We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and great welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Bay Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Bay Motel to your Saves list
Anchor Bay Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   113 Greenwell Point Road | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were lucky to get one of the last rooms as Jervis Bay and the surrounding areas get booked out. On arrival we had a lovely greeting at reception and were shown a map of the local area and where we can eat and get coffee, great touch. The room was just what we needed, cosy, TV and right on the waterfront for our one night stay.

I noticed the bed had a heated blanket, great for winter visits! Room was clean and the little kitchenette stocked with what we needed for breakfast and tea.

You can hire boats near the motel and the waterfront is lovely for a walk. There is a pub round the corner and another about a 20 min walk, apparently also a good bowling club with a free shuttle bus.

Overall great quick stay, friendly welcoming staff and a big sense of calm for the night.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Orbituk,
Thank you for your excellent review of our motel and the surrounds. Greenwell Point is a quiet - as you say "calm" - little village but it still offers some good options for meals - the hotel, the club, a restaurant and two takeaway outlets. There is also a well stocked supermarket from which you can get most of your supplies, a butcher, bakery and pharmacy. Not bad for a little fishing village!
We hope you will return one day and stay with us longer.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    27
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
55
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had two days to relax during a visit to our daughter in Sydney and The Anchor Bay let us recharge our batteries ready to go back to grandparent duties .Garry and Jenni were really welcoming and gave us lots of useful info re where to go and what to do.
Room was great and much of interest especially on the fishing side of things can recommend the Pelican restaurant for evening meal all in all a great stay Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Eric,
Thank you for your fabulous review. You describe Greenwell Point perfectly. It is quiet, relaxing and pictureseque; a place where you can do as much or as little as you like, the ideal place to "recharge the batteries". We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us and returned to grandparent duties refreshed!
Our very best wishes,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a lovely spot for a relaxing holiday and so affordable!. My wife, 12 yr old and I stayed in a 'garden room' for 4 days and we really didn't want to leave. The motel is the best location, the room was immaculately clean and very cosy, with everything provided and nothing was too much trouble for Jenni and Garry. Close to some great beaches and Greenwell Point as a small town is magnificent and so clean! Clearly the locals have a pride in their community and environment. The grassed banks along the foreshore and the public areas are immaculate. This is a truly a memorable place to stay and base yourself for exploration around the area, or simply spend all your time here (very easy to do!), with friendly locals and everything you need here from a choice of seafood restaurants and great fish and chips, local hotel, well stocked IGA and a fantastic bowling club with beautiful meals including a yummy Chinese Restuarant inside. Also a great main wharf for fishing off (lots of blackfish being caught in the morning). We also hired a tinny for 3 hours at the local boat hire, which was a great way to explore the calm waters and do some extra fishing. We'll definitely be back!!.Thanks Jenni and Garry for a great stay and also the advice re Grand Pacific Drive back to Sydney - fantastic! Andrew, Andrea and Samuel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Andrew, Andrea and Samuel,
WOW! What a fantastic review. We are not sure there is anything more we can add to your extensive description of the motel, Greenwell Point and the surrounding area. We were just sorry we were not able to offer you a larger motel room (Andrea was a last minute inclusion in the holiday trip) but we very much appreciated your positive and very cheerful attitude. We do go out of our way to ensure guests have the best experience possible and were delighted you made the most of everything Greenwell Point and the Shoalhaven had to offer. With such a wonderful attitude, you were always going to have a fabulous holiday!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Greenwell Point sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Cottage was beautiful. Stayed there with my fiance and our best friends for New Years. Beautiful spot. The cottage was very clean, the owners were awesome and Greenwell Point was a great spot for fishing, bike riding, seafood and close to many amazing beaches!

Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Alison,
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Anchor Bay Cottage. We agree it is a very special little house and we were truly delighted to share it with such lovely people. You and your friends obviously enjoyed the holiday immensely and made the most of all that the beautiful Shoalhaven region has to offer. We would be very happy to welcome you all back again some time.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely little place for pit stop on tour from Sydney to Melbourne. Clean good amenities and friendly service. Lovely place to wander round looking at boats and pelicans. Restaurant choice limited - avoid bowling club.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Karen,
Thank you for your marvelous review. We are delighted you appreciated our beautiful location - the foreshore, boats and pelicans - and the motel's amenities and service. Greenwell Point is a wonderful place to stop en route to Melbourne or Sydney. The village is just 2.5-3 hours south of Sydney so a great place from which to launch the trek south or for that final relaxing stop before entering the big city. We are also very happy to give traveling guests loads of information to help them on their way north or south. We hope you will call in again some time.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were in Room 10 which is over the road from reception and has a balcony. It is on the first floor and there are a few external steps.
The room was on the small side but it has been fully refurbished which easily makes up for the size..The room was serviced every day. and it was very comfortable

Room Tip: Room 10 is ideal because it has a good view of a picturesque fishing harbour, ideal for breakfast on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Dennis,
Thank you for your marvelous review. We are delighted your enjoyed your time at our little motel. You mentioned you were in Room 10, an upstairs Waterfront Suite with a balcony and wonderful water views. It is indeed a lovely room. All three upstairs Waterfront Suites have excellent water views, however not all have private balconies; one has a shared balcony. The ground floor Waterfront Suites have limited water views and one of these also has a shared outdoor area. The rooms are about 50 metres from the water's edge with a park between the motel and the foreshore.
We do hope you will visit us again one day.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Second visit and remain very impressed with the Anchor Bay Motel.
Motel is beautifully located just across the road from waterway and generally away from any road noise etc, although the neighbouring restaurant generates a degree of constant machinery noise whilst open.
Rooms are quite typical of the motel age in a country location and are well maintained, clean, tidy and all amenities work as intended.
The big plus for the Anchor Bay Motel is its people who demonstrate an eagerness to please and really do give you the impression that your patronage matters.

Room Tip: Close the windows facing the neighbouring restaurant and use the aircon instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Aussietiourist,
A second review. How fantastic! Thank you so much. You give a good summation of the motel and we are very happy you remain impressed with the accommodation and the service. We do go the extra mile with guests because we really want people to enjoy their stay with us and experience all that the Shoalhaven region has to offer.
We very much look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Bay Motel

Address: 113 Greenwell Point Road | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Bay Motel is an award-winning 12-room motel overlooking the water east of Nowra on the NSW South Coast in Australia. It provides quality and affordable accommodation in the pretty fishing village of Greenwell Point, 10 minutes east of the regional centre of Nowra.On October 12, 2012, this delightful motel and its owners Garry and Jeni won the Service Excellence Award in the 2012 Shoalhaven Business Excellence Awards, a testament to their commitment to their lovely guests and the gorgeous region in which they live.Rooms range from Standard to Deluxe to Waterfront Suites. All linen is provided and all rooms have ensuites and kitchenettes.It's quiet, it's relaxed, it's beautiful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchor Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.