We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JavaCove Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added JavaCove Beach Hotel to your Saves list
JavaCove Beach Hotel
Jalan Batu Karas, Cijulang 46394, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cijulang
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Wonderful staff, they seemed to always anticipate what was needed, nothing was too much trouble, they made being there so easy whether hiring a motorbike, getting a massage or ordering one of their healthy super delicious cocktails and they always seemed happy. The attention to detail is wonderful, not over the top but well thought out and beautiful. Great music selection in the bar and pool area, the simple menu was perfect and the setting hard to beat - well I could go on and on but you'll have to see for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    40
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
64
81
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had an amazing two week stay at JavaCove Beach Hotel and the service was fantastic each day we there. Everything is spotless and well kept.
We loved the fire that was made by the pool some evenings. Our room was spacious with a great view of the waves and the air-conditioning was well appreciated.
The owner and staff were just the best! We organized a motorbike with their help a few times; cheap to rent and a fun way of traveling to the surrounding villages.
I loved the comfy pool area while my husband was out surfing most days. The breakfast that was included was delicious and there are a few options to choose from.
We're glad we got to see the stunning Green Canyon that is close by. The food at the local restaurants was also very tasty! Thank you so much for a great stay!
We got exactly what we saw on the pictures.

Wynand and Stephanie from South Africa

Room Tip: Room with air-conditioning is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was amazing to stay in this hotel. The service was very good. I enjoyed stay at JavaCove. Love the foods and the people. Javaclub sandwich was the best sandwich i ever had. Keep up the good work. I will come back, definitely!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review as I sit in my favourite nook by the pool at Java Cove and watch as the dragonflies dance in the sky above with the swallows (Indonesian bird name I can't recall but have on good authority they were not bats - phew)

It's hard not to fall into
the chill of this place
quickly. The tropical gardens are immaculately designed and kept so you have a green canopy of peace everywhere.

When you are next to or in the infinity pool you have this spectacular view over the beach. You can sit and watch the comings and goings of the village all day. A lot more fun on the weekend when the domestic tourists come to the beach for the day and giggle and squeal while riding and falling off the banana boat.

If you get sick of the pool (which I never do) you just wander across the street for a swim in the ocean. The water is inviting and a safe place to swim.

The rooms are beautiful, simple and very clean. Java Cove are very committed to providing an environmentally responsible hotel and they achieve this in their rooms, fittings and fixtures. Less is more.

The breakfast is delicious and a great start to the day or after your morning swim. The tomato mixture served with the eggs is heaven in a bowl.

I could point out every little perfection with this hotel
from the food, service, amenities, cleanliness and the views but that's just it. Everything is perfect.

Setting this hotel apart from every hotel around the world is the people who work here. They are the sweetest souls and always have a big wide smile for you whenever you see them. We have come to know the family of Java cove well and they are all truly professional and kind.

Paul (owner) is such a great guy and we enjoyed our nightly chats with him over a beer or two, three.....

I have only one complaint about Java cove and that is that our
time there is never long enough.

Thanks for another memorable stay!

Ms Trudy and Mr Andy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location! In front of Batu Karas Beach.
I totally enjoyed my stay at JavaCove.
All your hotel staff are so friendly and helpful! They are all very nice and friendly for us to approach.
I love the foods, especially Javaclub Sandwich.
It was nice to talk with Mr. Paul.
Lastly, Keep up the smiles! Thank you for the JavaCove Mug!
I will be back soon! Miss this place already! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

For many of those who've visited, staying at Java Cove is a chance to spend a while living a dream existence. Dawn surfs (check the waves by peeping over the wall right outside your room) followed by healthy breakfasts; dusk surfs followed by tapas, pizza and myriad other treats. The staff are unbelievably friendly, helpful and great to be around, and the grounds are spotless and covered in flowers and surfboards, the pool has one of the best beach views in Java. Also don't miss Green Valley (as opposed to Green Canyon) where you can swim in rock pools that waterfalls pour into, and jump off a banyan tree into the river! Java Cove (and Batu Karas) is a real sanctuary from urban Java.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Me and my wife came here for the Chinese New Year weekend. After the short 1 hour flight from Jakarta we were welcomed by a very friendly staff always willing to help us. The beach just in front had great waves to surf and my wife was happy on the hotel's pool at the 2nd floor watching me surf. The room is excellent, confortable bed, great bathroom, great shower. The food is amazing and the owner, apart from a very nice guy, set up a late afternoon fire by the pool where you could relax at the sound of his excellent music selection and have a drink. We met great people as well. If there were 6 stars I'd give it to this amazing place. Will for sure be back soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JavaCove Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JavaCove Beach Hotel

Address: Jalan Batu Karas, Cijulang 46394, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Cijulang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cijulang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, stylish beachfront hotel for adventurous souls seeking sun and surf in a remote and relaxed Indonesian village. Discover JavaCove Beach Hotel - Somewhere on Java's Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your JavaCove Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
JavaCove Beach Hotel Java/Cijulang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JavaCove Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.