We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sauco

Sauco
Calle la Fabrica, 5, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922 86 07 44
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Alcala
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Been here 4 times now - great location, great food, great value, we shall be going there again when we next visit Tenerife later this year

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockton
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“restaurant with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had lunch at this restaurant with other half it is one of our favourite restaurants when visiting
Tenerife.
The food is to die for with a twist, we have always had great service never been of an
evening good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull, delicious, a must do...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

As we have our own restaurant in Belgium, we were told that this place is good. I can say know, I do not agree. This place is close to perfection in price, food, service, team,...
We stayed at Gran Melia close to Sauco for 6 days, we have changed the hotel booking from half board to only breakfast as we were every day in Sauco.
The food here is marvelous. Jorge runs his place in a way, where you can see that he thaught about everything. T-Shirts for when its warm, great idea, lovely plates, clean kitchen, nice team.
No running in the kitchen and most of all, as its always full, no stress at all. That's the way...
Jorge, thanks to you and your team to bring our stay in Alcala to a higher culinary level then in the hotel... Regards, Erwin & Sofie, Sofie's Choice, Belgium

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern Twist in Alcala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This restaurant provides a more modern, bistro style, twist to eating out in Alcala than some of the more traditional local restaurants (some of which are excellent by the way). The outside terrace is nice, if its not blowing too hard, and the external heaters are effective. In March we ate once outside and once inside (it was raining) in the evenings and both were a pleasant experience. We didn't have any of the service problems reported by some others and all the staff we encountered were pleasant. We had mainly Italian style dishes and they were all good, as were the portion sizes. The prices were not excessive. We also enjoyed the house wine - much better than most, although I'm not sure about the quantity we were served on the second occasion. Very convenient for the Gran Melia (5 to 10 minute walk along the promenade) and recommend to book in advance to be sure of getting a table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most arrogant and unprofessional service possible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The only good thing about this place is the view. After booking a table at 19:00 (we were told the kitchen would open at this time), we arrived a little early because we knew we could wait on the terrace. We got our drinks from a waiter who attempted to speak English, but kept switching to Spanish. We live here and we speak Spanish so this is not really a problem, but if the waiter keeps switching to a language he does not command it gets annoying, so in the end we ordered our drinks in Spanish. At 18:50 we asked for the menu which was delivered without any suggestion or comment. We wanted to order another drink, there were at least 3 waiters running around the place, but we failed to get anyone's attention for a full 30 minutes after receiving the menu. At 19:20 nobody had given us any attention and my patience ran out so I got up and asked the waiter if we could get service, he responded by asking what I wanted in such a manner that I no longer felt welcome. I asked to speak to the owner who informed me that sometimes he was the owner and sometimes not and his body language told me that he did not care at all. He asked me what my problem was, I did not bother to answer. We left and had dinner at Restaurant Lupulo on the square in Alcala, a much more professional kitchen and service.
We had visited Sauco before when they just opened, the difference is service is pathetic.
I cannot recommend this place to anyone!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauco also viewed

 
Alcala, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 

Been to Sauco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.