We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, very picturesque” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Notchland Inn to your Saves list
The Notchland Inn
2 Morey Road (Rte. 302), Hart's Location, NH 03812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dedham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, very picturesque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was a nice inn, we got a great deal off of groupons. I am not sure if I would want to pay full price for the inn. The staff was nice and friendly, the rooms were very large and comfortable and it was extremely close to Mt Washington. I wasn't overly happy with the dinner. It was expensive and not very good. I would recommend going into North Conway, however the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
130
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I knew nothing about this place when we arrived other than we had a Living Social deal and my husband was really excited about it. He was right. The place is wonderful. We had a little trouble getting our GPS to find it, but fortunately the signage is good and we had plenty of notice for the turn-off. The gardens were busting out all over with color and hummingbirds. We were immediately charmed by the architecture and decor, and quickly greeted by Adam and the dogs. We were asked to choose our menu for that night's dinner and then were given a nice tour of the main house before being shown to our room.

We opted to have dinner the first night because we knew we'd be tired from driving and it would be nice to not have to find a place. That was an excellent choice, especially as it poured down rain shortly after we arrived, which I watched from our cozy room, grateful that we could just stay right where we were and watch. It felt like England. I was instantly AWAY. My cell phone didn't work, but we were able to use wifi in our room.

Dinner was nice. A different type of service than a restaurant. Just think "banquet dinner" and you'll be comfortable. They serve everyone at the same time. It may take a little longer, but we didn't have any where else to be. I laughed at the idea that you could have all the dessert you want, but it was true! They brought us seconds on desserts. We turned down thirds, but they were offered. The drinks were good, if perhaps a smidge expensive, but you expect that for a resort.

We slept well that night, but in the morning we had a small problem with our room. I'll just say this. Crises happen. How they are dealt with tells you everything. We were quickly helped, with an overwhelming tone of concern, help, compassion, and friendship. Moved within minutes to an even better room, no fuss, no problem. It was over LIKE THAT. Boom. These guys are PROS. They totally know how to handle problems. They won me over in a split second.

Moved to the Kinsman room, our stay got even better. That room is huge, and yet still cozy. We had plenty of space to stretch out. A nice tub. Just quaint touches everywhere, but not cluttered. Not over done. Everything we needed was there for us, along with promises of anything we might have forgotten being available.

Breakfasts were fantastic. I had the blueberry pancakes both days because they were that good. Like dessert the night before, you could have as much breakfast as you wanted. Want pancakes AND eggs AND yogurt? No problem. Order what you'd like. No worries. And good coffee! I also appreciated the weather report each morning.

I would go back in a heartbeat. I am already pricing return visits.

Room Tip: The Kinsman was huge and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Notchland Inn is a hidden gem in the heart of the White Mountains. I had bought a Groupon and my husband and I stayed for 2 nights in June. We live in CT and go to the White Mountains 1-2 times a year and usually stay in chain hotels that are far from the places we like to hike/eat/sightsee. The Notchland Inn was in the heart of it all but you felt like you were in such a private secluded place. The inn keepers were amazing...and so was the their resident Bermese Mountain dog! The food and wine were AMAZING as well. You can watch the hummingbirds on the feeders outside the windows next to each table. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a wonderful getaway inn in the White Mountains of NH in a less crowded and developed "notch" (Crawford Notch). Very nicely appointed rooms and suites, exceptionally thoughtful touches in the rooms, very good food and friendly engaging hosts and a beautiful setting. Nice hikes nearby of all lengths and difficulty levels. Nice swimming hole in the river nearby too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

bought a groupon to this inn and was not sure what to expect. What an amzing place from the lovely grounds, to the friendly and helplful staff to the amazing 5 course gourmet meal. This place was charming and secluded. at first flet funny did not have access to TV or phone but it was a great hideaway. the area is great for hiking and Notchland has a swimming hole on its property.

We plan to come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our mini getaway honeymoon weekend since it was truly the only time we had and the living social deal helped. It was money so well spent.It was perfect for us. There is absolutely no cell phones to bother us or wifi. We were able to check in at home with the use of the hallway computer. No tv or phone.....delightful!
We pretty much never left the Inn other than for some walks. We had dinner both nights, and it was worth it to not have to leave our home for the weekend. Dinner was really good and worth the money. Service was good as well. Breakfast was very informational and the Innkeepers were truly helpful with what to do in the area, although we were much more interested in relaxing.
My husband and I think this home would be great for a murder mystery weekend! The reading room off the back reminded us of the movie Clue and the conservatory.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked Notchland a day before for a quick weekend getaway with my wife... we were lucky and got the last room... knew nothing about the place but looked decent from the website. We lucked out big time, the charm, vibe and good natured hosts there made for a memorable trip.

The food was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and it was a nice break from cell phones and TV's (no tv in rooms and no cell service).

rooms are well kept, the overall vibe is laid back.

ask about the trails across the street, there is a great swimming hole at the river that was a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Road (Rte. 302), Hart's Location, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Notchland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.