We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minor gripe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tenerife
1 review
“minor gripe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is fabulous, however, a couple of things let it down, apart from the show cooking, the food in the buffet restaurant wasnt hot, it wasnt even warm, even under the heat lamps, and by the time you have found everything you want and got back to your table its stone cold. Also hot water for tea, how can they manage to provide hot, near scolding coffee, but the hot water for tea is tepid! I know I'm being picky, but its not too much to ask is it? Waiter service in the Nemo bar was a bit hit and miss, not enough staff on at busy times. Apart from that the place is really lovely and the rooms are fabulous too, we went the second week in March and the weather started of a bit overcast and cloudy but by day three it had cleared and the rest of the week was beautiful. The adult area is so peaceful all you can hear is whispered conversation and the water bubbling in the jacuzzi, although when we were there the water was freezing, but it did cool you down, lunches in the Market Grill were really good and the setting is like a tropical paradise. Drink and food are not cheap so I'd suggest the All inclusive package, then while by the pool, press the button on the orange stand dotted about the place and wait for the waiter to apear and order a drink and relax on your lounger...bliss.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mrs. Susan G,

At first, thank you for taking the time to send us your last experience in our hotel Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We promise to take note of all your constructive comments, as they help us to improve and modify to achieve the best guest satisfaction and quality service that we want.

Looking forward to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    848
    403
    151
    101
See reviews for
1,187
1,811
23
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent, england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

As the previous reviewer stated ' Dont listen to the bad reviews'. Had an excellent week here with the missus. The weather was perfect which is always a bonus.
The first impressions of the hotel are very impressive. The public areas are of luxurious standard. You can tell that no corners had been cut at all in the quality of furnishings.
The room was amazing. We had the Sea View option (non red level) and it was superb. Firstly the size of the room was huuuge!! The bed was huge! Lovely big bath, enough room for two, walk in shower. Beautiful mood lighting throughout the room.

All the restaurants were great and we only 'upgraded' from the menu once when I wanted some giant Gambas! 20 euro - charged to us at 10 euro..no big deal.

Staff were all lovely and when it came to drinks they did not hold back.

I heard a few people moaning so I decided to inquire as to why ; this turned out to be -'there's nothing to do outside of the resort'. That is a fair comment but hardly the fault of the hotel!! A case of being mis-sold be their agent or mis-judgement on their behalf in selecting the hotel.

All in all a great holiday in luxury surroundings. People will always say they have been to better, bigger etc etc blah blah blah....I call these people 'two shi*s' - if you have had one - chances are ..they've had two!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. evrenium,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was somewhat reluctant to book this holiday with Thompson on the basis of inconsistent reviews on tripadvisor. What a mistake that would have been. From the moment we arrived at Bristol airport the Thompson staff were excellent to say the least. The cabin staff on the aircraft were friendly and efficient . The Hotel was fantastic in every aspect, the room, we had a deluxe garden room excellent large room. The hotel staff from the reception, poolside, restaurant , were extremely friendly and the Sensatori staff based at the hotel without exception were brilliant in every way. Any regrets, yes I should have ignored the negative feedback and booked two weeks. I am already planning another visit later this year.
Well done Thompson, Well done Sensatori

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael G,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We are in the middle of a two week stay at this hotel and I have to say the place is completely spectacular. The architecture is amazing, food exquisite - better go on a crash diet now if you have booked to come here as it is a true foodie lovers paradise. Staff are all absolutely charming, both hotel staff and the Thompson team.

I was worried before our arrival, having read several reviews here warning not to book a garden room. Too late, as I already had and for a special birthday celebration for my husband. Luckily another Tripadvisor reviewer mentioned that she had emailed the hotel directly asking for a nice room and hadn't been disappointed, so I took her advice, mentioning the birthday boy.

The result is that I'm writing from one of the most beautiful and big hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, bali bed in out garden a few steps from the very tranquil adults only pool

My husband has had chocolates delivered to the room (twice) champagne offered in the Italian restaurant along with a little candle lit cake and song, more cake and a happy birthday rendition from the Cuban band in the Oasis restaurant. All of this spontaneously instigated by individual waiters, who really seem to take a delight in making sure that everything is just, well, perfect.

We have been fortunate in that we have eaten many times at all of the restaurants included in the full board+ deal that we are on. Unless you are a serious alcoholic I can't imagine needing to choose all inclusive. Waiters are constantly topping up glasses at every meal, even when we (weakly) shout "enough!". Mohammed in the Oasis Pool restaurant deserves a special mention for his endlessley cheerful service.

Could anything be better? Well, for us I doubt it, we are currently living in a "your wish is our command" type of bubble, but other guests are voicing concern because of their total inability in some cases, to access the Ocean Club Italian restaurant at any time during their holiday.

It's a real shame, as the food is really wonderful in there, as it is in the other eating spots. It is quite a small though stunning venue, but it would be nice if the hotel could ensure that every guest has an opportunity to eat there at least once for each week they stay. It seems to be the most regular topic causing upset amongst guests.

What other useful info can I give? Hmmm, well if you are knackered ( as we were) when you arrive, it might take a couple od days to get familiar with the fab lighting system and gadgets in your room
and what is and is not allowed in your particular meal/drink options in each eating venue. The guided tour you will be offered on day 2 helps. Internet connection is free and excellent - I'm writing this from the sofa on our patio with no probs. Now, if you will excuse me, l'm off for a lounge on our bali bed before delectable din dins in Club Ocean.
If you are heading this way, I can only say you are in for a special treat!

Room Tip: You could try emailing the hotel direct in advance as I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mr. MJWLondon,

In the first place we appreciate your positive comments in relation your experience at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora. We also thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments.

We are very glad that you are having an enjoyable stay with us, we always try to exceed your expectations and we try to make your stay as perfect as possible.

We wished to contact with you in our Guest Service department before your check out, in order to be able to thank you personally. We hope to see you soon again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is my second visit to Red Level at Gran Melia, whilst the standards have not dropped, it does appear that corners are being cut to improve profit margins, despite a significant increase over last year! The Happy Hour was a welcome break from other expenses, having paid well over £3k to stay here for nine days, but the snacks and choice of spirits and drinks is significantly meaner than last year, giving the general impression at Happy Hour of a free scramble in SuperMarket Sweep!
Come on Gran Melia, get back to where you were, and stop being mean to your guests who pay quite enough for the experience!

Room Tip: All great rooms, and spotless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Tonytom1999,

We would like to thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor your kind feedback about your second stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

We are very glad to know that you came back again to our exclusive Red Level area. In the same way, thank you for your constructive comments about the Happy Hour, we promise to take note, given the fact that our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests.

We are waiting for your third visit at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went with Thompson and all looked well. My mother had been before with a couple of my siblings. The Hotel is amazing and the staff so polite and friendly. Our request for a room on the ground floor was listened too. The room was really lovely inside. Two double beds, a couch and large wardrobes. The Bathroom had a large bath, separate toilet and shower room. The main pool is an infinity pool and is the largest in Europe, however was so salty that it was almost impossible to swim in. I ended up swimming in the adults only pool. This had a nice seated area in the middle of the pool where spa jets pop up every so often. The restaurants are amazing and food choice is endless. We opted for Full Board Plus which included drinks at all meal times. I booked myself on the hotel back stage walk and this really was great. The manager showed us all around the inner workings of the hotel and how all the water used was taken from the sea. Then recycled and used on plants around the hotel. Food if not eaten by guests or staff then goes to local villages that are worst off to help the locals. Which is fantastic, none of this rubbish that we have in England about throwing it away after 2 hours of being displayed, more landfill. Evening entertainment was excellent with an onsite cast of singers and also special acts flown in for one night specials. My favorite night was the Broadway night. There is lots of sporting activities that you can book but be fast as they go pretty quickly. Archery was good fun.

Our only downside to the holiday was the excursions booked with the onsite Thompson desk. The Submarine excursion was not even booked with the third party and so had to be refunded. The Shopping trip to Santa Cruz, the guide left us half way to town and the bus driver dropped us at the wrong shopping center. We complained and half money was returned. The last and final trip was to the Northern Delights. The guide was not friendly at all. Her friend came on board halfway round the hotel collections, they then talked together most the way round. Guiding us though the villages felt rushed with no real chance to ask questions. We stopped for tapas and wine tasting. This was a complete waste of time. Tapas was cheese slices and ham slices on bread. Wine tasting was okay but a major push to sell the stuff, which we were not interested in. When we asked questions the guide was not interested in answering them at all and wanted us to buy but buy. Then we went to a basilica which really was breath taking and the only really good part of the whole tour. The Orchid Garden was a waste of time as very few orchids to see. No money refunded.

All in all i would stay at this hotel again as the staff, hotel and food was amazing. Avoid the excursions at all costs unless they have improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurants unless you like noise as you can hear preparations for all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. RChiew,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just been back for the fourth time – two weeks – and we will no doubt return again.

Why ? Despite the fact that we are still travelling all over the world, we are now in our late sixties and although fairly active, a sunshine winter break in the Canaries with a four hour flight is really attractive. Having stayed at other hotels in various of the Canary islands, the Melia Gran Palacio with Thomson has proved by far the best for us.

We don’t want to be in a highly developed noisy holiday area like Playa Las Americas, and have enjoyed the more laid back places like Los Gigantes and Puerto Santiago. The Melia Gran Palacio is the only hotel in the Alcala area, and cannot fail to impress.

Despite various niggles in the reviews, in most aspects it is as good as you will get anywhere in the Canaries. Our experience is that the staff are almost always most pleasant and helpful.

All the things you could need are there – various swimming pools, spa ,spacious sunbathing and lounging areas inside and out, different restaurants, bars, night time shows and British TV in the rooms !

There are so many activities, sports and experiences available that you can never be bored, and most of these are free. The Sports Centre staff are incredibly enthusiastic and if you like ball games the Padel Tennis (Spanish Version) is great exercise and easy to play..

Outside of the hotel there is a new and nicely landscaped beach area just recently constructed with natural rock swimming pools and three black sand beaches for the more adventurous swimmers. This leads to a coastal path , past some surfing areas and eventually to Playa Arena - about an hours walk.

Its about a ten minute stroll along the seafront into Alcala town where there are shops, and a small harbour – pleasantly not touristy. You may even see the turtles which often come for a feed at mid-day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. rfadventurers,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged Oceanfront location, offering spectacular views of the island La Gomera and Mount Teide, the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife. This stunning Design hotel is situated in the fishing village Alcala, a beautiful unspoiled area at five minutes driving distance from the amazing Los Gigantes cliffs. It offers an attractive and inspiring proposal to experience new sensations and to live magic moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Melia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.