definitely a 'pecking order' at the hotel!
There are the obvious all inclusive packages, but then there is the 'red level' and most of the guests seem to be staying at the Gran Melia Hotel, not the Sensatori, and at times you are made to feel like the 'poor relation'!
The hotel was clean, rooms modern & spacious with a large well equipped bathroom with a good hair dryer, nice robes, slippers etc. be warned though... If you like well lit rooms, you will hate the 'mood lighting'!
There are a number of pools, with the stunning infinity pool being the most popular, although very cold!
Most staff were very friendly, although some of the staff in the main, buffet style restaurant were not overly helpful.
The food was of a good standard, especially the 'impossible to book' Italian style restaurant!
The nightly fountain/music display was very 'Las Vegas'!
There is not too much to do outside the hotel, a walk along the rocky front to a nearby town is about it, but Las Americas is only a 15 min taxi ride...
All things considered, we had an enjoyable week, I would return for another out of season break, but would book the red level service next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Annaannabarnes,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our rooms and facilities, although we would like to inform you that our Infinity Pool’s temperature is due to its salt water from the ocean, which cannot be heated. We appreciate each of your comments as a valuable tool for us to carry on with our efforts to always offer the best service.

Referring to the restaurant booking system, we would like to inform you that we do have enough seats for all of our guests in our restaurants, even though sometimes it may be difficult to book a table for an specific restaurant at an exact time of your liking. That is why our team recommends to book in advance, in order to try to get the reservation you want.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have visited five times in the past 3 years and the hotel, service and staff have always been consistently excellent. In a quiet area of Tenerife and although there is no beach to speak of the huge infinity pool filled with sea water makes up for it, plus a family pool and adults only pool.
A great choice of restaurants, especially the Duo with its new Tapas+Wine bar. However, it is the staff who make you feel so welcome and are always so pleased to see returning clients. We will be back in this hotel in October, when the weather is still fantastic.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have Bali beds. a great way to relax in your own outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. PlymouthDevonLady,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your valuable comments with us through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our team, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. It is a pleasure to know that our Dúo Tapas & Wine Bar exceeded your expectations, as well as the rest of our gastronomic offer.

Besides this, we would like to inform you that we do have a beach located just at 3 minutes on foot, as well as some natural pools filled with water from the Atlantic Ocean. La Jaquita beach has volcanic black sand and Beach Concierge service with umbrellas and hammocks.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next October.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great hotel; i won't go into details here, but was booked with only a couple of weeks notice, on the understanding it was a hotel we could get some adult time with the kids in creche & play care.

Tried to book childcare online in advance, didn't work. Rang up Thomson to book over the phone, they couldn't make it work. Rang again and spoke with someone else, who said that it wasn't working because the time period we were travelling was over the boundary of the time frame childcare was available (we went end of october). They suggested i ring the hotel and speak with them there to book. Rang the hotel. spoke with the thomson rep who said that they couldn't help, but would speak with the childcare section to make the booking. Rang back and they said that they couldn't speak with the person they wanted, but that it would be ok to book when i arrived. I asked to be notified if there was any problem with me doing that, as the only reason for going to that resort was to get adult time. no one called back, so i assumed all was ok.

Arrived (at night), went straight there first thing in the morning, and they tell us that actually everything is completely booked and we can't get any childcare. On grilling, they suggest that if i come back daily, there may be a cancellation we can take. There is one. We arrive on the day for the ONE session of childcare that we have booked, and find that one of the workers is ill and they don't have any backup staff, and therefore the childcare is off anyway. So Zero adult time on the holiday.

Wrote to thomson to tell them my experience and suggest they need to review their procedures and they completely ignored my story and just sent what seemed mostly a form letter back that was completely irrelevant. Would need some serious incentive to ever travel with Thomson again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Karen N,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your impressions with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our resort, although you may rest assured that we will forward your comments to the Thomson team, in order for them to take into consideration your opinion regarding their Sensatori nursery services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Almost completely faultless except for the Japanese restaurant, honestly not worth the surcharge.
Besides that superb, be sure to book your hire car before leaving the uk as its around 40% cheaper.We had a standard room which didn't have a view or any sun but who cares about that when that's what we expected and the room was lovely modern and clean. To my surprise some of the entertainment was also good, the in house guitarist and Frank Sinatra tribute were excellent, we stayed in December when the hotel was around half full. send me a message for advice, will be happy to help

Room Tip: Book a hire car with Avis before you leave, Avis are located in the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr. saggy1911,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions on TripAdvisor, as we think that only through listening carefully to our guests’s opinion, we will be able to always offer experiences with de highest service standards.

It is truly a pleasure for all of our team to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. Your compliments on our rooms and entertainment program are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding our Nami restaurant.

We hope to see you soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged Oceanfront location, offering spectacular views of the island La Gomera and Mount Teide, the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife. This stunning Design hotel is situated in the fishing village Alcala, a beautiful unspoiled area at five minutes driving distance from the amazing Los Gigantes cliffs. It offers an attractive and inspiring proposal to experience new sensations and to live magic moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Melia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.