We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best seafood around... and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant

Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant
115 Greenwell Point Road, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
+61 2 4447 1471
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Café, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: PELICAN ROCKS has been around some 30 plus years now and offers you choice of Sams Cafe downstairs - open Breakfast with All Day Breakies - with big breakfasts to pancakes and Lunch with the Best Seafood Baskets freshest Local Fish Chips Burgers Chicken Ceasar and Greek Salads Vegetarian Burgers Scallop Prawn Salads Fresh Oysters Fresh Prawns and much more ..Great Coffee Cake Slices Milkshakes and Nans Icecreams. Restaurant upstairs Great Food .Freshest of Local Seafoods Great Platters.Tender Steaks Chicken dishes Vegetarian Plates Childrens Menu and more. Restaurant has now been revamped for Weddings including Bridal Party Make Up Room .Great Menus Great Verandah Views a Friendly Relaxed Place to Visit in the Shoalhaven. Greenwell Point ....
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best seafood around... and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I would strongly recommend Pelican Rocks. We went to the cafe downstairs for lunch.
I had the oyster and prawn plate, my husband had the seafood basket and our friends both had fish burgers with beer battered chips. Firstly, the seafood basket is more than a seafood basket. It is a platter with fresh prawns, oysters, cooked fish, cooked prawns and tender calamari. The side salads are not token leaves. They are full, delicious beautifully dressed salads. Outstanding. My seafood plate was adored with some of the best oysters I have ever tasted and perfectly fresh prawns.
As for the fish burgers, our friends both described the as the best burgers they had ever tasted. One of these people s the fussiest eater i know!!
As for their beer battered chips- you have to try them for yourself!!
The seating at th cafe is also sheltered from the wind unlike other eateries.
Finally- outstanding, fast service from Smiling Sam and the crew.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not bad - but dated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Return visit after a few years.
Everything was pretty good really.
Food was pretty good, service was fine, atmosphere pretty laid back.
I reckon the pricing was above what it warranted.
Felt to me like its sponging a bit off its past reputation - charging top dollar yet not really warranting it.
I guess I'd sum it up by saying, it felt like you're paying a "fine dining" price but that's not really what we got.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culburra Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visit here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I love pelican rocks. The food is so good and the value for money worth every cent. It is good old fashioned quality.. No over priced small meals. Call Ron before going and he will try and organise to source any seafood you would like to try. We will be back and so should everyone else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Positive Positive Positive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I am shocked by the negative reviews!! If your a local you will apreciate the atmosphere, set up, and menu Pelican Rocks, my family often eats here... This isn't Sydney or Melbourne and its not a restuarant overlooking the harbour bridge! @mukta84 if you look at the advertisment it states 'bookings essential' to me thats pretty straight forward so their is no need to get offended if asked do you have a booking! I love it here its so down to earth, delicious well presented and just relaxed.. Out of all the places in Nowra I'd eat here first! Love the freshness of the sea food and definatly wouldnt want them
to rush cooking it if your that hungry come to dinner earlier!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syd
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Attention:Gordon Ramsay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service on arrival was poor. We were asked if we had a booking when more than half the restaurant was empty (at 7ish). The appetiser seemed pretty cheap and tasteless...not to mention the styling of the restaurant. The menu was limited, outdated and did have a range of seafood that you would expect for a waterfront 'Seafood' restaurant. We waited a while to get served, then, when we did get served...our food took about/over half an hour to get to the table.

Extremely overpriced, tasteless food. Maybe good for retired people who have a boat and no taste. The music was a complete turnoff for a well-priced place.
It has potential to be a nice place if renovated, well-managed and thought through.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven
Culburra Beach, Shoalhaven
 
Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.