We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway at fantastic prices!!!!!!!! Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Noosa Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Noosa Lakes Resort to your Saves list
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Hilton Terrace, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4565, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
carrara
1 review
“Great getaway at fantastic prices!!!!!!!! Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

My partner and I work stressful jobs so to get away for a quick holiday in beautiful noosa was just what we needed. We booked a room at the Australis mainly because the prices were lower and the resort sounded nice.
We were very happy with the level of service we recieved upon arrival. The staff member behind the front counter greeted us with a friendly hello as soon we entered the front doors of the reception, before we had even reached the counter! She was pleasant and friendly and explained all the processes of check in clearly to us. She also explained where the closest restuarants were, where we could park our car and how to get to our room as well as offering a map of the local area and pointing out some of the tourist destinations and things to see and do. We found this to be very helpful as we have never been to noosa before. She also asked us to come back if we had any questions or needed anything which made us feel comfortable and at ease. It was a nice start to our stay.
The room we stayed in was bright and airy and had all the comforts of home. The minibar was stocked for our convienience and our room overlooked the lake which was very calming. There was a balcony which we sat on of an afternoon and watched the sun go down.
The resort seems to be made up of individual townhouses which ment we had our very own unit which we didnt need to share. The room was clean and tidy.
The pools are one of the biggest features of the australis. There are 3 large lagoon style pool, one which is heated that made the perfect place for a swim and a relax next to pool. Pool towels were in our rooms so we didnt have to bring our own or use our bath towels.
When we were looking for something to do we were able to pick from a number of different activities from the brochure board in the resort foyer and the staff were more than happy to answer our questions and make the bookings for us.
We were able to arrange through the reception for a bus transfer to the airport
Overall I would highly recommend the australis for those who are looking for a nice place to stay which is not ridiculously over priced. The australis offered the best prices I could find and the rooms were cosy and the service was friendly and immediate. The resort is well presented and pretty with native plants and hedges and the view from our room was just beautiful.

Well worth the stay. We loved it and so will you!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
30
89
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

My family recently enjoyed a holiday at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort in which the accommodation, service and location exceeded our expectations. We were impressed with the standard of the townhouse in which we occupied, whilst the children were delighted with the 3 pools. The resort, on the river, was peaceful and convenient to shops, restaurants and public transport. We were able to enjoy family friendly restaurants, markets and fishing without traveling far from the resort. Overall we had a fun filled, yet relaxing holiday, and will certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband and I took our 3 year old for a holiday to the Sunshine Coast and bought into the great descriptions of Australis Noosa Lakes both through Wotif.com and on their own website.

However, our expectations and reality were totally opposites. We had a terrible experience so wanted to warn other travellers about these main points:
1. This venue claims to be a Resort, however about from the swimming pools, there is nothing Resort like about this venue - don't believe it!
2. This venue is NOT in Noosaville as claimed, rather in Tewantin, further away from Noosa Heads with no redeeming features at all, and away from the great vibe, features/services and restaurants/cafes of Noosaville.
3. Our apartment had fleas. We finally caught one and delivered it to reception but received no comment.
4. The carpet was stained and lifting, and the couches just felt dirty.
5. Over-bearing cleaning smell upon arrival, which we worked out was to hide the musty-smell that came through after a few days.
6. The kitchen was certainly not fully-equipped as claimed.
7. The air-con was un-usable as smelly and seriously in need to a clean filter.
8. The venue is hardly lake and river frontage as claimed, unlike other accommodation options in Noosaville that do indeed have river frontage. Don't believe the marketing!
9. The apartments have a sign inside stating guests must clean before departure and that a service fee would apply if left dirty. Each apartment is privately owned, and some owners actually live at the venue. This affects the atmosphere/dynamic of the place.
10. Bathroom basin base was rotting.
11. Bathroom fan and vents very dusty and dropped dust into room when used.
12. Expensive wireless internet options.
13. The unheated pools were too cold to enjoy using in April, leaving one pool for all guests to use, and even that didn't seem warm enough.
14. Dangerously hot water in kitchen and bathroom. Water ran extremely hot within seconds making scolding a real risk.

Overall, the place is average motel quality, but with fleas and more expensive! Certainly not resort quality by any standard.

We raised all of these issues with the Hotel Management to no avail. We urge other travellers to avoid staying at Australis Noosa Lakes unless you don't mind being disappointed and having your holiday deflated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed here as was next to the lake and river and we like Noosaville/Tewantin, rather than Noosa itself as it is quieter. Each villa is independantly owned however our unit which was facing the lake as requested was quite run down. The couch had stains on it, and the carpet was worn and nearly torn near the screen door to the balcony. With just a little bit of doing up, this unit could have been really nice. We stayed here after a week of fishing up in Central Qld as it was classed as 4 star so we thought a bit of luxury on the way back to Bne for a couple of nights might be nice to break up the journey. We were dissapointed however as this was not 4 star accommodation for the price. There was however 3 really nice swimming pools, but we didn't use them as it was raining. The resort is near the Noosa Marina which was really nice and we had a couple of nice dinners there. There are also cooking facitilites and full cutlery/utensils in the room which was nice aswell.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment last sept and had a great holiday. The apartment was clean with everything u needed but with no frills. The Marina across the bridge has a great cafe for breakfast, a good wine bar and great fish and chips as well as two other restaurants. Its only about a 5 min walk to the supermarket at Tewantin also. The ferry trip to hastings st is well worth it and the the day trip to frazer island is worthwhile.
It is a nice walk to noosaville about 20min where there is alot of cafes and restaurants.
If u want good value and stay out of Hastings st I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donvale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband & I stayed 4 nigts in the 1 bedroom apartment. We loved the clean spacious rooms with balcony that overlooked the pools (there are 3 - 1 warm, 1 shallow for toddlers and 1 fairly deep. These are not lap pools but more splash pools). I would recomend to people looking for more privacy to request a river view apartment rather than a pool view, because the pool view means you are looking over the pool into the apartment on the other side, which is also looking at the pool and apartment on the other side. The kitchen facilities were very good which meant we could cook in our room, which saved us having to eat out all the time.
The hotel is walking distance from Tewantin and across the road from the Marina. We loved the fact that we were not in Noosa, however it may not suit everyone as Tewantin is like a quiet country town - no high quality restaurants or night clubs. However , the Marina is a great spot to have very good fish & chips and drinks from the Wine Bar. We ate twice at the excellent River Deck restraurant which is run by a very friendly couple and their wonderful head waiter Michael. The Marina also has very shops - The White house has lovely gifts and the Aboriginal Art & Craft shop was very good also.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights the last week of Oct 2008. We were sharing an apartment with family members. Check in was very easy and we were able to check in early since our room was clean, which was nice. There was a lot of helpful tourist brochures in the front office and the staff was excellent and very helpful throughout our stay. The answered lots of questions, booked us taxis, and booked tours for us.
Two of us were in the upstairs apartment which was huge. It was decorated very basically, but tastefully done and clean. I thought the bed and pillows were comfy, firmer than at home, but I slept with no problems!! We had a full kitchen with fridge, oven/stove, dishwasher and microwave, which was great. When our other family members arrived they took the downstairs apt which we thought would be the same, but turns out it was just a studio, so we felt bad for getting the better deal...so something to keep in mind if you're sharing a whole unit.
For those who like pools, theirs is nice there are several to choose from and they are lagoon style, it's pretty and well kept up.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Noosa Marina which has some restaurants and shops, and is where several tours leave from, it's maybe 5 minute walk. There is great bus service running to Gympie Terrace, Hastings street, and Eumundi market ( a must do), so that is no problem if you don't have a car, and most tours pick you up at the hotel. so having a car was not at all necessary, we found.
All in all it was a lovely hotel and we had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Noosa Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Noosa Lakes Resort

Address: 3 Hilton Terrace, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4565, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Tewantin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tewantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Noosa Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort is situated along the beautiful Sunshine Coast of Queensland and provides relaxing resort experence in excellent proximity to the many leisurely activities of Noosa. The property is positioned on seven landscaped acres by the shores of Lake Doonella and opposite the Noosa River, and features three lagoon-style pools (including one heated pool). Surrounded by wilderness, you are only minutes to the town centre, the beach and local attractions.The resort is one and a half hours north of Brisbane airport and just 30 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport(Maroochydore).Australis Noosa Lakes offers beach-house living accommodation. Each of the studio rooms, One bedroom Apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses have a balcony, Wi Fi internet, TV/DVD, Austar and have views over the gardens, lake, river or pools. All units are air-conditioned in the lounge room and the 1 Bedroom apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses are fully self-contained.Located adjacent to the property (just 100 metres) is the beautiful Noosa Marina, which provides restaurants, cafes, river and lake cruises, a wine bar, day spa and a The Noosa Ferry that offers access via the Noosa River to Noosa's famous Hastings Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Australis Noosa Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Noosa Lakes Hotel Tewantin
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort Tewantin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.