We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wifes birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ettington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ettington Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ettington Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Wifes birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I spent the night here in January for my wifes birthday, the hotel is excellent and we had a fantastic bedroom (kings Makers Chambers) recommend booking this room! we spent time in the pool and the steam room which was very relaxing, atmosphere great in the hotel, evening meal was really good and staff good! well worth a stay, and some great photos even good some pics of the resident ghost! fully recommend this hotel, well done to the staff!

Room Tip: King makers chambers a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that your both you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    231
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
142
523
8
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a brilliant stay at this Handpicked Hotel. The building is stunning and there is a great deal of fascinating information available about its history. The ruined chapel on the grounds is lovely. We spotted a large herd of deer while walking through the park. The room was cosy and beautifully presented. The large paintings on the walls of the lounge and restaurant are fabulous, but the best feature of our stay was the incredible team of staff, whose warmth and friendliness was unparalleled. The food was also a highlight - try the pan fried sea bass.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I am a fan of Hand picked Hotels but this one, I am afraid was just a little below the standard we usually get. Booked through Secret Escapes on a special deal and on arrival the Receptionist did not get the fact we did actually have a £5 credit for food or drink. We decided to sort it out if there was a problem when we checked out - there was and it was rectified after we showed again the confirmation email. The hotel room was lovely as they usually are, but Classic Rooms are usually back of hotel and this time around 11 pm I was woken up when some of the staff were making their way back to their staff accommodation = our window was very slightly ajar. After seeing the dinner menu which was very expensive and did not appeal to us (either A la carte or table d'hote - we went into the local village!)). The swimming pool was deceptively small (compared to the photo we had seen - I could do 5 strokes of breast stroke from one end to the other) but deliciously warm but the steam room was closed for maintenance - which for me makes the "spa experience". Loved the infra-blue light in the bathroom which gives a blue glow so you don't have to put on the main bathroom light - and the usual Hand Picked touches - like proper milk (for coffee/tea tray) and bottled water in the fridge .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced when you stayed with us, which I have discussed with my team to ensure these do not recur. I do hope that would reconsider staying with us again in the future. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel that we were the only thing that mattered. We felt pampered and special. The staff were all truly caring and helpful. I have never stayed in a hotel that equals this one in that I felt completely spoilt. The hotel is a very old beautiful mansion that was very clean and cared for. The bedroom was perfect in every way. Possibly a little too warm. The food was excellent and could not be faulted. Especially as I am a fussy eater and the chef offered to cook something that wasn't on the menu. Which he then did with style. We had a standard room which would pass as executive in a lot of other hotels. We will definitely be going back there and would highly recommend others to try it out. It is a great getaway location or close enough to the motorway for traveling through. The spa facilities were also brilliant. Just what was needed at the end of a traveling day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for my 60th birthday with a family party of 12 adults and my 1 year old grandson. The location is beautiful, the building stunning, rooms very comfortable and far from the usual boring hotel style, and the food for the evening celebration was on a par with some of the best I have ever had. Above all the staff were unfailingly welcoming, helpful, pleasant and friendly, giving the place a real family feel. Every member of our party was thrilled with the event, and agreed that it would have been very hard to better it. Certainly, there are parts of the building that would benefit from a bit of sprucing up - but far rather that than the soul-lessness of many modern hotels. Great job, Ettington Park - thankyou!

Room Tip: As others have said, you get more of the real experience by staying in the older part of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enoyed your birthday celebrations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband , 2 children aged 6 and 4 and my parents. A lovely weekend was had. The staff were all exceptionally helpful and informative about the hotels ghost history! We booked 2 executive rooms on a BB basis. One (room 44) slept 4. It had an upstairs bedroom and bathroom with a lounge downstairs. A z bed and sofa bed there was where the children slept. This room is situated over the pool so there was no problem with noise and we hopefully didn't disturb anyone either. My parents had an executive room also , which slept 2 (room 16). The hotel was well appointed and was not overt posh but still made you appreciate you were somewhere nice. The bikes and willies for use in the grounds were a good touch. We also had the beefit of seeing wild deer within the grounds. Breakfast was a tasty treat with plenty of choices. A very nice visit indeed.

Room Tip: Room 44 good for a young family, fridge, table and easy chairs in room. Adults can watch tv upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were also able to see the deer, which is really nice this time of year. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My son took me for afternoon tea on my 65th birthday last weekend. For the price per person of £18 plus one would expect something quite special. The sandwiches looked and tasted as if made with value sliced bread and very ordinary off the shelf cakes. The scones were warm and the best part of the tea. Certainly wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, firstly, please accept my sincere apologies that your afternoon tea, was disappointing. I feel it is also important to know, that we do not use value sliced bread and all of our cakes are homemade. I have also discussed your comments with my head chef. Should you wish to discuss this with me further I would be more than happy to assist. I do hope that you will reconsider and visit us again for afternoon tea. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ettington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.