We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Studio Athina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athina Studios and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Athina Studios and Apartments to your Saves list
Athina Studios and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maraggas | Agia Anna, Plaka 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time at Studio Athina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stopped in Naxos for 2 nights and what better place to be than at Studios Athina.

The studios are located in the fantastic Plaka beach area (probably the most prime stretch of the plaka area). The entire area is quite rustic but busy with tourists at the beach or getting food at a nearby taverna.

Highlights of the studios:
1) The rooms are very tastefully decorated and give you a strong island feel. The rooms are very clean, bright and airy.
2) Athina makes you feel so very welcome that you know already that your holiday is going to be comfortable
3) The pool is small but very nice. We met a lot of friendly people around the pool. The beach is right outside the entrance too!
4) Bus stop for buses to Chora town is right outside the studios and Athina keeps an up to date schedule of buses
5) Great restaurants and one mini market within walking distance of the studios (Maragas, Vlassis Family taverna).
6) The little harbour near Iria beach is within walking distance from the studios. We went there for dinner and loved the restaurants there.

Verdict: You cannot go wrong with this lovely location and accomodation. Higly recommended!!!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

This was a delightful experience. We arrived with two friends from Canada and wanted good and relaxing accomodation, with good beeach facilities, reiable service, and in general a positive experience. We were not disappointed. Athena, the manager, was extremly warm and inviting from the first time of meeting, and did all she could to insure that our stay was a pleasant one. We recieved a very warm wlecome, including wine in the room, and ongoining inquiries abourt our experience during the four days. We recommend the experience very highly, and would definitely stay there again on a return visit to the island.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie tourers
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

There is little more to say. We relied on the Tripadvisor reviews and were thrilled with this accommodation. Athina is as wonderful as described. We stayed in the Muses which was delightful, 85 Euros and worth every centime. It was nice to be out of Naxos town, with the bus connecting every half hour. the beach is lovely and the nearby tavernas gave so much choice. Highly recommended. Thanks Athina.

  • Liked — Unique Greek experience
  • Disliked — Windy weather
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

We had a wonderful time on Naxos and a delightful stay at Athina Studios and Apartments. We would recommend this property without hesitation for couples, families, singles....anyone. Accommodations were very comfortable and spacious, although the beds were a bid hard. (This is typical of Greece, however, and hard to avoid.) Our unit (perhaps all of them?) had a fully equipped small kitchen so guests can cook some of their meals, if they're so inclined. The location is perfection: Right across a small road from the Plaka Beach, the best beach on Naxos (clean, soft sand, plenty of lounge chairs to rent, lovely view of Paros). The garden is beautiful, there's a barbeque if you feel like grilling, each unit has clothes lines for drying clothes, bathing suits, plenty of parking. Many restaurants and food stores nearby, but the area is still feels rather quiet and uncrowded.

The best thing, however, is Athina herself -- a life force of enormous energy and charm, who works long hours, and will do her utmost to help you have an enjoyable time on Naxos. She can give you plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat. No breakfast is served as they don't have the facilities, but Athina's mother provides some delicious baked goods daily which are served in the office along with coffee.

We especially enjoyed the Three Brothers Restaurant down the road. It happens to be owned by relatives of Athina, but still an excellent choice. We enjoyed everything we ate there, including some great fish, as well as some compiimentary desserts. The people of Naxos seem very generous-spirited and there seems to be a custom to give complimentary desserts or other treats in every restaurant.

Naxos is beautiful and I strongly recommend rousing yourself from the lovely beach, renting a car, and exploring the island. A visit to the town of Apiranthos makes a nice day trip, but note that their several museums are closed after 1 or 2 pm. so try to arrive early. My husband, who's a baklava gourmand, had the best baklava of the trip at a delightful bakery/cafe in Apiranthos which was artistically decorated with antiques and whimsical objects. Unfortunately, the owner was silent and unfriendly (very unusual for Naxos), but never mind. Probably sick of tourists. At least the waitress was friendly. Just order one of their truly yummy pastries and a cup of coffee, sit outside on the balcony and revel in your tasty treat and your happiness in being on Naxos.

  • Liked — Athina
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Just a quick review on our holiday in Naxos - we spent 4 nights with Athina & actually stayed in the newer apartments located right next to Studio Athina called Muses. Totally agree with all the reviews on this site - Athina was so welcoming, warm and helpful. She was waiting for us as our taxi arrived & knew exactly who were were & where we came from! There is nothing she would not do for you! Gave us brilliant restaurant recommendations(Palatia in Agia Anna & Three Brothers on PLaka beach come highly recommended!) - food superb, and very reasonable! The room we stayed in was gorgeous and had a lovely view of the sea. Clean, new, modern and very tastefully decorated with all the 'extra's that make Muses/Athina a cut above the rest! White gowns, slippers, etc and the delicious pastries/nibbles in the morning to go with your coffee!You are literally on the beach glorius Plaka beach and away from the crowds. I'd say Studio Athina/Muses is for sure the nicest place to stay along Plaka beach! I'd definitely return - next time I would fly direct to Naxos and spend a full week there (give Athens and the ferry a miss!)- was truly a few days to remember! Cannot recommend more highly to anyone!

  • Liked — Kindness of Athina, the owner and her advice on everything. Accommodation superb as well
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Well what can I say other than all of the reviews which have been posted are spot on in their appraisal of this place as it is absolutely wonderful. The quality of the rooms, the pool, the grounds and most of all the hospitality of Athina and her staff are better than any I have ever stayed in whilst travelling in Greece. I am always reluctant to return to a holiday destination as there is so much of the world to see but for this accomodation I will have to make an exception.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect for us.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

Athina Studios & Apartments are very cosy, clean and a friendly place to stay. The studios are located metres from the beach with fab restaurants on your door step (especially the mexican!). The views are lovely to wake up to every morning...along with the freshly brewed coffee and pastries. We stayed in a standard double apartment which was clean & spacious with a decent sized balcony. The two ladies Athina & Andrea who run the show are very sweet and extremely welcoming. Out of the strip of apartments along Plaka Beach, Athina Studios seemed to be the most attractive. Plaka beach is beautiful which the clearest water I've seen anywhere in the med!

  • Liked — Location & Friendliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athina Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina Studios and Apartments

Address: Maraggas | Agia Anna, Plaka 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athina Studios and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Athina Studios and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athina Studios And Apartments Hotel Naxos
Athina Studios And Apartments Naxos/Plaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athina Studios and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.