We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific two days.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Rest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Angler's Rest to your Saves list
Angler's Rest
119a Greenwell Point Rd, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific two days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Angler's Rest for two nights on our way up North. Check in with Mick was a breeze - friendly & informative. The cabin was clean & comfortable, with lovely crisp white linen on the bed. There was everything you needed in the kitchen - & the shower was hot with GREAT water pressure. Nothing worse than having to run around in the shower to get wet..!!! We stayed mid week, so the area was very quiet & peaceful & we slept like babies. The view from the front verandah was great - looking over the water at sunset & again at breakfast time - very relaxing. It wasn't until after we booked that we noticed that pets were allowed in the cabins, but there was absolutely no evidence that there had been one in the cabin recently - no doggie smell or hair on the couch.!!! We had an evening meal at the local bowls club "Chinese Restaurant" - which we can thoroughly recommend. We would certainly stay at Angler's Rest again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sheryl,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much, and that Manager Mick and Shiny Shaz have done such a great job, again. Next time we'll see if we can deliver something even better!

Thanks again,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week, first time here. Great location, Spotless cabin, Friendly check-in with Mick. Most importantly had a great break, especially being able to bring our treasured mutt "Anzac" with us . Look forward to staying here again in the near future.

Naomi, Matt & Anzac

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Naomi & Matt,

As dog owners we are acutely aware of how difficult it is to holiday happily as a whole family, so we're very glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves so much.

Cheers,

Liz, Simon Mick & Shaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Anglers Rest over the Anzac weekend & cannot reccommend this place highly enough. Being able to take our dog on holidyas with us is just the best, also staying somewhere that you know your pet is welcome is a great feeling. The accomodation is just wonderful, sitting on the balcony having breakfast in the sun or a wine as sun goes down, you can't beat it! Liz & Simon are wonderful hosts and we have already booked our Christmas holiday, can't wait to go back to the peace & quiet and serenity of the this little gem.

Room Tip: Deluxe Cabin #2 is a little home away from home, great for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for this "Wonderful" review! Our aim is to meet or exceed all of our customers' expectations, and we do a pretty good job of it. Sometimes traveling can be a little stressful, especially if we have to leave our "4-legged-friends" at home, so we are happy to be able to provide accommodation for your whole family!
Looking forward to seeing you again over the Christmas Holidays...
Mick, Liz, Simon and Shaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a cabin two nights and it was really cosy and lovely to look out over the water whilst having our breakfast. The beds were comfy and the cabin had everything we needed. Mick who runs the place was so friendly and helpful in providing us with local information! We also went out on a boat ride with our kids and it was beautiful to take in the scenery. We were so lucky as nearby we went on a whale watching cruise and saw some playful humbacks, Brilliant! Great place, we will visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review us here on TripAdvisor, and thanks again for sharing the photo of the humpback whale breach! I've posted your photo up on Facebook and have had quite a good response from the community. I'm happy that you and your family had a great time and that your expectations were met. Not only are we "pet-friendly" and "children-friendly", we're just plain friendly!
Looking forward to hosting you again...
Cheers,
Mick, Liz, Simon and Shaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed two nights in one of their cabins. They are well positioned with the water, fishing spots, and boat ramp just across the road and the swimming pool, walking/cycle track, and fish & chip shop just across the road also. It's a neat, and quite park with only a few very nice cabins and powered sites. It's at the very top end of what we can afford but given it's location it is worth checking out. If you're familiar with this quite little fishing town then this is where you want to stay. They have some mid week specials on their website which make a stay a whole lot more affordable particularly if you are staying with 4 or 5 people as this is one of those places that charge extra for each additional person after the first 2. They are also pet friendly so each cabin has a gated outdoor area which is great for little kids too.

Room Tip: Cabin 7 has a queen and a second room with a double bed and bunk were as some of the other cabins ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write this review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the area. Greenwell Point is one of those "hidden gems" that not everyone has found out about yet, and Angler's Rest is a great place to base your South Coast Holiday. We hope you can come enjoy our hospitality again soon...
Regards,
Mick, Liz, Simon and Shaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights and loved every moment of it. The self contained cabins was very well equipped and had everything we needed. They even had a life jacket for our pet with the boat hire. Very quite and peaceful location. Definitely going there again...highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time review us on TripAdvisor Sandeep.
It was a pleasure having you and your family here and I'm glad you took advantage of the wonderful winter weather we've been having to take your wife and pooch on a boat ride!
We look forward to having you stay with us again. When you book in for your next stay make sure you mention that you've stayed here within the last year and we will offer you our special "loyalty discount". Until we meet again...
Mick, Liz, Simon, and the crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the house for two nights with our daughter and husband as well as the in-laws. Very impressed with the accommodation and the location. Close to everything including boat ramp, park, pool and shops. Will definitely be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Guest Relations Manager at Angler's Rest, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Greenwell Point holiday House is a wonderful place to stay, and as you stated is "close to everything". We do our best to ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guests.
Next time you book, if within the next 12 months, please make sure you mention that you stayed here before and we will extend to you our "loyalty" discount of 10%!
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards,
Mick, Liz, Simon and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Rest

Address: 119a Greenwell Point Rd, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Greenwell Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angler’s Rest waterfront cabins and boat hire is located at the tip of Greenwell Point, opposite the boat ramp, playground, wharf and swimming pool. There are 7 cabins and 1 villa (old manager's residence). All cabins directly across from the water, are fully self contained and sleep a maximum of 4 - 8 people. There is parking for your car or boat and a gated deck to help manage young children or dogs — yes, we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Angler's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.