We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
GreenLeadersGold level
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Class hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just home from what was a beautiful week at this hotel.There was some thing for every one,We were never bored.My two kids really enjoyed the fantastic pirate pool and brilliantly run kids club.,great staff here by the way.Great Tennis/sports area also.Really liked the chill out area and Dj every eve.nice idea..only negative comment i can say is the deluxe room we had was a bit small for 2 adults and 2 kids.oh and the fountain show every eve was nice touch also.Well done.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr PadraigMoore111,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Palacio.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our facilities. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. We will take note of each of your comments.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    762
    362
    135
    92
See reviews for
1,075
1,560
21
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

just got back from this hotel after one week its one of the cleanest friendliest places i have ever been food cleanliness first class food first class entertainment first class most helpfull staff you will ever meet if you can have a barlibed round the pool we had no18 treated like royalty press the button on the bed and along comes your realy friendly waiter order what you like also you get a bottle of champagne and fruit and all the sun cream comes with the bed wine the lot pool is massive no fighting for sun loungers they are everywhere if you dont enjoy this place you wont enjoy anywhere on earth lol staff 100% friendly we read on trip advisor a week before we went about a bug well no sign of of it and nobody heard about it . in your room there is a green ticket that you put on your door if you dont want your room cleaned and if you choose this you get 20 euros in the form of credit to use on some of the things there like spa etc there is a short tunnel that you can walk through to get onto the beach which is also cleaned by hotel staff cant praise this hotel enough pure luxury .oh one more thing you will see the stunning coi carp they are beautifull hundreds of them .

Room Tip: our rooms 4012 beautifull sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. John H,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a short and sweet review to express how much me and my family love this hotel. I would not even be able to say one bad word about it! We have been twice, and have booked our third holiday there for a few months time. We love it. Everything is amazing, especially the food!!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Georgiou,

Thank you for your positive and kind comments about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.
It will be a pleasure to see you again in a future.

With our best wishes.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We returned for our third visit to the above hotel and on arrival had to wait for our room ok - the following day on returning for shower and to relax we found room had not been cleaned ok another slip up we contacted reception and waited for the room to be cleaned and arranged with housekeeping that our room would be cleaned every day between 12- 1. The following day the room was cleaned as you would expect from 5star hotel - the following day we returned late to get ready only to find yet again room was not cleaned this was 5days into our holiday and we still had to go to reception or ring and contact Thomsons this time we complained to hotel manager and Thomsons as room cleaning is a basic hotel procedure.

The restaurants were fabulous much improved and the staff as usual are excellent as is the food the Pangea could have more choice of meats but there was always something to eat. The pool attendant was exceptionally helpful and went out of his way to help although he did seem at times embarrassed at having to put in place some of the silly rules and regulations around the pool area especially regarding the Bali beds which were never used and took up too much room.

Apparently the hotel is under new management and some of the old staff were missing we found that unfortunately of all the hotels we have visited this is the most impersonal there was no acknowledgement of returning clients not even bottle of water unlike Crete - this is not a Sensatori and as the taxi driver pointed out it is Gran Melia!!!!! Red level was advertised everywhere and became a nuisance the hotel is luxurious but lacks the personal touch, Crete and Turkey are Sensatori but this should just be advertised as Gran Melia.


The entertainment improved as our 2 weeks went on as it was a new team but one member was obviously classically trained and did not fit in with normal singing routines but he seemed to do most singing. There is a definite preference for Spanish guest compared to English and can sometimes be annoying.

Nemos bar is good but totally inadequate to cater for the number of guests in the hotel.

Don't know if we will return to this hotel sadly it is getting a little to rigid with its rules and regulations and continual flaunting of Red Level.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Midgemere

Thank you for sharing all your constructive and criticism comments about Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, as they help us to improve ourselves.

We will report each of your comments with all our supervisor area. We really appreciate your kind information and details about your last experience.

We hope to see you again at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFOLK ENGLAND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This Hotel is really beautiful with fountains which dance to music in the evenings, beautiful lighting in all public areas and an enormous blue Lagoon which wraps itself around the back of the grounds; it really is as beautiful as the pictures show.

The food is very good and tries hard to have a few different dishes on offer in the Buffet each night, there is always freshly cooked fish and beautiful fruit and salads so there is no need to eat unhealthily despite the volume of food on offer! The wine which is included in the cost was plentiful and very good, especially the red but I believe the wine they serve is not always the same so the quality may vary.

The hotel is situated right on a beach which reminds me of the Tenerife I visited 25 years ago, before they imported all the white sand and made it exactly the same as any other beach resort anywhere in the world! Yes the sand is black and grainy but it has rock pools and character and the development of the promenade seems to be embracing this instead of denying it.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are very good but my one gripe is the HUGELY complicated lighting system they have used. I understand that they have made a huge effort to give the room zoned lighting but it really can take minutes at a time just to find the right combination of switches to get the one light you actually want on or off! For instance the bathroom has one switch outside for some of the lights and then further switches inside for more lights.

We had room 3051 and I would not recommend this room. It is situated in a strange corner which means your balcony is tucked between tall walls with no light really entering the room at all, this makes it feel gloomy even on a sunny day.I had to ask for a heater in our room during our stay because it was really cold.

If you can I would go for an upgrade to ensure you get at least some view and sunlight.

On the days that the Hotel was hosting a conference it was very obvious that the service was not as good for the regular guests and made me wonder how good the service will be during the summer when the Hotel is full.

I was slightly perturbed by the piped music which comes out all day from the speakers in the grass, I was not sure this was necessary in such a beautiful setting.

All in all this is a beautiful Hotel and I would visit again but I will wait until I can afford the upgrade!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view some rooms are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. DOT22,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews for sensatori in Tenerife,my wife and I would like to put people's minds at rest. This was our second visit to the hotel and from the time we have spent here from arrival,we have been treated by all the staff extremely courteous and with a smile.We booked a seaview room and it was exactly what we got and it has been kept spotless, by the maid. Your towels are changed as and when you want,and our beds have been changed on three occasions.The food in all the restaurants are of a high quality and presentation is good with a wide choice of dishes at all the sittings. We never had to ask for a refill of our drinks and we found the staff were very friendly at all times to us.I was disgusted to see how they were treated by some of the guests and I thought they kept their cool, I know I wouldn't.There are some nice walks along the front of the hotel now that the a beach has been built.We love the local village and the little cafes and bars are good for a coffee in the morning.To sum up we are so pleased with our stay that we have already booked our return next year.There are no stomach bugs here either as reported in a previous review or any other problems.You get a five star experience at a reasonable priced holiday.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. John s:

Thank you so much for sharing on Trip Advisor your recent experience at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora. We appreciate so much your nice opinion, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

We would be delighted to receive a third opportunity and to show you that your comments are taken into account for continuous improvement.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from one week all inclusive as a Sensatori guest. The hotel, grounds, fountains, gardens, pools, location was stunning, the food mainly excellent and the staff delightful. The small beaches and seafront path is now open and it is a delightful walk down to the small harbour where you can sometimes see turtles between 12.00 and 2.00pm.

My main gripes were the hotel guest policy and entertainment.

You are not allowed guests at anytime unless you make special arrangements 24 hours in advance and then they can only come in and eat at an A la carte restaurant. We invited 2 friends up to see us and I offered to pay for their drinks and a meal but the doorman refused to let them past the lobby area and we had to walk to a nearby cafe. It was very embarrassing and something I have never experienced before at other 4 or 5 star hotels. It was like staying in a luxury prison but even prisoners are allowed visitors!

The evening entertainment was also poor. Loud plonk plonk piano music in the music bar or mainly poor cabaret style shows in the rather old fashioned Atlas Theatre. If you want decent evening entertainment I would suggest the Be Live ( Playa de l'Arena hotel) or the Barcello Santiago, both of which allow guests!

Although we really enjoyed our holiday it was somewhat spoilt by these two issues. Also, only visit the spa if you get the free room credit. We were disappointed as several of the jets in the spa pool didn't work, the hot jacuzzi pool was colder than the main pool and the steam room wasn't very hot either. I have been to much better and cheaper.

But if you just want to chill out and do nothing in beautiful surroundings and eat lovely food, this is the perfect place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mrs. JaneBrighton_England,

We would to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for your vacation and for having taken
some of you valuable time to share your impressions with us through TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday, although we will take into consideration each of your comments as a great value for us to keep on improving ourselves to offer the highest standards of quality in every aspect of our activities.

Finally, we would like to inform you that our visitors policy determines that any person not staying at our resort, can visit the hotel to have dinner at our restaurants, subject to the hotel’s availability, as our guests have preference when making reservation.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged Oceanfront location, offering spectacular views of the island La Gomera and Mount Teide, the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife. This stunning Design hotel is situated in the fishing village Alcala, a beautiful unspoiled area at five minutes driving distance from the amazing Los Gigantes cliffs. It offers an attractive and inspiring proposal to experience new sensations and to live magic moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Melia, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.