We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature lover's paradise in the heart of Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Capanna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montisi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Capanna
Save
You added La Capanna to your Saves list
Podere Campretino, 53020 Montisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Montisi B&B and Inns
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nature lover's paradise in the heart of Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Don't expect a Tuscan Villa with a swimming pool - La Capanna is different: it is an outhouse of an old farm that has been renovated, partly rebuilt and thoughtfully converted into a self-contained holiday apartment. It is small but has everything you need and the use of space is excellent. It has stunning views towards Castelmuzio and Montisi (especially at sunset) and is very close to nature. When we stayed in May/June, the cuckoo was a constant companion, we heard an owl and wild boars during the night and even saw a Hoopoe bird right outside the very stylish front door. There is no shortage of wildflowers if you want to pick a bunch and put them on the table.
The owners are very helpful - Rachel provides Reiki in a beautiful room and Michele is full of local knowledge about events, beautiful areas to visit and places to buy wine and olive oil.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

The scenery around Montisi is utterly breathtaking. Having visited a number of parts of Tuscany, the golds and ocres is this area in summer make it my favourite. As for Montisi itself, its small and friendly and particularly enjoyable around the time of the Festival in early August. The accommodation at Campana is small, neat and stylish. It's been done up with a real attention to detail that is a delight. Rachel and Michele are charming hosts with a house nearby and both speak excellent English – in fact, Rachel is English! The town is something like 10 min walk, and the nearest neighbours 5 minutes walk, so it is extremely peaceful. You don't get a swimming pool, but there's an outdoor municipal one in Trequanda. We were there as a couple with our boys aged 8 and 11. You probably wouldn't want any more than that, so this is properly best suited to a couple with or without young children. I kept thinking that the peace, the beauty of the surroundings and the stylishness of Campana itself would make it an absolutely ideal writer's retreat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We arrived at the end of a hot dusty country road and didn't know what to expect - we were totally charmed by both the view and the cottage and decided to return almost before we'd arrived! Our hosts, including their daughter, were very friendly and so willing to help us get the best from our stay in the area that we felt totally at home. Their local knowledge, especially with wine and local food specialities was much appreciated. Tuscany is a beautiful area and this capanna is a special treasure in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

La Capanna is a wonderful rural retreat up in the hills above the village of Montisi.....the house is spotless and has everything you would need for a self catering holiday .The views are fantastic looking down over the Tuscan countryside and Montisi itself. The situation lends itself to walking and exploring the Tuscan countryside, as well as other villages nearby like historic Sienna or Montepulciano. Your helpful hosts, Rachel and Michele, are on hand nearby should you require anything during your stay and are very knowledgeable about the local area and any activities that are available. Rachel is also a reiki master should you wish to have a treatment or two during your stay...... I would highly recommend this special place for a couple with 1 or 2 children who want to get away from the crowds and be a bit more off the beaten track..............

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

La Capanna is a beautiful retreat up a rural road just outside Montisi.
It is simply but comfortably appointed . The location is very special and the views to the valley below are stunning.
The Capanna is immaculately clean and well kitted out and Rachel was very happy to help in any way. We even had delicious home-made bread.
There is so much to do in the surrounding towns but a stroll down to Montisi for a ristretto in the local cafe is a must. The locals are so friendly and warm. The olive oil festival in October was fabulous with local artisans selling not just oils but honey and other crafts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Capanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Capanna

Address: Podere Campretino, 53020 Montisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Capanna is a self-contained guest house built in local stone, perfect for a couple or small family. It is situated across the valley from the village of Montisi on a small rural estate, surrounded by lovely views and with a private outdoor area for playing or sunbathing.It is an ideal location for anyone who wishes to escape the noise and confusion of the city, to write, to reflect or just relax.The price of La Capanna is based on a maximum occupancy of a couple plus 2 small children and is designed to privilege the family budget. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.