We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Noosa Lakes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Noosa Lakes Resort to your Saves list
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Hilton Terrace, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4565, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this resort through a wotif mystery deal. It was described as a 4 star resort; the room was very basic, although clean. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and there is limited parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our rooms to be clean, but sorry to hear that you were disappointed.

All guest feedback positive or negative is taken very seriously as it helps to continually improve our services and facilities. If you have not already expressed your concerns about the hard bed on check out, could I ask you to contact us and advise what room you stayed in so that we may look into this.

I would hope to restore your confidence next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
32
101
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coomera, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at this resort twice now, both times during the Christmas holidays and it scores points due to the fantastic pool area, they boast the largest pools in the Noosa area, there is a huge wading pool in the middle of the complex and two smaller tropical style pools (one heated) with deeper water...very pretty, well planted, rocks and lots of shady ledges and different levels...the accomodation itself is fairly basic and pretty average but clean, tidy, modern facilties and the rooms are all self catering and have laundry (shared with 1 other unit)...we stayed in a one bed which I would recommend as they are first floor (less noise) and have a dishwasher, they also have a sofa bed in the main room so good for a family stay. The other great thing about the property is the location. It is situated right opposite the Marina, which has a decent selection of restuarants, good fish and chips, a couple of very nice boutiques, homewares, toys and florist, and a beauty salon. It also boasts two very good coffee shops and it is the main stopping point for the Noosa ferry which stops along the Noosa River and ends up in Noosa Heads. You can also go on various cruises, fishing trips and dinner cruises from this marina. Less than 5 minutes walk will take you to a lovely park right by the river with BBQ facilties and kids playground plus there is a 'spray park' where the kids can run about and get wet in the fountains and jets (all free) and you can easily walk into Tewantin CBD which has supermarkets, banks etc plus lots of dining options...we have a three year and found it all so easy to get about, with the added bonus of only being a few minutes drive from Noosaville and Noosa Heads and all the rest of the wonderful Sunshine Coast

Room Tip: go for a one bed not a studio....pool view rooms are better as 'lake view' you cannot see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us. You have outlined everything that is great about the area we are located as well as giving tips on choosing the right room with the view.

All guest feedback is taken very seriously as it helps to continually improve our services and facilities.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here in December 2012. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The location is good, close to everything that you could need. The main downside was that if there is someone smoking on their balcony it does tend to drift in to other rooms, which is really annoying and then you are captive in your room.and it appears that 99% of people that stay there are smokers. Please get with the times and make it a non smoking resort like everywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you found the resort close to everything that you needed.

I am sorry that your holiday was upset by smoking guests. I think it would be wonderful if we could make the complex non smoking. The units are privately owned however, and all form part of a Community Title Scheme, unlike a hotel or privately owned resort, we are unable to enforce non smoking. Legally we are entitled to control the smoking within buildings only, such as the accommodation rooms.

We encourage guests to reframe from smoking, and we are in the process of getting the bylaws printed and installed in the rooms so that all guests, holiday and permanent, are aware that smoking is discouraged and that consideration of other guests is recommended.

All guest feedback positive or negative is taken very seriously as it helps to continually improve our services. I hope that we will welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs appartment with full kitchen, spacious lounge, bedroom and bathroom. The lounge looked over a bird sanctuary and we enjoyed having breakfast on the verandah and watching all the different bird species. The accomodation was very inexpensive and we liked the plain, functional (no frills) furnishings. We also really appreciated the samples of all the basics (milk, tea, coffee, dishwashing soap, etc.) which meant that we didn't have to go shopping as soon as we arrived. The place was clean, the staff courteous and helpful and we will definitely be back. The hotel sub-contracts its internet service and this was very poor until we got a booster device which helped some of the time.

Room Tip: The first floor appartments with a view of the bird sanctuary are quieter than the ground floor ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our native bird life made you feel you were in a sanctuary. We do offer an inexpensive option with, as you put it, no frills, but are happy to hear that our added extras are appreciated.

I am trying to correct our internet access issues, and your feedback is very welcome. Being in the rural area we are is making if difficult but hopefully we will have it fixed before you come to visit again.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

What a lovely place. I'm glad we decided not to stay in Noosa Heads as this was a great alternative. 5 minute walk to the local RSL, pub and bowling club for some authentic local places which was a nice change from the try hard Hastings Street. We even stumbled across a jamm night at the local pub with the most amazing young guitarist - a lucky bonus!
Beautiful pool areas with a choice or heated or not, and with different shade during the day it was easy to find the perfect spot or temperature that you wanted. Friendly birdlife came to visit every morning and right across the road from the bus stop to take you virtually anywhere you needed to go. We took a day trip to Steve Irwin Australia Zoo which was an easy drive.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an upstairs 1 bedroom, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so happy you decided not to stay in Noosa also. It sounds like you got to see the great things our end of Noosa has to offer. Sometimes it's nice to be away from the crowds and to appreciate the locals, especially the local wildlife.

I am glad that you found our resort to be easily accessible to everything and that our pools offered you a nice place to relax.

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything about this place was right for us. Room facilities, staff, swimming pool all good.
Reception staff friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed Noosa so much we extended our stay.
Would have no hesitation in recommending Noosa and Australis resort in particular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to express our valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our resort was the right choice for you. All guest feedback, positive or negative is taken very seriously as it helps us to continually improve our services and facilities.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Australis and Noosa in the future.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On check in, found staff to be friendly and accommodating.
Had booked a studio room which we thought was self contained (i.e. being able to cook meals).
The unit had crockery, cutlery, a microwave but not much more.
If you prefer to prepare some of your meals, the studio apartment is not for you. You would need to upgrade.
The apartment was big enough for the two of us but was a little shabby and dated.
However it was nice and clean. Sheets and towels were spotless. Pillows do need to be replaced for more comfort.
Overall I would give it a 3.5* for the studio room.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a unit that looks over the pool. In saying that, maybe not a good idea in sch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSAMGER, Manager at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. Here at the resort we pride ourselves on delivering an experience that exceeds guests expectations.

Your feedback will help future guest choose the correct room style for their stay and request the room with cooking facilities if required.

We currently have plans for room upgrades and your feedback has helped with our decision.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Darren Walters
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Noosa Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Noosa Lakes Resort

Address: 3 Hilton Terrace, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4565, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Tewantin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tewantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Noosa Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort is situated along the beautiful Sunshine Coast of Queensland and provides relaxing resort experence in excellent proximity to the many leisurely activities of Noosa. The property is positioned on seven landscaped acres by the shores of Lake Doonella and opposite the Noosa River, and features three lagoon-style pools (including one heated pool). Surrounded by wilderness, you are only minutes to the town centre, the beach and local attractions.The resort is one and a half hours north of Brisbane airport and just 30 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport(Maroochydore).Australis Noosa Lakes offers beach-house living accommodation. Each of the studio rooms, One bedroom Apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses have a balcony, Wi Fi internet, TV/DVD, Austar and have views over the gardens, lake, river or pools. All units are air-conditioned in the lounge room and the 1 Bedroom apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses are fully self-contained.Located adjacent to the property (just 100 metres) is the beautiful Noosa Marina, which provides restaurants, cafes, river and lake cruises, a wine bar, day spa and a The Noosa Ferry that offers access via the Noosa River to Noosa's famous Hastings Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Australis Noosa Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Noosa Lakes Hotel Tewantin
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort Tewantin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Noosa Lakes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.