We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Tokai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Morningside Cottage to your Saves list
Morningside Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Thatch Close, Tokai 7945, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Tokai B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Tokai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the morningside for 5 moths and it really felt like home.
The staff is extremly friendly and very helpful. The room are cosy (not too warm in the summer nor too cold in the winter).
It s well located in a cute and safe area.
And of course you have shopping villages and mall 5 minutes away.
You can chill in the living room or hang out on the terasse around the cool pool.

Anyway, I can only recommand that Guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Morningside is the perfect location; out of the way of city hustle and bustle, but close enough to the major attractions. The people there could not be more accommodating and the cottage itself is cozy and inviting. Sharon is so friendly and goes above and beyond her job description.

Room Tip: Tell Sharon exactly what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Tasty home-cooked meals and friendly staff! Several grocery stores and the local mall are within walking distance of the cottage. The rooms are comfy and did the job perfectly for my three friends and I.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice and quiet place, good location. We wanted a place far from the city center but acessible, this one is the perfect, close tho the constantia wine lands, +/- 30min from the city, very comfortable, cousy. I would definitively recommend and go back if I have the chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed here a few times for business and every time the service has been excellent. The breakfast options are also great and the rooms nicely decorated with very comfy beds! I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were welcomed by Sharon as we arrived. She really got us settled in in no time at all. We wanted to stay somewhere different in Cape Town and loved Tokai. We stayed for 2 nights and were sad to leave. Ursula thanks for a great stay.We felt at home.The whole vibe was so relaxed and friendly.One can see they are passionate about what they do.Breakfasts were awesome.
Will recommend anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wackersberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We loved that place, it's extremly nice to seat on the pool in the shade, enjoy a good breakfast after a refreshing night in a very nice, tranquil room. You will hear only the ibis chatting on the lawn.
Dieter, 2013

Room Tip: Book in time, other people know that prefered area of Cape Town, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morningside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Cottage

Address: 3 Thatch Close, Tokai 7945, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Tokai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tokai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morningside Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Morningside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Cottage Cape Town/Tokai, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.