We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Bay Motel to your Saves list
Anchor Bay Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   113 Greenwell Point Road | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    41
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got a great mid-week deal from this motel's website and we stayed for 4 nights. Upon arrival the friendly owner went through the local map with us and gave us some advice about the best places to eat and visit during our stay - great personal touch! The room was spotless and very comfortable. Motel is in a perfect spot on the water, and was very peaceful. We were thrilled with this place and were very sad to leave. We'd come back to the Anchor Bay Motel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear LittleRed_13,
What a marvellous review. Thank you very, very much. You mentioned our mid-week deals. These are indeed great value for money and are available through our website (anchorbaymotel.com.au) for multiple night stays. They include a Breakaway Special from $75 a night, a Super Deluxe Special from $95 a night and a Waterfront Escape (which includes a daily continental breakfast!) from $110 a night. Our prices will go up a bit in Spring so cash in now for a great deal. We loved your comment at the end: "We'd come back to the Anchor Bay Motel again in a heartbeat." That is such a lovely turn of phrase, and we hope you will visit us again some time in the near future.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just wanted to say what a great few days we had at Greenwell Point and The Anchor Bay Hotel. Great location, nothing too much trouble for the owners who also knew the area very well and could help you with interesting places to visit.
Good beaches nearby, You can hire a 'tinnie' and get out on the water and get closer to the fantastic bird life....go inland and see some fantastic views....and then come back in the evening and enjoy a few beers or a bottle of wine on your verandah outside your room.
Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Dragonsfan,
Thank you for your marvellous review. You summed up the Anchor Bay Motel, Greenwell Point and the Shoalhaven perfectly. It is the sort of place where you can easily get up close and personal with nature and the wildlife. It is all at our doorstep, sometimes literally. Last week we had a kookaburra who visited the motel every day (encouraged by little morsels of mince!) and after a while we were actually able to touch him. Amazing. We loved your photos. You must have been up early to catch the sunrise across the water. If there is a next time, we do hope you will be able to stay with us longer.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Nicely tucked away from the rat-race in town. Location was great. I stayed in a room on the first-floor and had a nice view of the water. Stayed here for a week when I was working in Shoalhaven Hospital. There was free wifi but they were having some technical difficulties at that time so it wasn't working properly as the connection kept dropping out.

As a coffee fanatic I loved the plunger coffee they provided.

A great place to kick back and relax for holiday-goers. For me, it was nice to wind-down after a hard slog at work. You can go for a quick run along the bay too or take a dip in the pool. The fish-n-chip shop nearby did not disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Jee_Yg,
Thank you for your kind words about our motel. You stayed with us in January, our peak season, and yet Greenwell Point was still quiet and tranquil. It is a wonderful place to "kick back and relax" as you say.
You mentioned the free wifi and difficulties in staying connected. The connection is perfect in the Standard and Deluxe rooms but has proved a challenge in the Waterfront rooms where you stayed. We have just installed new equipment (May 4, 2013) and are hoping this solves the problem.
We hope you will stay with us again next time you are working at the hospital.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We travelled the Pacific Highway from Sydney to Melbourne and onto the Great Ocean Road in Feb/Mar-13. Our first overnight was the Anchor Bay Motel and it turned out to be such a treat. Comfortable, clean, peaceful and a wonderful view.
Greenwell Point is a quiet picture book coastal village and a late afternoon walk around the bay with sea birds in abundance is sheer delight.
Now add to that the Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant next door and experience the best oysters we have ever tasted. Praise indeed!
Many a guide suggested we should stopover at Jervis Bay. Forget it; we visited next day. Greenwell Point is a delightful experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a view Check which night(s) the Pelican Rocks Restaurant closes bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Nomadtravellers,
Thank you for your fabulous review. You sum up Greenwell Point very well - a picture book coastal village indeed. The walk along the foreshore is very special and the bird life amazing. Look across the bay and sometimes you see dolphins and seals; look into the waters and you will see masses of fish and stingrays. It is a delight. You enjoyed the meal at Pelican Rocks Restaurant next door. It is an excellent restaurant. Through summer it is generally open Wednesday to Saturday evenings, in winter it is usually open just Friday and Saturday evenings. It is good advice to check if the restaurant is open and we can do that for guests.
Thank you again for your lovely review. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Right from our arrival at the reception, we were given a warm welcome by the lady. She was really friendly and gave us several suggestions on the places to visit around the area. With the positive reviews on tripadvisor, our expectations were certainly high. And we were certainly not disappointed with the room.

The room was well-kept and clean. The beds were comfortable and had nice, homely looking sheets. It was well equipped with a microwave oven and toaster. More importantly, for the well-connected travellers, the room comes with free (and fast) wifi! Overall, the room was cosy and very comfortable. Anchor Bay motel is definitely of great value. If you’re around the area, you’ll not go wrong staying here for the night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Justin S,
Thank you for your "Grand" review. We are so happy we lived up to expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. You mention the FREE wifi. We have invested considerable funds in the wifi system and believe we have finally got it right. And it is FREE to all our guests. We appreciate that our guests, particularly those from overseas, want to stay connected while they are travelling - talking on skype, checking emails and searching for that next lovely spot in which to stay. The wifi is generally very fast and effective and it is now working in all our rooms.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was just what we expected from recommendation - owners are very friendly and helpful, rooms and terrace simple and nice, barbeque place just as perfect. Juts one important thing - people here go to slep really early, at 9 pm, so you have to keep quiet :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear AmorFati,
Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy the motel lived up to expectations. You make an important point: The restaurants take last orders about 8pm and most are closed by 9pm. This is important for international travellers who are used to dining later in the evening. Our guests do tend to retire early as you remarked. You made excellent use of the barbecue area which is away from the motel rooms, so were able to party there for a while without disturbing anyone.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Bay Motel

Address: 113 Greenwell Point Road | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Bay Motel is an award-winning 12-room motel overlooking the water east of Nowra on the NSW South Coast in Australia. It provides quality and affordable accommodation in the pretty fishing village of Greenwell Point, 10 minutes east of the regional centre of Nowra.On October 12, 2012, this delightful motel and its owners Garry and Jeni won the Service Excellence Award in the 2012 Shoalhaven Business Excellence Awards, a testament to their commitment to their lovely guests and the gorgeous region in which they live.Rooms range from Standard to Deluxe to Waterfront Suites. All linen is provided and all rooms have ensuites and kitchenettes.It's quiet, it's relaxed, it's beautiful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchor Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.