We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medusa Resort tranquility.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medusa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Medusa Resort to your Saves list
Medusa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaka Beach, Plaka 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plaka
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Medusa Resort tranquility.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in the Resort in June 2014. We found a delightful restful resort with the friendly helpful staff always ready to make our stay just perfect.They arranged a rental car for us and it was delivered and collected which made life very easy as the town is about 15 - 20 minutes away.
The accommodation is clean and up to date, the restaurant provides a good variety of excellent options.If we were to be lucky enough to return we would stay here.

Room Tip: Hire a rental car, it is easy to get around this interesting Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    34
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Mendusa is secluded, peaceful, gives great service, very beautifully appointed rooms offering unobstructed views. Hooray!

Much of the Greek Islands are hyper developed. Wall to wall hotels, constantly surrounded by other holidaymakers...that's not really an island escape for me.

In came Mendusa Resort- deliberately tucked behind a dirt road at the edge of Plaka on Naxos.

I stayed herebecause friends were getting married here. The rooms are HUGE. One of the wedding guests was offered a family room upgrade - we could have had 5 people stay in that room with no troubles. Also on site are villas with hottubs on the roof. Bliss!

The bar and restaurant offer excellent food and drinks. My favorite was the grilled fresh fish, with one of the best Greek Salads I've had. Washed down with a local Naxian white wine :)

Mariangela and Jason looked after our every need, including dinner reservations and car bookings.

Overall, I had a great time. I don't normally stay at resorts when holidaying but I felt Mendusa gave me great service, while offering the freedom I want on holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

+ wonderfull garden, stylish "old" furniture in reception etc, clean quiet rooms, friendly personnel, good food, wine and cocktails, wonderfull sand beach, perfect for couples

- menu could be more "greek", 20 min walk over beach to the next restaurant

Room Tip: 305 has great view and is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Medusa Resort is the perfect Stay for us. We was there two weeks with two children
and the Medusa Family is so friendly and helpfull.The Service is amazing their running all the
time to make everything perfect.The beach is beautiful and not crowded.The rooms are very
clean and nice.The Medusa Resort have also good and fesh food .Rent a car to explore the Island and the nice Taverns everywhere.
We enjoyed our Holiday and we are still relaxed from this wonderfull place.
We will come back!!! Try the Yoga lesson :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

we had a wonderful time in that lovely hotel, in plain nature, next to the sea. It is so peaceful there, houses and garden are just beautiful, the owner and her staff are very, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the pretty garden was delicious, we enjoyed it as well as the friendly young men who served it. The little restaurant-bar by the sea is ideal, the dinner is for Germans a bit too late. A car is a must to discover the beautiful island and to reach other places. We hope to come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rare location: there is no road between the hotel and the beach, so that the hotel has direct access to the beach which is very beautiful. Nicely decorated suites (rooms are more conventional). Nice and well maintained garden decorated with antiquities and oriental furniture, breakfast is served there. Personnel is very polite and service is prompt. Good food at the beach restaurant. Reasonable price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was not at all up to our expectations. We are Greek and paid a high daily rate without getting anything back. Poor breakfast and poor accommodation. Poor quality of beach in front of the hotel compared to other beaches in the island.Dirty swimming pool, not good quality of food ingredients etc... Another sad story ...

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medusaresort, Διευθυντής at Medusa Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Maria P.,
We take under consideration all our guests’ suggestions and we always try for the best.

The treatment is the same for all our clients; we do not distinguish Greeks and non-Greeks.
They are all taken of special care and we make them feel like home!

However, you forgot to mention that there was already a discount offered for the eight days of your reservation on your room rate, although you stayed only two!
According to the Resort’s cancellation policy and the Greek law as well, in case of an earlier departure than scheduled, the 50% of the remaining nights has to be kept; but this amount was never charged to your account.

As far as our menu in concerned we have been always using very fresh local Naxian products, either vegetables or meat or fish.

We would also like to point out that the Resort’s seawater swimming pool gets thoroughly clean and PH checked, twice per day and there is an employee who is responsible to do so.

As far as the Plaka beach (one of the most beautiful beaches on the island which have been honored in the past for its cleanliness) is concerned, we have to mention that Medusa Resort is the only resort in Naxos with a direct access to that beach!

We have also to inform you that we provide an organized beach with beach chairs/umbrellas and beach towels complimentary for all our guests.

We are sorry that Medusa Resort did not fulfill your expectations.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Medusa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Resort

Address: Plaka Beach, Plaka 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medusa Resort is 12klm away from the centre of Naxos, Chora, and is situated at the beautiful 7klm long, beach of Plaka. Medusa Resort consists of 14 standard double rooms, 2 deluxe double rooms, 1 maisonette, 1 family suite, 1 junior suite and 2 executive suites. Each room is just steps away from the beach and has a panoramic view of the resort's tropical garden and the blue and turquoise sea. Guests will experience magnificent sunsets from their balconies and verandas. The Resort also offers an a la carte restaurant, a seawater swimming pool and a beach/pool bar among other facilities, such as laundry service. Doctor on call. Wake up call services. Newspaper of choice delivered upon request, shuttle bus service (from the port or airport to the hotel and vice versa), outdoor parking, Room service, BBQ nights, sun beds, umbrellas and beach towels, our friendly service combined with the unique location, are the major elements, which contributes to the absolute satisfaction and relaxation of each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Medusa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Plaka
Medusa Hotel Naxos City
Medusa Resort Naxos/Plaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medusa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.