We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Get-away spot near Cinque Terre Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Laghello di Amina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Laghello di Amina to your Saves list
Il Laghello di Amina
Loc. Laghello Snc, 19014 Framura, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Get-away spot near Cinque Terre Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Il Laghello di Amina in May 2013 and highly recommend staying here! The location and accomodations are beautiful - high up with splendid views of the Sea and countryside. The rooms are very pretty, comfortable and very well maintained. We stayed in the Yoga room which was very spacious, had access to a beautiful patio area, and had everything we needed and more. All rooms are well separated with individual entrances so everyone has privacy but also can meet in the shared garden areas. The hospitality of Lilia and her family (Guido and Guilia) is outstanding! They are very welcoming and went out of their way to assist us. For example, Lillia, via my husband, arranged for a flower bouquet in our room; Giudo followed us to leave our car in one place and then drove us back to the start of a hike; they provided lots of maps and information about the area, transportation and hiking near by. Lilia's home-made pasta dinners are delicious and Guila made me a very wonderful and special birthday cake! We debated about staying here vs directly in the Cinque Terre. It was the perfect spot becasue it was much less touristy, just as pretty, lovely accomodations and very quick to take the local train to the Cinque Terre and other nearby towns. There's great hiking and touring right at Framura which we enjoyed very much. Wish we could have stayed longer. We travel a lot and this was one of the best places we've ever stayed because of their wonderful hospitality and the pretty surroundings. Thank you Lilia for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The north of England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were a group of 10 women, staying for a week and we used 3 apartments at laghello, but came together in one for cooking and eating. The views from the terrace are superb, facing west, so a stunning sunset between the hills and down to the sea. I cannot recommend this more highly. Lilia and Guido could not have been more helpful or accommodating, as nothing was too much trouble.
The apartments were very clean, spacious with high ceilings and had everything you needed for the stay, Lilia has a soft spot for Ikea, and everything was an extremely high standard. We were so pleased we chose to stay here and not in the Cinque terre as the tourists there were suffocating, it was much better to be able to dip in and out of that.
Lilia and Guido live in their own house higher up and have olive trees, a vineyard, grow vegetables and keep bees. There is therefore an amazing amount of fresh and organic produce available and Guido has friends who make cheese and sausage as well. I am sure I will return, such lovely people living in a stunning part of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amina E, Owner at Il Laghello di Amina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
My dearest Ladies, such a surprise this morning! thank you very much for your review and for having found enough time to dedicate to us...I know how the time is precious for everybody and this is the most beautiful Christmas's gift I can received! Day by day your "ciclamnino" is nicer, it is bloomy and so wealthy! we have just finished to pick up olives and the harvest was abundant and high quality. the new oil is very good taste and I hope to have the opportunity to share it with you. your precense here in Framura was a very pleasant moment for me and for Guido and we have lots of memories of you. If you will travel around in Italy, we will be very happy to meet you again, for a pizza or for one night stay, at your convenience. the weather is still very nice, the French alpes seem so close...and the day before yesterday I picked up the herbs for the "pansotti"pasta for Christmas. and so,Sara, I thought of you! an hug, Lilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I had a fabulous week long stay here and we loved every minute of it. The house is immaculately presented and is set in pictoresse surroundings.  The house is about a 10 minute drive to Deiva Maarina station (Framura station is closer but Deiva Marina is easier to access). Lillia and her husband Geido (spelling?) are such gracious hosts and were happy to do pick ups and drop offs. The ere both soooo easy going and helpful to say the least! The view from the house was so beautiful and Lillia cooks AMAZIN food, 5 euro per person so extremly reasonable! We loved her pesto pasta, gnocchi and ravioli...delicous! They also make their own wine and honey, which were both incredibly good! They were happy to share their products and Geido even showed us his honey and explained how it was produced... their wine was very very reasonably priced and was out of this world! 
If you are feel like a nice walk then take a walk down to Framura train station, you get a good idea about italian living, away from the hussle and bussle of Cinque Tere. There is a delicous bakery there, the food was to die for! Not too far away from Framura station there s a place where you can rent bicyles which is an amazing way to see the area (i think they are only open on weekends when the summer/peak season is over) once you have rented a bicycle there is a fantastic bicycle track which goes through several old train tunnels (tunnels are light and are very easy to navigate, they have been tarmacked for easy riding). 
We stayed at this place with the intention of using it as our base while we visited all of the Cinque Tere. We have to say we thought that Cinque was overrated but we did enjoy Monotrossa and Vernazza). We planned one day for each Cinque and i honestly would not recommend it, one or two days was a sufficient amount of time to see all five. Beware, lots of tourist though!! On some days we explored other areas one highlight was a town north of Deiva Marina called Chiavari. A lovely place to explore with a great selection of shops and an AMAZING cake shop. We were served  by a little old lady, we didn't speak any Italian but you got the impression that cakes were her life! Don't be scared to hop on the train in Devia Marina or Framura and explore! We also loved Bonassola. Cinque Terre was nice, very touristy, as where other areas, which were within the same proximity offered more Ierms of, coast lines, restaurants, shopping and a true picture of the Italian lifestyle.

 Ps. Look out for the lonely Emu in Deiva Marina! 

Pps. we would give anything to be back there. Lillia and Geido were the perfect hosts and Lilla even mailed me some necklaces I had left behind in the room. Both hosts were so knowledge of all surrounding areas. If you have an idea of how you want to spend your day, Lilla was a fab person to talk to in order to make the most of yr time. So genourous and free spirited, it reminded me a lot of my home in New Zealand! 

Ppps. When exploring Deiva Marina, walk towards the ocean, then walk north to find some lovely bars and restaurants!

Really, I can't say a bad word! 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here the first week of October and this property is accurately described in the previous reviews. It is set in the hills just outside of Cinque Terra, away from the crowds. The owners were wonderful and helped make our vacation the best.They went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. We did visit Cinque Terra area and our host told us about other local hikes that many tourists do not find. Our hosts provided many suggestions of local attractions and because we did not rent a car offered us regular drives to the local village to catch a train. We sampled some italian cooking, gnocci and ravioli, made by our host and were able to purchase some of their own wine and honey. Our apartment was very comfortable and we were able to cook our own meals most nights. We had a true taste of Italy and if we reurn to Italy we will be sure to return to II Laghello di Amina. I would recommend this vacation property to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The previous review is perfectly accurate. Our hosts did everything to help make our stay there memorable. The property is set on a hillside with a magnificent view through a valley to the ocean, and mountains on the other side. The apartments are beautifully decorated, with some of the family antiques, you are welcomed with food and produce from their own vegetables and bees, and top it off with the most gracious hosts you can imagine. The beds were comfortable and we slept soundly each night - in warmer weather you would hear the the sound of the nearby stream through open windows.
I would recommend this property highly - we were at the end of our travels, and it was the perfect place to spend time together and to explore the coast. I would make sure I returned to Il Laghello di Amina if I ever return to italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'apartamento mare basso' - a downstairs apartment with access to the verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at Il Laghello di Amina for a week of exploration along the Ligurian Coast and can't overstate what a wonderful time we had there. The property is set in rural Framura, which is in easy reach to the Cinque Terre and nearby beach towns, but feels far away from the crowds and bustle that come with the coast. The apartments are in a new structure, modern and tastefully decorated with a nod to efficiency with solar power and rainwater systems. Most important is the family that owns the property and their small farm. The entire Erluison family was helpful, open and warm - we left with memories of the beautiful coast and new friendships. The property is operated as a small farm where wine grapes, olives, honey, vegetables and fruits all thrive and are offered up for tastings. We enjoyed home cooked meals from the family's pizza oven and cooked daily with the property's olive oil, honey and fresh foods. On our final day we got the chance to participate in Vendemmia, picking and preparing grapes for wine making. We and other guests on the property were also treated to a final evening's meal that celebrated our anniversary and a birthday. Although the property is removed from coastal attractions, the family happily helped with logistics and made it easy for us to get to and from our day trips. The hiking opportunities in the immediate area are also plentiful, offering a less crowded alternative to the trails between the Cinque Terre towns if you don't mind exploring off the beaten track. If meeting new people and embracing life are important to your vacation, check with Il Laghello di Amina if you plan a trip to the Cinque Terre region.

Room Tip: There are five apartments, two with views looking west at the sea and the others overlooking the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Laghello di Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Laghello di Amina

Address: Loc. Laghello Snc, 19014 Framura, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Framura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Framura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Laghello di Amina is 5-hectare farm with two houses. We live in the pink house whereas the other one is divided in 5 apartments and two rooms. At the first floor, there are the Acacie studio, the Lavande studio and the Altomare apartment. At the ground floor, there are the Rosmarino studio and the Terramare apartment, which open directly on the garden. All of our apartments are conceived to offer peace and comfort, the "Dolce far Niente", as well as the best of the traditional Italian hospitality. My grandmother, Maria, who lived in this house before us, would not have allowed a guest to leave empty-handed or without drinking a cup of coffee. This Little Old World survived here in Framura. In fact, the village is unknown by mass tourism and, for this reason here it is still possible to experience the true Italian lifestyle. Here we grow our vegetables; we take care of our vineyard, of our olive trees and of orchard. Every year we try to clear a wooden area discovering pines, chestnuts, oaks, cherry trees, acacia tress, maple trees, alders, arbutus, hazel, heathers, and rosehip and blackberry bushes. Moreover, in the wood flows an unspoiled and clear stream and springs a source of sulphur water called fonte Castalia by the University of Pisa. Finally quiet corner there are our beehives always hardworking and aiming for the best of life and flowers. We moved in Framura in 2001 when we decided to come back and live in our grandparent's house that had been empty for forty years. In fact, this was the land that my grandfather inherited by his parents and where he came to live after his marriage. The name Laghello comes from the fact that the sea, view from here, framed by the ligurian hills with the French Alps in the background reminds of a lake (lago in Italian). At night, we can see the lights of Capo Noli and San Remo and at night the lights of the fishing boats mingle with fireflies, while from the sea comes a gentle breeze that cools the air and refreshes the spirit. The ancient Greeks claimed that the places of healing should be such as to have plenty of water, clean air, and beauty and love, we hope to able to offer you all of this here. The name Amina means strong and reliable, we thought we would need to be so to take care of Laghello and of our guests. We have three dogs living with us as well as many merry robins. In summer, we also have swallows from Africa and the falcons come out to hunt every day ad midday when the shadows are clear and precise. This stretch of the Ligurian cost is one of the greenest and most unspoiled in Italy. Here the light pollution is minimal ad you can still see the stars. Ten years after we moved in Laghello the desire and the need to entrench in this place led us to renovate the old house that winter after winter, was ageing next to ours. It was December 2009 when the bulldozer started demolishing those decrepit walls, giving way to the work and to new. To strain the planet as little as possible we decided to transform the old barn in a perfectly isolated wooden guesthouse with underfloor low temperature heating, windows and doors made in natural wood, rainwater collection and recycling, organic anallergic wall paint, a heat pump for heating and warm water and solar and photovoltaic panels. Moreover, we furnished each apartment paying attention even to the smallest details they are all spacious and high with terracotta floors, ceiling with exposed beams, furniture finished in natural wax produced by our bees and there is a free Wi-Fi connection available in the house and in the garden. For us this was a dream that became project and, now, is finally real. We did everything to put together practice, energy saving, beauty and harmony to create a special and welcoming atmosphere. Our guesthouse is divided in five spacious and comfortable apartments. Each apartment is decorated with a different colour and has an independent bathroom and a kitchen as well as ironing and hand washing equipment. We have a private car park for our guest and the house is surrounded by a well-entertained wide garden with umbrellas, deck chairs and a pergola where to dine "al fresco" in summer evenings or have a nice "aperitivo" overlooking the valley and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Laghello di Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Laghello di Amina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.