We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovel hotel for quiet break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora

Save Saved
You added RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle La Costa s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alcala
Glasgow, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovel hotel for quiet break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful. Red level service very good - plenty of space around pool, staff very attentive. Free happy hour only 1 hour not 2 hours as per website. Hotel Restaurants okay but not great for the prices charged and almost all outdoors - which in march makes them rather chilly at night!

Alcala small village with a few restaurants and bars - toni's on main street much better than it looks, fish in Escondido good and a few other local bars. Good frequent bus service to Los gigantes and into playas de Americas but quite a way a way

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    27
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
112
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. Both times in the Red Level area, which if you're a couple I would highly recommend. The first time was in an Ocean view room with a whirlpool. I would suggest asking for the highest level as this would be more private. The terrace rooms, which are the more expensive ones I feel lack privacy as people can look down on you from the levels up, and can be looked into from people passing.
This time as it was our Silver wedding anniversary, my husband treated us to a week in a villa. Wow, a different world, own pool, breakfast brought to you in the mornings with your choice of papers, and a free mini-bar too-we felt so pampered and spoilt.
It has been one of the best weeks holidays ever, even better some of the Caribbean islands we have visited. The Butlers (which you get with any Red Level room) are so attentive and have made our holiday so special-so a special thank you to Roberto, Jose, and John & Alexandro. They couldn’t have done enough for us, especially in light that I have mobility problems-they took us to dinner on one of the golf buggies.
I had a few massages by Carolina, which were excellent-right up there on top 3 masseuses ever. I also must mention Imma the hairdresser who did my hair so beautifully for our silver anniversary meal. If you are on Red Level you get a voucher to have a visit to the water spa, which is lovely and worth a visit, although without the voucher I probably wouldn’t have paid the £30 per person to go.
I used to say I never went back to hotels a 2nd time, but since we found this gem of a hotel we will be booking again for next year. As a previous contributor said, go to their own website to book, as they guarantee to have the lowest prices or will refund you the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have just returned from a short break at the Palacio De Isora in Tenerife and I must say it was one of the best holidays I can remember having. I chose Red Level for the first time and was not disappointed. The area they use for Red Level is very nice, well away from the main hotel block and it certaibly gives you the feeling that you are a special customer. Breakfast was great with the 'a la carte' egg menu something very special. Drink prices were also very good as well and the general evening entertainment being of a high quality. The staff were outstanding always exceptionally helpful.

My only word of caution - I booked through the Melia Sol website (much cheaper than the packages put together by UK travel companies; half the price) and chose a ocean view room. Actually when I arrived I was told it was a partial ocean view. After talking this through with the manger she sorted out a proper ocean view room on the front. The website is quite misleading so beware.

Without doubt one of the best hotels in the Canaries!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book an ocean view not partial ocean view. You can tell as all proper ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The red level service is exceptional. On arrival staff take time to personally escort you around the hotel, introducing you to the breadth of its services and handle any questions you may have. The Red level is exclusive and you are made to feel that you are exclusive. Rooms are beautifully presented and everything from the dressing gowns to the soap is of the highest quality. The hotel offers beautiful sea views and gardens. The cuisine at the red level restaurant is close to michelin standard and superior to all other restaurants on offer, I would swerve the 'grill option' although the standard self service restaurant that serves the whole of the hotel complex should not be missed.

Room Tip: opt for a demi suite quite often the cost will include half board which made the stay even better va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were here celebrating a friends 50th birthday week. the red level experience made it that little bit special. The service was excellent, very professional making us feel relaxed. The accommodation, with own balcony was finished to a high standard and room service was efficient and prompt. We booked a Balinese bed by the pool every day, drinks were bought to us and fresh fruit mid morning for refreshments, a light lunch and drinks served in the red level lounge and seaview balcony. The red level area adult area is just what it says.......adult, peaceful and calm, although it was nice to be able to use the whole of the hotels facilities (all of it a high standard) it was a lovely to head back to the Red level retreat .The beauty of the red level is definitely one to upgrade to if you are looking for a bit of luxury. There are some great restaurants on site to choose from we only left the hotel once...just because we thought we had better make the effort to see the surrounding area, but everything you need is here. we weren't very impressed with the Calima restaurant as although the food was OK! the prices were not!!! otherwise a great variation offering alot of choice. The evening entertainment in the Theatre was brilliant with professional entertainment from Queen, 60's, Robbie Williams, fashion shows and lots of other things ( not karaoke type sing alongs but very professional and entertaining). If you get the chance go have a funny hour on the segways and go off roading....it was such a laugh. if you want to pamper yourself go to the spa it is wonderful experience...such choice and so relaxing...highly recommended.
There were no negatives to our week...we were made to feel very special and the red level team are very good at it too. we would highly recommend the red level for couples and a grown-up adult time out experience.

Room Tip: We got to look around one of the villas being upgraded with private pools....they were loovvvellly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Very nice and quiet place especially at Red Level. Very professional staff with some exceptions at front desk (little snobbish). I did not try the hotel restaurants (too expensive for Spain) but I tried those in the village very good especially fish (fresh). Overall I will definitely go back to this hotel and red level in particular. Don't forget to try the Bali bed !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The hotel is stunning, immaculately kept and the pools and views are a joy. Our room was nice but had a very small balcony and after paying for 5* plus at Red Level we expected better Room Service than we received:
a) Bathroom lights wouldn’t turn off (“problem we have been having since we opened!”)
b) Espresso coffee pods not replaced nor machine emptied (“you have to phone down to ask them to replace them”) – I think not for what you are charging
c) We had to screw a dodgy bed leg back on
d) Why did we get masses of replacement of Clarins shampoos, conditioners and body lotions but no bath salts (and who wants bath salts anyway)
e) Turning down beds between the hours of 5.30pm and 7.00pm is ludicrous as one is either in the bath or shower or in a state of undress getting ready
f) The i-pod charger kept coming apart in our hand when removing our i-pod after charging
g) And no, we don’t want Werthers Toffees left on our pillow each night - for what we are paying I expect something a tad superior especially when I can buy a bag of 20 for a £1 in our supermarket – insulting!
Food
Again disappointing for what we were paying. We had the choice of Nami, which was sushi and teppanyaki, but as there weren’t enough of us for teppanyaki at the time we wanted we ate at a table and unfortunately I had a dodgy prawn (tasted one and left the rest) and had Tenerife Tummy the following couple of days. Second choice Calima was closed for the holidays; Oasis Pool Grill was OK – but better at lunch time; Club Ocean – mainly Italian and had the worst spaghetti Bolognese I have ever had (other than my mother in law’s) and my husband had sorbet with cava that was served correctly the first time and like soup the second, they replaced it with more ‘soup’ and tried to tell us that that was how it should be served, but if so, why was the sorbet solid the first time? Pangea is the free for all and has the atmosphere of a staff canteen, the acoustics are terrible and the food is acceptable for mass catering; we never saw the Dama de Noche which is on their website so goodness knows where that was; Market Grill was burgers and Ok if you like chips with everything and finally the Red Level which had lovely food (but not exactly the fine dining we were expecting), ambiance and service but the menu is very very limited and you can’t eat till after 9.00pm – so no fine dining for the whole of our holiday, which was very disappointing indeed.
However the staff were delightful and couldn’t be more helpful – other than the manager’s assistant (the manager was too busy to see us, which is surprising as we were the third couple from Red Level to complain within 3 days and all for the same reasons), who when presented with a double sided sheet of complaints on A4 paper obviously couldn’t have cared less, did not apologise, just gave explanations and we have not heard from them since!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora

Address: Calle La Costa s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Oceanfront hotel, for adults only, with spectacular views of the island La Gomera. RedLevel at Gran Melia is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife, in the fishing village Alcala. A beautiful unspoiled area at the foot of Mount Teide, five minutes by car from the Los Gigantes cliffs. While its glorious design combines to perfection the elements sea, earth and air, the hotel sets new standards for luxury, in order to satisfy the most demanding travellers searching for a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Melia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Escapio, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RedLevel At Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio De Isora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.