We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bronte Country Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bronte Country Estate to your Saves list
Bronte Country Estate
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bronte Road East | off Coastal Highway 60, Mapua 7173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Larchmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Bronte both before and after a multi-day hiking and kayaking trip in Abel Tasman. It was a terrific jumping-off spot. The room was very nice, with a beautiful view, and Daniel's breakfasts were truly wonderful. The garden and pool were lovely, and Daniel stored our luggage for us while we were in Abel Tasman, so it was terrifically convenient. (The Abel Tasman tour people picked us up and dropped us off at the lodge, so we didn't need a car.) When our driver didn't show up to take us to the airport, Daniel quickly made alternate arrangements. We recommend Bronte to anyone who wants a beautiful and welcoming place to stay in the Nelson-Abel Tasman area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for you review and I'm sure other people will find it helpful. Bronte is often used as a staging point for all the activities in the Nelson area as we are very central and have great facilities. I'm really pleased you both enjoyed yourselves and love having you. Hope to see you back soon. Regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

In April, 2013 my wife and I stayed at Bronte Estate and totally enjoyed our accomodations and hosts. Daniel,our main contact was just perfect. He explained the history of the estate and local area. The breakfasts provided were the best of all we tried during our 21 day stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks very much for you review and kind words about myself. I'm really pleased you enjoyed breakfast, we take great pride in growing our own eggs, fruit and vegies to serve to our guests each morning and what we can't grow we sources the best produce from the Nelson/Tasman region. Hopefully we will see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived in time for sunset views over the water. We greeted each morning with a fabulous home cooked breakfast on the vine covered terrace. OUr room was most comfortable, The wi-fi was excellent and included in the cost of the room. We loved our stay at Bronte Country Estate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was really nice meeting you both and we hope to see you back at Bronte one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Bronte Country is really a beautiful and lovely place to stay. The suite we stayed has fantastic
views. The service was very good and were appreciated with the warm welcoming and dinner recommendation. Definitely a place to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Great to see you both come back at Bronte Country Estate after so many years and thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to see you both back for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

On our second visit to NZ, we decided to return to Bronte Country Estate, our only "repeat" for this trip. Our spacious room overlooking the Nelson estuary was elegant and beautifully maintained. We enjoyed the proximity to Nelson and the Abel Tasman Trail, and we took a long walk each day in property's acres of apple orchards. But the main reason we returned is the superb service provided by Daniel, the Inn proprietor, along with his parents. Daniel helped us plan each day; he made reservations and gave advice about new attractions in the area. He provided excellent personal service for us and our traveling companions. Our friends are now fans of Bronte Country Estate too! And we'll return to this excellent property on our next NZ vacation.

Room Tip: The cottages on the Nelson bay have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again at Bronte soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Friends of my wife had stayed here on their New Zealand holiday recently and reccommended the place to us.

We spent our Christmas here in the Lady Hamilton Suite, it was like having our own house overlooking the estuary with mirror like views of the scenery in the water accross the otherside.

Very peaceful with birdsong being the only noise - funny the ipod did not get a look in as it was a treat to have this kind of music.

All rooms opened out almost completely onto the garden with the estuary view. and every convienience was avalable in our suite including ample supplies of wine (if needed).

we had our very luxurious breakfasts of fresh fruits, pastries and usually bacon and scrambled eggs up on the veranda at the main house and were made to feel very welcome by Daniel, Margaret and Bruce.

Daniel is a great font of information about the area and booked the best places for us to eat on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

The family business is growing apples and pears and we did spend some time walking around part of one of the orchards - but most of our time walking around the waters edge looking for washed up treasures or just wondering at the view.

Stunning place Daniel - thanks

A great place for our Honeymoon Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It was really nice meeting you both and sharing Christmas with you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand. Best wishes for 2013. Kind regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Bronte Lodge is a cut above the rest. We stayed in Te Koi, which has fantastic views and is beautifully furnished, and no detail is missed. The service was excellent yet very friendly and made me feel very welcome and at home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Te Koi is a very popular choice of accommodation for family. Please you enjoyed your stay and you all made yourselves at home. Hope to see you all back soon. Many thanks, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bronte Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Country Estate

Address: Bronte Road East | off Coastal Highway 60, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bronte Country Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronte Country Estate is exclusive luxury accommodation in a tranquil natural setting. Nestled on the edge of the Waimea Estuary on Nelson’s historic Bronte Peninsula, Bronte is surrounded by its extensive mature gardens, family-run vineyard and apple orchards.As Nelson's premier 5-star waterfront property, Bronte Country Estate is New Zealand owned and operated, with five purpose-built suites and villas set apart from the homestead. Dressing rooms, spa baths and kitchenettes provide the ultimate in luxury and comfort.Guests can enjoy the meandering gardens and parkland, heated swimming pool, tennis court, petanque, mountain bikes, and canoes and the seasonal beauty of the Estate’s 65 acre coastal orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Bronte Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Country Estate Mapua, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bronte Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.