We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alderminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Alderminster | Stratford upon Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Alderminster B&B and Inns
newport newport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have been looking for a place to stay to make our trips to the RSC even more an event. FOUND IT! Warm greeting on arrival (be aware on your first night pub does not open until 17.30). The room was spotless and the bathroom large. Tea/coffee/water all provided. Food in the evening was delicious and the set 3 course for £17.00 very good value. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Breakfast very well presented. Try the porridge!! We took advantage of stay 1 night get second free, keep an eye on website.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barkway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights and had a wonderful time. The welcome was very friendly,our room(Eaton Hall) was spotlessly clean, attractively furnished,warm and peaceful with a large well-equipped bathroom which had a separate shower. The queen-sized bed was really comfortable.
We appreciated having tea and coffee-making facilities with home-made shortbread, fresh milk and good quality tea and cafetiere coffee.
The food is superb,with generous helpings and a good variety to choose from.The 3 course set menu served in the evening (£17)is amazing value,the breakfast is delicious(try the fruit plate!)
The staff were all helpful and charming,nothing was too much trouble and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate what The Bell has to offer, we hope you will come back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Bell offers unique hospitality and great friendliness. No expense or detail was spared. Our room was great, the tea and coffee offered was second to none, Teapigs and real coffee and cafetiere, also REAL milk, not those grotty UHT pots you usually get !! Also homemade shortbread biscuits! :) The room was tastefully furnished and all in all really good value for money. The food in the restaurant was excellent, could have done with more veg though, but this could be ordered separately. The breakfast was superb, and they offered porridge, which I love. I would very much recommend this lovely B&B/Inn which is so close to Shakespeare's birthplace in Stratford on Avon.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much, the pleasure is all ours and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the small touches, which we think make a big difference! We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place to stay just outside of Stratford upon avon.Fantastic food and service is great, breakfast is plenty-full, relaxed atmosphere, The rooms are lovely, picture dont do this place enough justice, Five minute drive to the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Manager at The Bell, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate the feedback and moreso we are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed The Bell. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from our weekend at The Bell and where do I start to try and share with your how wonderful our visit was.
On arrival we were shown to our room The Convent Garden and it is beautiful - the decor has been chosen in such a way that everything is unique but combines. The extra little details are really special - fresh milk in a flask to keep cool in place of the horrible UHT milk you usually get and a container of hand made biscuits from the kitchen. THey were beautiful.
We then went down to dinner and the food was superb but what made the night for us was the attention that the staff give you - the young waitresses are wonderfully attentive and so polite and friendly.
Breakfast again did not disappoint a wondeful selection incuding salmon and kippers we had the Full English which was delightful.
This B&B is everything you need for a night away with great food, great attention and a warm welcoming that will ensure we will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback, we are absolutely thrilled that you enjotyed your stay, like us you clearly appreciate those small touches that we believe, can and do make a huge difference. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent the Jubillee weekend here. We stayed in the covent garden room - weloved the giant bathroom and the decoration. The staff worked hard to ensure we had a lovely time, and even though they were busy with a special BBQ function their really cared for us, with great attention to detail The lovely supply of tea and biscuits in the room was very welcomed, and the breakfast is excellent - it will literally keep you going all day..
Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Bell, with friends, for a short break. From the moment we arrived we were treated to real, sincere and caring customer service. We took a quick coffee before heading off on a short local walk, recommended by Tim. We returned in time for lunch, two sharing boards of delicious fish and meats accompanied by an excellent local ale. We then left the comfort of the pub to 'do the Shakespeare bit' although the wet weather meant that it was a short excursion. Returning to the Bell we were shown into our well prepared and comfortable room, the Covent Garden room.
It was the dining experience that was the highlight of our trip. Pre-dinner drinks, ale for the men and an inventive sparkling wine cocktail thanks to Tim for the women, were the preface for an excellent dinner; good food, well cooked and presented beautifully by Eliza and Mel.
It was a warm night and we like to have the window open, but in the Covent Garden room this means you have to put up with traffic noise. Would this stop me going there again? No, is the answer I would just take ear plugs as the rest of the stay far outweighs the inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your expoerience at The Bell and we hope you eill return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell

Address: Alderminster | Stratford upon Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The interior of this award winning 18th century coaching inn successfully combines traditional and modern; a truly eclectic mix. The warm and welcoming bar has flag stone floors, low beams, open fires and candlelit tables. The well stocked bar ensures you can enjoy a host of traditional real ales including The Bell’s own Alscot Ale, guest beers and carefully selected wines, spirits and cocktails. Fresh morning coffee, brunch and afternoon tea are all favourites in this cosy area. The restaurant is more contemporary and oozes charm; it is attractive and vibrant with a buzzing atmosphere. The well designed individual areas lend themselves well to private dining, meetings and parties. Food is served in the bar, restaurant and spacious outdoor areas and the menu and daily specials change to accommodate the abundant seasonal and local produce. The spacious country pub garden with adjoining riverside meadow is ideal for families whilst the beautifully landscaped courtyard garden is a perfectly sophisticated area. The individually styled, well equipped boutique bedrooms (including a suite) are stylish and comfortable with a unique twist. Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere make this modern country pub a popular venue for any occasion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Alderminster, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bell to your Saves list