We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful bush land retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bawley Bush Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bawley Bush Cottages to your Saves list
Bawley Bush Cottages
101 Willinga Road, Bawley Point, New South Wales 2539, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Delightful bush land retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days at Bawley Bush cottages at the beginning of November 2013. This was our third visit to this delightful and restful venue. There is something about the location with its bush land setting adjacent to a lake which immediately summons up peace and tranquillity and is ideal for anyone who is seeking to "get away from it all" for a short, or even longer,break.
The accommodation in a variety of self-contained cottages is of superior quality and very competitively priced and because of the surroundings, with short bush walks on site and kayaks available, one does not really have to venture far. However within short driving distances there are a range of picturesque beaches to enjoy and other bush land activities such as forest drives/walks are available also. The owners, Bill and Pip, are extremely hospitable and have a fund of knowledge about the district which they are only to willing to share. We certainly intend to revisit and enjoy this venue again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cormorant Cottage this time but have viewed other cottages and they are all of excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

These cottages have a lot going for them, but a bit more attention on the maintenance side would make them really excellent
The location is just wonderful if you like the bush and have a car. Our cottage looked over a huge mowed area going down to a strip of trees with the lake beyond. Sitting in front of the unit with an Eastern Spinebill bird fluttering nearby was superb. The cottages are very attractive looking, pleasantly furnished, the bed was comfortable and quality linen. I did find it a bit unusual using a compostable toilet (nothing to push) but was amazed it had no smell.
What let the cottage down could be easily fixed with a bit more attention to detail. For example a cooking implement had a broken handle, which made it impossible to use, some lights weren’t working and so on. I did leave a list for the owners, so hopefully they have addressed these issues. I would check the heating in winter though as it could get cold upstairs in the bedroom and bathroom once the stove below goes out. We used the canoes to paddle down to the sea which was really nice. I would definitely go back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Owner at Bawley Bush Cottages, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
As owners we very much appreciate your comments both positive and negative and we especially acknowledge you for leaving a maintenance list. We won't be returning from our overseas trip until the end of May 2013 but we are disappointed that you found unaddressed maintenance issues that were annoying enough to comment on and that must have been overlooked by our staff. These are being addressed now. As far as supplementary heating is concerned, there is an electric heater in the bed-head cupboards...your comment indicates we need to provide a label on the cupboard to specify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely perfect very well kept. Total paradise stayed there for 4 night (not long enough) we stayed in the cafe cottage and it was perfect. There was an out door bath (very romantic) we enjoyed bush walking sitting by the fire inside and out looking up at the stars whilst in the bath. Cycling into the town of bawley enjoying the beach and fishing. The cottage was clean and home like we had no disturbance. The whole cottage is beautiful we were in orrr. I would definatley recommend staying there, great place to sit back and unwind

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here at the Bawley Bush Cottages for two nights over the weekend. We chose the Chef's Cottage. We have stayed at many 4 - 5 star hotels before and was amazed when we first opened the door to our cottage - it was absolutely stunning! For the price we paid, it was immaculate and LARGE! It was honestly a great getaway from the city life, quiet, relaxing and all you could hear was nature. We couldn't recommend this anymore - we will be definately coming back...!!! Great family getaway especially if anyone loves the country and the bush.
The owners were also very accomodating, and we do love the open door policy they have there with their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Owner at Bawley Bush Cottages, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Every owner would loves to receive reviews like this and we are delighted Sandra F and partner enjoyed their stay so much they put were moved to write a TA review. However as an owner-partner I point out to readers that the reviewer's heading describing us as a "5-star retreat" is happy-customer over-statement and not describing our actual rating. We are in fact rated by AAA at 4 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A group of quilting friends have stayed here several times now. Each time we absolutely love it and find it hard to leave.

We arrive to find beds made up and fires laid, ready for a match. The cottages are cosy and well designed, and having the possibility of separate places means that many different women each have their own bedroom and often their own cottage. Bedding and towels are generous and adequate and we have not bothered to bring extra since our first visit.

Working space is fantastic, and if the weather is kind as it was this weekend there is also a table on the verandah. Hand workers might want to bring a small lamp.

It is as another review said - a perfect retreat. It is absolutely quiet, the cottages are nestled into a bush surrounding with a small lake in view and walks available for those who are more energetic than we were.There was even Wifi so we could keep in touch with the world, despite an absence of an Optus signal!

We cooked together in the Cafe Kitchen and kept the Cafe cottage as our base with three of us in the the three bedrooms. One person also had her dog.

For groups wanting more formal working space the Cockatoo Room can be booked and that is large and spacious with great light.

Bill checked on us a couple of times but always with great discretion. I really appreciated constant supplies of chopped firewood and kindling and newspaper - there was no stinginess in the supplies. The Cafe Cottage where I stayed was spotless.

It is fantastic value and I cannot imagine a place to beat this as a location for a group of people to meet and work together - when they choose to!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are kept warm by the potbellied stoves in winter, but add stairs if you need to acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orgeres, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have been staying at Bawley Bush Cottages roughly twice a year for the past 5 years and love it. There are 5 cottages in total and of various sizes and now I understand the owners' house can also be rented. For winter months we prefer Chef's Cottage which is more secluded but in summer we like the Seabird (Oystercatcher & Cormorant) appartments. The latter have an interconnecting door so can rented together but we like them because they give out onto a large grassed area with views to Willinga Lake. The big attraction for us, though, is that the whole property (40 acres?) is dog-friendly. You can take your dogs on walks of up to 45 minutes without leaving the property. There is a charge per dog per night and that has gone up somewhat since we first started going there but it hasn't detracted from our enjoyment. The 4 cottages we've stayed in (never used Cafe Cottage) all have wood burning stoves so you can be snug in winter. Bill & Pip, the owners, are very friendly and helpful and have thought of just about everything in terms of creature comforts. As a small example, Chef's cottage has an outdoor shower so you (and your dogs!) can rinse off after a trip to the beach.
There is abundant wildlife on the property including the rare Glossy Black Cockatoo. Black swans glide on Willinga Lake where you can often see magnificent White Bellied Sea Eagles.
The nearby beaches are almost always deserted and we can recommend the Bawley Beach Cafe as well as Merry Beach Cafe.
In summary, Bawley Bush Cottages are the perfect retreat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just spent a weekend with friends in Chef's Cottage - good set up for two couples with kids. Good kitchen and well-supplied combustion stove in the living area made it really homely in the cold weather. The property is very tranquil, lots of trees and next to the lake so lots of birds like firebirds and finches. Also 5 mins from some beautiful beaches. The place has a focus on nature and privacy, so I didn't see the other guests and was very happy wandering about taking photos and video. I came back relaxed, and would go again.

Room Tip: Chef's Cottage is large and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Owner at Bawley Bush Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thanks Markwriter, wow what a great shot of the swans on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bawley Bush Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bawley Bush Cottages

Address: 101 Willinga Road, Bawley Point, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bawley Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bawley Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an eco-retreat on 40 lakeside acres just 3km by car or 20mins by kayak to a beautiful south coast beach. We have 5 self-contained cottages and a function room capable of catering for sit down events of up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bawley Bush Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bawley Bush Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.