We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home!! According to my husband!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laurel House to your Saves list
Laurel House
Skirwith Road, Culgaith, Penrith CA10 1QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than home!! According to my husband!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A wonderful couple of days in the best ever B and B we have ever stayed in. Welcomed with home made scones and preserves. Bedroom lovely and together with the walk in shower en suite were spotless. Alex and Jeff incredible hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, hot water bottles and a whisky on our return from the Black Swan, a very short stroll from the house. Meal at the Swan was lovely.The bed was heaven to sleep in, 5* comfort and so quiet.
Breakfast was amazing. No good if you are on a diet, but even then you could choose fresh fruit and cereals and scrambled egg with smoked salmon! We chose the platter! All locally produced bacon, sausage, black pudding along with tomato, baked beans and fried potatoes and mushrooms!! The highlight was Jeff's home made bread and preserves all from their garden.
Thank you to Alex and Jeff for being such amazing hosts and for looking after us so well.
We shall return!

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms all with HUGE beds. Willow room has walk in shower and other 2 rooms have en suite. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We endeavour to ensure that home comforts are paramount so that all guests feel at home when they stay with us. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit but can honestly say we thought we were staying with our best friends. On arrival we were given a warm welcome - while Jeff showed us to our bedroom Alex put the kettle on and we sat down to tea & homemade hot scones. We thought this was a lovely touch. At our request Jeff phoned ahead to Mrs Miller's restaurant to reserve a table for dinner - can recommend, dinner was fabulous. Our bedroom was spotless and the bed was the best ever. Breakfast lived up to our expectations, we had the full Monty, all local produce and cooked to perfection with lovely homemade bread. I commented over breakfast to other guests that it was my husband's birthday and to our surprise on departure Alex& Jeff handed him a bottle of Cava - how thoughtful was that?
To summarise, we would wholeheartedly recommend Laurel House. Will we go back? Believe me - we can't wait for the next opportunity to visit. A big thank you to Alex & Jeff for the best B&B in the North West of England. James & Jean

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for your comments about being the best B & B in the North West - very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in a B and B we were delighted with the location, house, hosts, attention to detail and fantastic breakfast. We even had hot water bottles popped into our beds which were very welcome after a brisk chilly walk back from the Black Swan. Hosts have thought of everything, guest cannot fail to be impressed.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Glad the water bootles were enjoyed, and thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night only but this establishment is the best B&B we have visited. Very friendly and helpful hosts, excellent room, excellent breakfast. Superb evening meal at Mrs. Millers a quick walk down the road arranged for us by Alex and Jeff. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I believe they are all as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. We appreciate the recognition of our efforts to make all guests welcome and to have a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The house is beautiful. Everything has been thought of. We stayed in the Oak Room which was spotless and extremely comfortable. We came up for a Christening with our 18 month old. On arrival, Alex and Jeff had set up their travel cot for us. We were made to feel extremely welcome, in fact, we were treated like we were the only guests staying (even though we were not!).

After a 5 and a half hour car journey we were treated to tea and warm scones! When we were getting ready for a meal we were offerend a lager and glass of wine! Lovely meal out - thank you Alex and Jeff for your extremely kind offer that night.

The next morning we came down to the best breakfast ever! So much variety - wonderful food. It really set us up for the day. Have already recommended Laurel House to all my family and we will definitely be back!

Superb!!

Helen and Dayner

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments - verymuch appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent breakfast, one of the best I've had for ages, plus pub nearby serves food and cask real ale.

The free wi-fi is a bonus, but not available in all rooms. Fully understandable though, given the traditional 18" stone walls.

Free parking also a bonus, although it is limited and a very minor faff to do.

I also thought very friendly people, and submitted a good review on another website.
However, they took offence that I only scored 7.5 out of 10, and made it clear that I wasn't welcome back. The issue wasn that my cleanliness score wasn't high enough for them.
In truth the place was spotless, but I wasn't entirely comfortable with the fact they allowed their dogs to play the night before in the area where breakfast was served and consumed the following morning. But if you like dogs then I'm sure you'd be very happy, as they were well behaved dogs!

The landlady also spent a lot of time running on about how much better they were than other places during breakfast, which I found a bit off-putting, but I think she was just trying to be friendly.

Finally, the fact that they sent me an email telling me they were offended by my score (despite a very positive review), and that I wasn't welcome back (despite leaving on very friendly terms and saying I'd be back) has left a nasty taste in my mouth.
It's a shame, because I was thinking of taking my other half for a romantic weekend next Spring.

Next time we'll probably try the pub in the village instead, or possibly Dalston, as it's a beautiful area around here.

To summarise, Laurel House is a top of the range B&B, comfy beds, and the breakfast was extremely good. As long as you promise to give them a perfect review and like dogs then I'm sure you'll be fine !!

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi ask for it upfront. Can be tricky to find in the dark. Very nice pint at the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Any B & B that has a Visit Britain Star rating has undergone, and passed, a tough and rigorous examination by experienced professional inspectors.
We are proud of the fact that our hard work, hospitality, and continual financial investment has been rewarded with a Visit Britain 5 Star rating, which puts us in the top 5% of quality B & B's in the UK.
In order to maintain our standards, and indeed improve them if possible, we reserve the right to ask, via private emails, why a review score does not reflect the departure comments of the guest concerned.
We believe that reviews should be fair and accurate, but this guests second review contains some childish, vindictive, and also inaccurate comments i.e. the alleged breakfast conversation, which did not take place, and the remarks about perfect reviews.
Like the majority of B & B owners, our business is also our home, and with this guest we chose to exercise our right not to invite him back, after which he wrote this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

A beautiful house, a beautiful room of 5 star standard, an excellent breakfast and perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Address: Skirwith Road, Culgaith, Penrith CA10 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Culgaith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel House is a delightful 18th-century farmhouse converted into a three bedroom luxurious bed & breakfast. Situated just 7 miles from J40 of the M6, we are ideally placed for an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, or as a base to explore the Lake Distict. All rooms are fully en-suite, with digital TVs, security safes, trouser presses, tea/coffee, hairdryers, large bath towels, dressing gowns and tub armchairs for maximum comfort. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Gold rating and Breakfast Award in 2010, and a prestigous 5 Star rating in 2011, we can offer the weary traveller a good nights rest and a good start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Laurel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.