We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new restaurant im Montisi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Barrino - l'Ombelico del Mondo

Il Barrino - l'Ombelico del Mondo
Via Umbero I, 147 | 53020, Montisi, Italy
0577 845190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Montisi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Marietta, Georgia USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A new restaurant im Montisi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A new restaurant in Montisi this year is “Il Barrino”. Walking by one day, we were intrigued with the open door view inside the restaurant. Beautifully decorated now, it is actually a cave they discovered many years ago. The city was above and this was the underground storage where a shoot would pour grain down into. The manager, Alessandro, offered to show us the modern furnished wine tasting room in the back. A large tasting table with chairs in the center was surrounded by their extensive wine racks. In one corner was an antique meat slicer and in the other an antique bottle corker. We decided to stay for lunch and Alesandro, who speaks excellent English told us about their menu. The salad greens were picked a few hours earlier from a nearby farm. The potato cake was potatoes similar to our mashed on the bottom, then ham and cheese and then another layer of potatoes all baked in the oven. The eggplant Parmesan was also delicious. We didn’t have time to try out the other new restaurants that make Montisi a good place for travelers to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    24
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in a month of meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We ran into a couple from Switzerland who was staying at our hotel and they recommended this place. There is no menu, but be sure to try the pear with pecorino cheese. To die for!!!. The owner is charming, and very gracious. His mother's food is amazing, we tried 4 entrees and he divided each into 4 servings so we could share. Each course exceeded the previous one and then came dessert. It is a good thing I live 4000 miles away or I would really gain weight as I would eat there every week.
We had many good meals in our travels but this one just amazed us. We continue to talk about it and wish we could visit again. Montisi is a wonderful town and we really enjoyed every bit of our time there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Staying locally in Montisi we went to Il Barrino after reading TA reviews and we are so glad we did! The owner; Gianluca was a extremely friendly man, who serves like he would his family, not customers. There is no menu, so we let him explain the options to us and chose and antipasti plate and three different filled pastas, which he paired with local wines. You must have the pear and pecorino ravioli with truffle mascarpone; it will be the best thing you eat in Italy. Dessert is a must with a glass of Moscato D'asti to follow. To top it all off the meal with aperitif, starters, mains, wines, desserts and sweet wines all came to Eur 58; we would have paid twice this for the quality and service. Do not hesitate to make a detour and eat here; it will be worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tale of two meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to il Barrino twice. The first time was fantastic 5/5. The next time closer to 3/5. It was recommended to us as the best local cooking in the San Giovanni region. The first time was fantastic. We had mixed antipasto including 3 types of bruscetta and cold meats. It was delicious. Then delicious pasta (though we did notice the locals got a meat dish that we were not offered). The ricotta cake for dessert was truly amazing.The owner was charming. We decided to book for 12 the next week. I group went their separate ways during the day and I was anxious we get there on time and not let the owner down. I need not have worried. When we arrived, the table was not set and he had clearly forgotten our booking. He suggested that we have antipasto and 3 types of pasta. I agreed expecting plates of pasta in the middle of the table (as we had seen the previous week for another large group). It soon became clear that we were going to be served 3 large pasta courses in sequence (which was just way too much pasta - I don't know if they think this is what anglos want?). I had to intervene and talk to the owner. The antipasto was also not nearly as good as the previous week. The service was slow and the owner not particularly helpful. We left feeling let down and disappointed. To be fair, this was probably partly because the previous week had been such an anjoyable surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Italian food experience I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We gave this place a chance based on Trip reviews and the fact that all the locals seem to hang out downstairs and outside. The decor is unusually modern. The owner (Gianluca) is one of the nicest restaurant patrons I've come across. His mum cooks - there's no menu, just what's seasonal. And everything is outstanding! We tried the pasta selection which was mascarpone and ricotta filled ravioli with walnut sauce, pici with pecorino cream sauce and a ricotta ravioli with wild boar ragu. Amazing food. Service was fantastic. I'd go here again in a second.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Barrino - l'Ombelico del Mondo also viewed

Montisi, Province of Siena
Montisi, Province of Siena
 
Montisi, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Barrino - l'Ombelico del Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Barrino - l'Ombelico del Mondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.