We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but some slight criticism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great but some slight criticism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday in this lovely hotel. We paid for full board which was really nice and all you needed really at a resort like this one. If you are going to go 'all inclusive' then just find out what it includes before you book it. I say this because, when we got to the hotel we were told that we could upgrade for 35 euros a day to an 'all inclusive' silver package which includes soft drinks (freshly squeezed juices not included), white wine, red wine, rose and beer throughout the day (full board is only these drinks at breakfast, lunch and dinner). Now, if i had booked 'all inclusive' I would be annoyed that the drink variety is limited. You could then upgrade to the gold package which was about 70 euros a day per person and that included all drinks e.g. cocktails, spirits, tea, etc. So an 'all inclusive' package, in my opinion, isn't really worth it, you might as well just book full board.
At breakfast and dinner we always waited for about 5-10 minutes to wait for a table outside (in the adult only section) which was quieter and a more relaxing/romantic atmosphere. The food was good, always varied and there was also 3 restaurants that are included in your full board package which made a nice change from the main buffet restaurant. The service in the restaurant was good but you literally had to chase the waiter around the restaurant to get another glass of wine or beer, and by the end of the week this had actually got slightly tiring.
The rooms were lovely and very spacious and the attention to detail did not go unnoticed e.g. two sinks in the bathroom (this may sound silly but as a couple we are always fighting to use the sink when brushing our teeth together, but having two sinks made the process a lot happier :)). There was a door which slid across from the room to the hall, which kept the hall and the room and the bathroom seperate. Now this may not be important to some people but for us, because my partner is a light sleeper, it is much better to have a door before the main door so that there is less chance of any noise coming through in the evening when people are going back to their rooms. The doors are also self closing so that they don't slam shut. The rooms were really quiet and we only got woken by our noisy neighbours two nights out of the 7.
There were quite a few sun chairs but if you want a good space then be prepared to try and get out there early :)! But my partner and I got out there about 1030 each morning and we always got a decent space.
They have a system in place which is suppose to help the environment and your pocket. You have a 'help the environment' (something like that) card hanger that you can hang on your door (before 8am in the morning), this will mean that on that day, the cleaner won't come and clean your room. This earns you 20 euros credit which you can put towards a spa treatment, drinks at the bar or hire beds by the pool. This is really good and my partner and I did this 3 times which earnt us 60 euros. We had a 95 euros Bali bed experience which included a bed at the pool, champagne, food, after sun, sun cream, newspaper and a fruit selection. At the end of our stay 60 euros was taken off our hotel bill which meant we paid 35 euros for this bali bed experience. So this is a really good idea as it saves money and lets you do things you may not have been able to afford (we didn't need a cleaner everyday so it worked out well).
I really liked this hotel but I did feel that there is too much of a hierarchy, for example, there are many areas that are cordoned off, which are only available to "red level" guests who have paid a lot more money to be there. I think if you pay to go to a nice hotel, you should be able to experience all of the hotel without feeling that you have been put in the "economy" section of the hotel (saving the better service and smilier faces for the people that give them more money). It may be a negative attitude but I just felt that it was always a matter of "look what you could have" rather than what you had. Overall though, it is a nice resort, we had a lovely holiday and we both went back a stone heavier from the lovely food :)!

Room Tip: Get a top floor room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    797
    382
    144
    98
See reviews for
1,114
1,663
22
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Be warned (at least when we were there during the first two weeks of November) this is very much a family destination and geared up for children (especially in our first week it seemed about 90% of guests were families). If you are looking for peaceful ambiance at mealtimes, without paying a hefty premium at the Duo, Nami or Red Level restaurants, then choose your dates carefully.

Thomson promote their Sensatori hotels as “5* hotels that fuel the senses”. For us, on this type of chill out holiday, the one sensory experience we didn’t expect was the vibration of screaming children running around tables. Not a 5* experience so a major negative.

Having said that, during the day it is easy to find quiet areas in the beautifully landscaped grounds where the children’s pool is at one side and the adult’s only pool is well away at the other end, along with adult only areas on a lower garden terrace amongst the palm trees.

The architecture of the hotel building, particularly the public areas, is on a grand scale. Sort of Spanish/Moorish style. The central plaza certainly has the WOW factor. It’s about the size of a football pitch with many fountains which are lit up at night. Every evening at 9, 10 and 11pm there is a short sound, light and water show with the jets of the various fountains spouting in time to the music.

Food is very good. We were booked through Thomson on full board plus which was excellent value for money particularly as it included wine and water with both lunch and dinner. We had no problem getting our wine glasses topped up. The main restaurant is the buffet style Pangea. The variety, quality and quantity of the food is amazing and can’t see how anyone could not fail to find something to suit their palate. Being pesco-vegetarians, of special note is the variety of really fresh fish which you can select from a section of the buffet and have freshly cooked as you watch. Meat eaters have a huge choice. There are three other restaurants (Club Ocean, Oasis Grille and Market Grill) available in the full board rate but are á la carte and need to be booked (can only book a day ahead and as the Club Ocean has limited tables need to be down at the booking screens when they open at 8am). We tried the Club Ocean a couple of times just for a change but choice and quality of food was poor and as was the service, for us just not worth the hassle.

Accommodation – originally we booked a garden room but very pleased we upgraded to a sea view and had a lovely large bedroom with balcony overlooking the pond and stream running down to the pool areas. We took advantage of the 20 euro credit for each day you opted not to have your room cleaned and used this to book a bali bed for each of our last five days, lovely experience especially as included champagne and water. If you’re looking for peace and quiet go for beds 12, 13 or 11 (in that order) right on the ocean front.

All staff, almost without exception, were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Loved their greeting when you passed – saying Hola (hello) and putting their right hand over their heart. As with anywhere in the world politeness, respect and a smile go a long way in getting a positive response to any request.

Would we go back? Maybe if we chose the dates better. April/May could be a better time to avoid large numbers of children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a 2 week holiday here at the end of October/beginning of November, enjoyed every minute of it and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
The location is beautiful - mountains in the background and views over the Atlantic to La Gomera. We sat on our balcony most evenings and watched the glorious sunsets. There is a coastal path at the back of the hotel, it is 5 minutes walk to the little town of Alcala where there are a few shops, supermarket etc..
The hotel is luxurious, very contemporary and decor throughout is beautiful. It is a very large hotel, there are many areas to relax, sit and chill.
We were extremely impressed with our room. It was on the top floor, was very large and spacious and beautifully decorated. There was a huge, very comfy bed and sofa bed for our son. The balcony was large and roomy too and had a wonderful view. The bathroom was luxury itself - as big as the room with a huge bath, double basins and a fantastic rainshower. There was a little fridge in the room for storing water/soft drinks and lots of wardrobe space. The only slight downside, we run our own business and have to work while we are away - there was nowhere to sit while using the laptop. We had to kneel down by a little table which was a bit uncomfortable!
The food was great too. We loved the Pangea restaurant - the buffet style restaurant, thought there was a tremendous choice every evening and something for everyone. Despite being there for 2 weeks, we did not find it at all repetitive. Our son adored the ice cream wheel and was a frequent visitor to the chocolate fountain. We also ate at the Italian restaurant (really delicious food) and Oasis Pool and Grill - waiter service, good food and stunning views over the infinity pool. I do agree with the comments about drinks though, sometimes we did have to wait a little too long for our drinks and some waiters had to be reminded several times. This could be improved upon.
There is so much to do at the hotel - every sports activity under the sun, water walking, sea scooters and more. Our son participated in some of the activitites and loved them - there is no extra cost, so I thought this was wonderful value. On an (unusual) wet day they also organised a movie day and games for the children, so this highly impressed us. The Playhouse for the children is very well equipped and they run lots of sessions. Our son went to one of these, but I think at 9 he has outgrown what they were offering there.
There are several pools, all very nice with plenty of sunbeds. The infinity pool is huge and stunning but a little chilly. We found it extremely busy at the family pool on Saturdays - impossible almost to get a sunbed near the pool, but every other day was fine.
We loved the location here - it was away from it all - no tacky touristy attractions nearby, but still convenient for exploring. You could walk into the little town along a beautiful coastal path. Check out El Rincon just off the market square - the best mojitos I have ever tasted for just 3 Euros. The Cash and Carry on the coastal path also sells extremely cheap water, soft drinks and wines.
We hired a car - essential and I would definitely recommend this. Tenerife is stunning, the scenery is amazing and there is so much to see - do not just stay at the hotel. We booked it in the little travel agent in Alcala town centre - they were superb and it cost 38 Euros per day with all taxes and insurance included. We went to the north of the island, the mountains, Teide volcano and Masca - we loved exploring so much we actually hired the car for 5 days.
This hotel is perfect, we loved every minute of our stay here. I thoroughly recommend it, it is stylish, contemporary, great location and suitable for families, couples - right across the board.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't normally write reviews on here but here we go. This is a solid 5 * resort hotel and sertanly not a 5* city or business hotel, which is what you would expect from a hotel that offers full/all options. We travelted as a family with a 14 month old toddler and stayed in the middle of November. The facilities for children are great, although you will have to spend some time working out how to get to sertan places with a pushchair.
If you have small kids and worried about your child at the restaurant, please don't. Every second table at the pangea restaurant had a child and at some point every single child had a meltdown moment during meal, I didn't feel that bad about my toddler's whinges)
I would highly recommend this hotel to families but stay away from it if you are a couple looking for a relaxing holiday ( I was part of one myself not long ago ) htere are kids everywhere - literally. You can choose to stay at the red level but then you are confined to a smaler area of the hotel and can not enjoy your stay in full.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It has been a whole year since my family and i spent 9 days at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora coming from Long Island New York USA.....as we always travel this time of year and are owners of the Sol Melia Vacation Club we truly miss not being there this year....the hotel was excellent...food delicious and the right amount of sun and fun at the hotel as well as plenty to do on excursions outside of the hotel. The rooms large, clean and well stocked....the restaurants provided wonderful variety freshness and culinary imagination. We rarely repeat hotels as we always like to see different places and experience new cultures on our vacations. We have stayed at other Gran Melia's and Paradissus hotels and have always found them exceptional. As my son is now in middle school we cannot afford to take him out of school this year at this time but we have already booked Gran Melia Puerto Rico for the Easter vacation and are expecting the same super accommodations we have grown to love at all of our Melia vacations. My 2 children frequently ask when we can go back to Tenerife...and my wife and say as soon as possible.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't get me wrong the hotel is gorgeous clean and I don't really have any complaints. But it's so large that the kids entertainment don't remember the kids names, and no waiters remember you.
Having previously been to the Bahia principe were there is a sence of welcoming and staff acknowledging that they know you.
The food was average compared to the Bahia wich is spot on. Sorry I couldn't have been more help x

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

WHERE do i start ..... we stayed here for one week celebrating our silver wedding anniversary, following a weeks cruise,when the coach pulled up it really was the WOW factor, on arrival given refreshing pineapple juice, our cases were taken to our room , the room beautiful large bed, balcony, sofa, luxury huge bath and a jet shower, perfect .... hotel decor -outstanding white marble with fountains which take your breath away every evening 9pm 10pm and 11pm there is a stunning lightshow in the fountains well music is played,
SUN BEDS theres plenty, awesome pools and views looking directly out to sea, the bali beds a real luxury you can hire for the day a 4 poster bed from as little as 20 euros up to 100 which inc champagne fruit news paper sun cream ect - depending on price you choose ...
SPA this is a real treat 2 hours for just 25 euro of pure relax.. well worth going towels flip flops apples and water inc ...
FOOD we went to buffet restraunt each morning you could have cava and orange juice to cerial cooked breakfast croisiants fresh fruit the choice endless.. the grill bar opened lunch time was nice for pizza baguettes and hot sandwhiches ect ....
the ocean bar lovely lunch and evening out side over looking pools excellent food choice and great staff....
italian our favourite the steak was cooked to perfection...
all staff excellent and plenty wine served at all places...
ENTERTAINMENT...we loved the shows and the friendly team (we didnt go to i5live show as didnt have any childeren but people with younger ones said this was very good)
we spent most of the evenings in the PIANO bar it was relaxed with music played by TOM BEACH..who i must say is i a different league to any piano player ive seen awesome.
SENSATORI REPS .. a special mention to these guys rebecca and lauren who went that extra mile to make our anniversary and holiday so special ..
this truly is a special place to be ...yes it is a bit of the beaten track but why would you want to leave a place like this .... LUXURY ...looking at booking again already will def be going back ..
one more TIP ..they have a go green option where you can opt out of having your room cleaned and given a 20 euro credit instead ..fab idea as you can use against bali beds or spa treatments or drinks ( but would also consider up grading to silver gold package on drinks saves you a lot of money by doing this) leaving no big bill at the end of the holiday x well i hope ive summed it up ..if in doubt go see for your self you certainly WONT be dissapointed .

Room Tip: we had room 5130 which was lovely over looking the pirate pool perfect uyou can up load to a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged Oceanfront location, offering spectacular views of the island La Gomera and Mount Teide, the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife. This stunning Design hotel is situated in the fishing village Alcala, a beautiful unspoiled area at five minutes driving distance from the amazing Los Gigantes cliffs. It offers an attractive and inspiring proposal to experience new sensations and to live magic moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.