We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the heart of the white mountains...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Notchland Inn to your Saves list
The Notchland Inn
2 Morey Road (Rte. 302), Hart's Location, NH 03812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place in the heart of the white mountains...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed a long Valentines day weekend at the Notchland Inn while doing some skiing in the area and had a wonderful time. The inn is conveniently located about a 10 minute drive from either Bretton Woods or Attitash/Bear ski areas. The rooms have fireplaces and there is a nightly serving of a multi-course dinner at 7pm and breakfast in the mornings. The in is run by two absolutely great guys and their very well behaved and friendly dogs. They consistently went out of their way to make us feel at home and cater to whatever requests we made of them, including calling local restaurants to check availability (we ended up eating both nights at the inn as the food was good and very convenient). They were always available to grab a bottle of wine or champagne for us from the kitchen to take to the room, chat about local attractions or whatever else we desired. One night during dinner we decided to postpone desert as we were both full and they put it aside for us in the fridge and later served it to us in the sitting room at our leisure. Its really a wonderful, romantic and friendly place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    29
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
143
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
curr. Springfield, MA area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The further back I look at our wedding, the more pleased I am that we chose to elope at the Notchland Inn. We didn't have much money for a large reception, my mother had passed recently, and too many siblings were traveling and couldn't make it...hence, the "I just want to BE married, not GET married" mentality. It was perfect. We were able to really splurge on a four night stay (great excuse when you know you're saving thousands on a regular wedding), and it was great. The meals were amazing, the ambiance, perfect. And after a long hike to Arethusa Falls, a jacuzzi and gourmet dinner were absolutely perfect. If I could go back in time, I wouldn't change one thing. Big thanks to Les for the photos, and Ed for keeping Les out of the video's angle! :) We had the best time, you guys are wonderful! Joy & Chris G.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rye, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We were there for our honeymoon. My wife and I have never stayed in a Inn that paid attention to details as the Notchland Inn. From the time we were greeter to our departure it was beyond our expectations. The cottage we stayed in, called the Sandwich, was full of amenities from a jacuzzi in the room to a romantic fireplace. Even the shower had two shower heads on each side of the shower for two to take advantage of. We love the setting right in the White Mts and the walking trails right on the property to a dam along with other trails were breathtaking. The dinner at the Inn was a 5 course dinner lasting 2 hrs and each course was amazing. I recommend the gourmet food and excellent service. In a nutshell its a place just to relax or if you like lots of hiking and trails along with shopping in N Conway.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IllustratedLynn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My fiance and I fell in love after visiting several other NH Inns.... The elopement package offered by the Notchland Inn took care of the biggest chunk of planning, which was a great weight off our shoulders! We did hire our own photographer, but only because we wanted some non-traditional artsy photography. Ed did a wonderful job with the ceremony. The staff members were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay-- but in a relaxed and casual way, nothing overly formal or stuffy. The food was delicious! Dinner is a lovely, formal event with a different menu every nite, and the cooked-to-order breakfast options are homey and unique recipes. You get a weather report and travel tips/directions with breakfast every morning, which is immensely helpful. The scenery is guaranteed to be beautiful no matter what time of year you visit, but of course the fall foliage is unrivaled in the Mt. Washington Valley! We had a wonderful time, and look forward to future visits for anniversary celebrations!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Notchland 's location sets it apart -- both literally and figuratively. Right in the middle of the White Mountains National Park far away from all the amateur tourists sitting in North Conway traffic jams or clogging up the Kancamagus Highway. While the amateurs will have to drive many miles to get to Presidential Range trailheads (or stay at AMC huts that are really not our kind of places), Notchland guests are just a five minute drive from the Presidential Range, and the challenging Mount Crawford with spectacular views is just across the road.

The Notchland itself was apparently once called the Inn Unique. It is a charming old house of carved granite with a dining room that was once a local tavern that got relocated and bolted onto the house. There is lots of old wood work, including panelling, cabinetry, and stair railings. Everything feels well lived in, and at times we felt we were visiting grandma -- at least if grandma had the cash for a well maintained old house in the mountains. Rooms in the old house are well appointed with comfortable antiques and various bits of art apparently gathered by the owners. Bed was very firm and comfortable and the bathroom was large and recently retiled.

Ed and Les are the innkeepers, and they do a great job making you feel welcome while not trying to become your best friends. They have been running the Inn for many years, and they are ready for all guest requests. For example, the cocktail hour starts at 2:00 pm -- although brunch booze is available at breakfast. Wondering about today's weather? A detailed forecast, including mountain conditions, is automatically brought to your table with the breakfast menu. These guys sweat the details!

Breakfast is much better than most New England inns. First, it runs from 8:00 am to 9:30 so you can choose whether to sleep in a bit or get up early for a hike. I hate innkeepers who allow only a short time to eat breakfast -- they are putting their convenience ahead of mine (just like all the other drivers on the Triborough Bridge). Food is cooked to order, fresh and high quality. The eggs were especially flavorful. The toast bread was baked at the Inn and was first rate. It's a good thing bacon is kosher outside of the Five Boroughs, because these guys serve thick and yummy bacon. Plus sausage and ham too -- as much as you like.

Dinner was almost, but not quite, gourmet -- certainly very good for the area. A five course meal served in one seating at 7:00 pm. Soups and appetizers were consistently superb -- imaginative and tasty. Main courses fell a bit short. The approach to meat is to overcook a roast, cut it in slices and pour on lots of thick sauce. Fish tended to be cooked until dry. Nice wine list, not overpriced.

This place is remote, even more so than the northern end of Central Park. No televisions or telephones in the rooms. No internet, and your cell phone, iPhone, and Blackberry stop working the minute you turn into the Inn driveway. If you stay here, you escape it all -- whether you want to or not!

Two big, stupid, and furry Bernese mountain dogs live at the Inn. Most of the time they just flop on the grass, but they manage to fit every Inn meal into their busy schedules as they troll the dining room looking for softies to feed them. Contrary to a prior review, we found no evidence of their bowel movements anywhere in the Inn or its grounds.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I needed a place to get away...after my second miscarriage and the sudden loss of my uncle it was time for a break. We were met at the Notchland Inn with such care. It was a restful and relaxing weekend. The room and the food were fantastic.

Not only did the Inn meet every expectation while we were guests but after as well. In my distraction I left a very important piece of jewelry in my room after check out. Not only did the Inn staff find my necklace they took the time to mail it back to me.

My husband and I were so thankful. In a time of great loss it was the staff at Notchland Inn helped me more than they could imagine.

Thank you a million times. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We eloped recently at the Notchland Inn and it was the most beautiful place for the occasion. The innkeepers, Ed and Les were both exceptionally warm and courteous.
We were exceptionally pleased with every aspect of our visit.
The breakfast each morning was excellent! We found a wide variety of things to choose from. One of the Innkeeper's assistants, Mark, was very pleasant, and we found him to be extremely helpful with any questions we had concerning activites in the area.
We had dinner there the night that we were married and we were very pleased! The Chef, Derek, obviously has a passion for cooking!
The location was extremely peaceful! Lastly, the dogs, Crawford and Felonie, were a real treat to see, too. They added a nice touch to what was already a wonderful place!

I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone considering a wedding or elopement. We loved it here, and we look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Road (Rte. 302), Hart's Location, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Notchland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.