We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and relax, I will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mapua Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mapua Chalets to your Saves list
Mapua Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   172 Seaton Valley Road, Mapua 7173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“A great place to stay and relax, I will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The chalets are located on the hills above Mapua, with great views over the Nelson bay, especially from the spa pool. I also enjoyed the pre-booked massage. My chalet was clean and tidy, with all the amenities: Sky, flat screen tv, radio, good cooking facilities.The chalets are quite private. Andy and Karen are great hosts. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a long stay here to explore the Nelson Tasman region. It was exactly what we were looking for - clean, tidy & warm chalet. Big plasma tv with sky, internet, kitchenette for cooking. It's small but cozy. Hot tub and pool, views to Nelson & surrounding area. Great base for Abel Tasman &Golden Bay. Andy & Karen were great for recommending places to visit and eat. Do a bike tour of the local wineries - get a platter of local food and sit in the sun - Andy & Karen even gave us a loan of bikes!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Hi Louise and Keith,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review of your time here. It was a real pleasure to host you here and lovely to get to know you both. We hope you are enjoying your fantastic trip around Godzone country.
Best wishes,
Andy and Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed in one of the one bedroom chalets for two nights and had a very relaxing time and would definitely recommend staying here.

On arrvial Andy came and introduced himself and made us feel very welcome. Our chalet had great views over the bay to Nelson and the hot-tub was a fantastic bonus.

The chalet itself was well equipped and the perfect size for the 2 of us to relax in.

Overall we had a great couple of days and would definitely stay here again the next time we're in New Zealand.

And thanks to Andy and Karen for your help with organising our Abel Tasman trip - very useful to have tips from locals on what to do / where to go!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

High expectations from all reviews, but we ranked it the worst accommodation of 14 places we stayed in NZ. Sure location is good, hot tub and pool, but chalet was pretty tired and run down with broken pots and kitchen needed a facelift., shower pretty basic miserable affair. Sitting and bedrooms needed refurb or good clean and dirty laundry room. Experienced much better for less.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
So sorry to hear you were not totally satisfied with your stay here. You can be sure that we will address the issues you have raised and appreciate this feedback. Sometimes too many great reviews can raise expectation to an unrealistic level for the price bracket of the accommodation. Thanks for the reality check!
Regards,
Andy and Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Mapua Chalets was the perfect place to escape the hustle of the city for a few nights. The location is stunning - we could not have asked for anything better! Beautiful views, cozy and private. As soon as we arrived we felt relaxed and at home. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend to friends and family. Thanks Andy and Karen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Absolutely a great place to stay the pool and the spa were wonderful, lots of lovely places to walk. Karen and Andy were great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My partner and I were met by Andy who gave us a tour around the accommodation and were elated to see not only as per the website stated of a hot spa pool but a swimming pool had been built - we were indeed lucky considering we only booked in mid-October to be able to find accommodation over the Christmas period.

We booked the 2 bedroom chalet over Christmas with another couple including 2 small dogs, even though the chalets were all booked it felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves.

Christmas 2010 will be a memorable one, with BBQ lunch followed by spending the rest of the afternoon in the swimming pool and ending it off with late afternoon relaxing in the hot spa .... total relaxation.

Such a serene setting with beautiful views and one of the most relaxing holidays we have had in such a long time. We we not rule out revisiting Mapua Chalets again in the future.

Thank you Andy & Karen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mapua Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapua Chalets

Address: 172 Seaton Valley Road, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mapua Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in an alpine spa retreat just minutes from Tasman's pristine beaches and wineries. Our self contained cottages are nestled on a secluded ridge with expansive views out across Tasman Bay, and the Richmond ranges. Enjoy private use of our stunning spa pool and swimming pool. All our chalets are fully equipped with 5 channel SKY TV, 32" Flat Screen TV, and free wireless internet. We offer a comprehensive activity booking service. After an active day how about a relaxing on-site therapeutic massage? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mapua Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapua Chalets New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mapua Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.