We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, service patchy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 623 Restaurant and Bar

623 Restaurant and Bar
223 Hardy Street, Mapua, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 18 Restaurants in Mapua
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, service patchy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I ate here twice, and both times the food was nice, and not expensive.
The only issue was paying. The first night when I went to the bar to ask to pay, the girl behind the bar said they were closed. I did get her to understand that I wanted to pay for something I'd already had.
The next time however, we asked for the bill, went to pay, and had to stand for 5+ minutes before anyone acknowledged us. Not ideal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tekapo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came here with my Dad and brother by the time I joined them they had ordered a garlic bread and had been waiting 10 minutes already. They said that when they had ordered this the waitress had mentioned if we wanted mains there was a wait of 25 minutes ( great communication). When our garlic bread came out the waitress asked if we would like to order mains we asked if there was still a wait as we were on a time limit, She replied that there was no wait now and that we would just be waiting cooking time so it would be quick. Hearing this we decided to stay and order. 40 minutes later I asked where our meals were and rudely got told there was a wait. I said that we got told there was no wait when we went to order. After asking this staff member to check on our meals she finally came back and said they would be out within 5 minutes - got offered a complementary juice or fizzy. 15 minutes later as we were about to walk out our original waitress came back apologizing and saying our meals were next. Our meals did not come out together - Bacon and Eggs - Bacon was burned beyond belief. Chicken Cesar Salad - Burnt bacon again, 4 bits of chicken and whole meal was tainted with burnt flavor. Burger was good however arrived 5 minutes after the rest of the meal. While sitting waiting for our meals we noticed that there were about 3 staff members doing things while the rest stood talking. Had to wait ages at the till for someone to serve us so we could pay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Best service and great food.'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have eaten here twice will friends and family both times amazing service and the best food.The girls behind the bar are so friendly ,our friend walked out saying they would have to be the friendliest staff we have had serving us in a long time.Would highly recommend dining here,we enjoyed and will be back when in Nelson.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not a lot of people there first thing in morning 7.30 am! Friendly enough but more importantly the food (eggs Benedict ) were delicious and quick to get to me. Coffee was ok also. Not cheap but reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had a great 'hens party night' with Kylie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service was excellent, the food delicious and the cocktails fantastic. Had own room upstairs and loved it....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 623 Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to 623 Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 623 Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.