We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the resort and will definately rebook” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Alcala
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved the resort and will definately rebook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Sensatori resort in Tenerife.
The rooms are fabulous.The food is second to none and the pools were out of this world.
We had been recommeded to the hotel by friends and we were not disappointed.
We will definately return to Tenerife next year and we are thinking of booking the Crete or Egypt Sensatori resort in October.
Please try it and enjoy.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,521
    669
    313
    115
    85
See reviews for
915
1347
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

After visiting the wonderful Sensatori Crete when it first opened and having read some of the negative reviews about this hotel, we were worried that it may not meet our expectations.

I am pleased to say that the hotel exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. We were instantly wowed by the hotels grandness and wonderful decor. Our room was great with its own garden and bali bed! The grounds and pools are amazing and we never struggled to get a sunbed even around the smaller pools. We spent most of time in the adult areas which was very peaceful and relaxing. It is definately worth having a bali bed experience we did this for one day and was a lovely treat. The staff were very good, helpful and friendly in all the areas of the hotel. There are plenty of activities organised around the hotel for you to do during the day,so you have n't got to spend all day sub bathing if you do n't want too. We found all four of the included restaurants good our favourites were Pangea the buffet restaurant and Club Ocean the Italian which was amazing in every aspect. We never had any problems booking tables for any of the restaurants. We did n't have a problem getting drinks at meal times but when buying drinks in the bar areas you need to be a little paitent.
There are loads of areas to relax with a drink, we liked the chill out bar. The entertainment was above average and by far better than what we have seen in other hotels. The cast did a good job and put on some good shows.

This is a family hotel, and so expect children to be around, however especially in the day the adult only areas provide peaceful and relaxing retreats....

We stayed here for 10 days and was never bored with all the different pools, bars and restaurants to keep us entertained. The food, service and facilites can not be knocked..
This hotel is a very luxurious, and if you have booked to go, I am sure you will not be disappointed! For us it slightly topped our stay at sensatori Crete and certainly provided some 'wow' moments..
Enjoy!!!

Tips- attend the sensatori welcome meeting and tour, there lots to learn about the hotel with it being so big

- breakfast gets quite busy from about 9.15am so for a quieter breakfast get there just before...

- for cheaper papers and bottled water head to the garage up the road..

- if you want to do a discovery session, be sure to book early..

- look out for some footballers and recognisable faces!

Room Tip: not to worry about getting sea views, it seems most rooms get a garden view instead....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

Hotel was nice but food options are awful on the full board package unless you pay. Food in nami was excellent but expensive, drinks in the hotel are a minimum of ppund each. The rooms are also not sound proof as such its very noisy at night time indeed.
Nice hotel but not 5 star and not good value

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

wow dont know where to start with this hotel! everything about it is amazing. we stayed for a week and it was pure luxury. have no idea how people can write such negative reviews!!! ur on holiday, relax a little!!

rooms - huge comfy bed, spacious room with lots of storage and an even bigger bathroom with 2 sinks and a rainforest walk in shower.

pool - infinity pool is absolutely amazing. you have to see it to believe it. it is so big and no colder than the other pools. loads of sunbeds - we never had a pronlem getting one. plenty of umbrellas too.

food - we went to every resturant except from the calima (which you have to pay for) we ate in nami which you had to pay for though and service and food was very good and you get 20% off the food. only thing that let the resturants down was the food at market grill. it was bland and boring.

staff - staff treat you like royalty when you are walking around the hotel and greet you with a bow with their hand on their heart. service in the buffet resturant was abit hit and miss though. you had to wait to get their attention for a top up on your drink.

location - not great. garage a min walk away for the essentials. i would recommend going there because hotel prices are very high. luckily hotel is amazing so you dont feel the need to leave and with all the resturants in the hotel, you feel like you are eating out when you are actually eating in.

all in all i would definately recommend this hotel. it is worth the money and believe me, you will feel like you are in heaven when you are there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was the best and most relaxing holiday I have had. As others have stated, "I am very fussy", the standards exceeded my expectations. The accommodation was exceptionally clean and furnished beautifully. The food was amazing, I am a vegetarian and was well catered for. The Pangea restaurant was buffet style with copious choice and the service was very impressive. I enjoyed sitting out on the terrace for breakfast and if dining in the Pangea, would recommend sitting out also for dinner as we did sit inside one evening and found it very hot. The style is modern and chic which I loved. The Italian restaurant was superb and the Ocean grill by the pool for lunch was sooooo relaxing. I only ate at the market grill once, for lunch, this was okay but found the Pangea better. ALL of the staff were helpful and friendly and sincere. The guest relations team were great but I must say that TARA was particularly helpful, approachable and went out of her way to be helpful so a big thank you to her. The Sensatori show cast were very good and the shows were excellent. The infinity pool was lovely and I thorougly enjoyed swimming there. I arrived on the 11 July 2011 and it was a lovely quiet week, as we were leaving there was a large intake of folk and the hotel felt very busy. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Personally I would definitely go there again but would try and choose a less busy period.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio_Alastuey, Guest Experience. at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to Tara.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
We are expecting you ...

Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

After arranging our own family holidays for many years we thought we'd give Thompson a go on a package trip. I must say after travelling a lot on the likes of Ryan Air, Easyjet and BMI Baby I have to say they are a breath of fresh air, Thompson were so freindly at the airport ( none of this "what can we catch you out on at the airport and charge you for" that you get with the other three) and due to the size of our our family with the childrens partners being now eight, we were able to have great seats all together and having chilled Champagne that we had pre-ordered was a great start to the holiday.

The transfers were slick and although one of the four rooms we booked was not as we considered a sea view, the Thompson rep got us moved and everything from there on was pretty much perfect.

The restaurants were excellent and we ate mostly in the Pangea buffet, (because the kids I call them kids but their ages are from 19-24 could go back and for) the food was delicious, varied, with chefs cooking you all sorts of things from eggs to veal, with as much as you wanted. The drinks were plentyful and we always went and finished the evening in either the piano bar or chiilout balcony.

We did everything from jet sking, the gym, football, tennis, archery and riding segways. The staff and hotel could not have been better, we even looked at the holiday investment of the group of hotels they ran and found Susanne ( the lady in red) and James not to be pushy or over sell it.

Our flight home was late so for a small cost we had our room till late afternoon, followed by a very smooth and easy flight home.

We have travelled as a family extensively from staying at the Burj Al Arab in Dubai to caravaning in West wales and we can honestly say "thank you" to Thompson for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After a wonferful stay in Sensatori Crete last year we thought we would try Tenerife,On arrival we were welcomed with a warm greeting from the staff,this hotel defenitley has the wow factor, a cold glass of Orange juice and a quick check in,our luggage arrived in our room within 10 minutes.The room was huge,we didnt pay for a seaview so had a view of the hills which suited us as it was really quiet and private,our room didnt have an i pod docking station as advertised so we phoned reception before going to dinner and on our return one had been put in our room.We had lunch a few times at Oasis Grille and both times the service from the same member of staff was shocking,slamming our bottle of water on the table,not bringing drinks we had ordered,the food here was pretty good though so when I noticed this member of staff a few days later working in the main restaurant(and looking much happier!!) I booked oasis grille for an evening meal and really glad I did,we received excellent service and had a really nice meal.We ate at the italian a few times,nice food and enviroment,no trouble getting top up drinks,the japenese bit pricey but a fun experience and good food,and the main buffet restaurant was very busy at times, good but can get hectic, we had no problems booking into any of the restaurants.There was always loads of sunbeds around the infinity pool(which is lovely) at any time of the day,no need to get up at the crack of dawn here! the fountain show in the plaza every evening was great,again always somewhere comy to sit and waiter service for drinks very good,a really nice atmosphere,we never saw any children throwing things into the fountains or misbehaving as some previous viewers have said,just children being children! this is not an adults only hotel so if you oblect to children being around in the evenings its probably not the right hotel for you.There is a disco but its only open Fri & Sat they have a happy hour on cocktails,can recommend the mojitos! it would be good if they extended the opening evenings to a few more evenings.As others have said the ladies in red will invite you to look at larger deluxe rooms and to attend a meeting,we declined its a holiday club,simliar to timeshare.We didnt try the spa but had a look at the price list and treatments`little pricey I thought.Was a little dissapointed they didnt have any outside acts for the entertainment our week,we saw the lady gaga and robbie williams tribute at crete and they were fab,all the shows were put on by the Sensatori team who were really good and talented.Overall a classy beautiful hotel,laid back relaxing atmosphere and friendly hardworking staff.Out of the 2 hotels Crete was just that bit more special!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n | Alcala, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged Oceanfront location, offering spectacular views of the island La Gomera and Mount Teide, the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife. This stunning Design hotel is situated in the fishing village Alcala, a beautiful unspoiled area at five minutes driving distance from the amazing Los Gigantes cliffs. It offers an attractive and inspiring proposal to experience new sensations and to live magic moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.