We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Cape town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Cottage

Save Saved
You added Morningside Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morningside Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Thatch Close, Tokai 7945, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tokai B&B and Inns
Imola Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay in Cape town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had a great time in the Morninsside Cottage. The staff was very kind and helpfull all the time. They made me feel like at home. I had a clean room with kitchen where i cooked my own food. Tv had many international channel. Internet wireless was working properly. About 30 minutes driving from downtown. 2 shopping centers in 25 minutes walking. Very relaxing.
It will be my place again , my next trip to Cape Town

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nepal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Morningside offers four star quality accommodation. The cottage is cosy and has most amenities one would need for a night's stay. The communal lounge area is very comfortable and has much information for tourists wanting to explore Cape Town. The garden and patio area is filled with sunlight and is perfect for relaxing. This establishment is ideal for business and leisure travelers. Thank you for the excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We needed a place to sleep close by the gourmet food at steenberg and constantia uitsig without driving over a pass or around to the city after wine. We found this through Greenwood Guides and chose it based on proximity. While the cottage feel is usually not "our cup of tea", the service was superb and the room had everything we needed.

Breakfast had a full menu and the flapjacks and bacon was a nice break from the usual full english - although they have that too!

The location could not be better - 1 mile left to steenberg, 1 mile right to constantia uitsig, in a quiet little residential neighborhood which makes you question again why you don't live here!

The best bit was their friendliness to our requests - as we were flying out late in the evening we asked for a later check out. Even though there was a new intake of guests and they needed our room they made us feel very very comfortable in their lounge and pool and even tried to continue to serve us drinks and tea.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We have just returned from Cape Town and loved Morningside Cottage and the friendly staff -who really couldn't do enough to make our stay a really wonderful experience. A traditional cottage tastefully designed, wonderful breakfasts, and a small pool to cool off in after a hard days shopping. We recommned Red and Jakes to eat, Steenburg Estate for golf and Spa and of course the V and A Waterfront for shopping!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Comfortable rooms which were beautifully clean and nicely decorated to a high standard and an excellent breakfast served in a tranquil dining room. Morningside is perfectly located for business or pleasure, not too near the centre of town! After a hard day around Cape Town it even has a lovely pool to cool off in.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morningside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Cottage

Address: 3 Thatch Close, Tokai 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Tokai
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tokai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morningside Cottage 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Morningside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Cottage Cape Town/Tokai, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.